We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bembridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fishermans Walk, Bembridge PO35 5TB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Perfect Short Break away
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bembridge
Chessington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Welcome Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We tried two rooms as they were fully booked and had to switch on the monday to get a full week.
both were in the North wing, The weekend was three nights signature ground flour with patio, very nice no complaints. The weekdays a first floor sea view another signature but a little bit tired.Nice setting and tidy grounds with sun beds overlooking the solent. clean and tidy throughout, Staff very pleasent and helpfull. We had a nice week and the Sun shone abonus.

Room Tip: Try the south wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    160
    44
    18
    8
See reviews for
56
259
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was invited by a friend to make up numbers on a trip organised by a group. We stayed at this hotel which is an adult only Warner hotel. It is beautifully situated on the coast at Bembridge with flat/level walking across well kept lawns where one can sit quietly looking out to sea. The steps down to the beach are not too steep and not too many. The beach provides enough flat sand area to stroll in either direction. The hotel is about a 15-20 minutes walk from Bembridge village where there are a few specialist shops, a very nice deli, a really good shoe shop for those of us who can no longer wear those glamorous, designer high heeled shoes and an interesting Hospice charity shop. The Windmill pub does a mean crab sandwich as does the Crab and Lobster Pot. There is a most enjoyable "Coastal Walk" around Bembridge where one can enjoy the delightful range of properties in this lovely village. The hotel is very welcoming and all staff were friendly. The room was comfortable, clean, large, and overlooked the sea. No complaints with the room quality, or cleanliness. The choice of food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff worked very hard indeed to meet everyone's needs and demands. There was a variety of activities organised in the hotel by the entertainment team: a talk on the sinking of the Titanic by the local Officer who worked at the Lifeboat Station. A visit to see the new lifeboat at Bembridge opened in 2010 by Princess Anne was also very interesting. Evening entertainment was taken care of by a young, very energetic and multiskilled team led by Tom. What impressed me about this hotel was the attitude and kindness of staff towards us "seniors" and all our range of frailties. Everyone was made to feel welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble. The food bar offered quality food and real value for money if you had any room to partake of lunch on top of the multi course breakfast and dinner! I didn't use the swimming pool or games room, but those who did were pleased with the facilities. The quiet room was very pleasant, although some guests just don't seem to understand what "quiet" means whilst they continue with their mobile phone conversations!!! I give this hotel "Excellent" and would certainly like to return again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are lovely in the morning. One can watch the son rising over the horizon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here as part of a group booking, arriving and departing by coach. The hotel is situated in a very quiet spot on the coast. As such, it is a reasonable choice for visitors wishing to spend a restful time.It is however a good 15 minutes on foot from the nearest bus stop, which is not good news for anyone with a mobility problem, which a number of guests clearly did have. The one service stopping here is, at the time of writing, the Vectis Number 8 bus, which connects Ryde and Newport. In each direction there is only one bus per hour. Therefore, if you wish to visit and explore other parts of the Isle of Wight, this hotel would not be a good choice unless you bring your car or can afford to go around by cab. Basically, if you wish to explore and get out and about, you will have to rely on any coach trips on offer, and this will be at the expense of independence. The message here is that the hotel really caters for those senior citizens who have little or no desire to stir outside the immediate area.

We occupied a standard room. This was quiet and comfortable but there were three basic flaws. Firstly, it was not possible to lock the door once we were in for the night, which meant that anyone in possession of a key could have entered during the night. Secondly, there was no room safe, so we could only take our valuables with us whenever we left the hotel. Thirdly, although hand and bath towels were provided, there were no flannels. So be sure to bring your own. This is an astonishing omission for a modern hotel. Mind you, it might have been a different story in the more highly specified rooms. I don't know.

The food was generally quite good, but with exceptions. The mushrooms at breakfast should be given a wide berth. They are clearly tinned or frozen. The rest of what is on offer is fine. At the evening meal, the first thing the waiter offers is rolls or bread, with a supposed choice of white or brown, but the supplies of brown are clearly inadequate, as it was barely available most of the time.

In short, this is a hotel for visitors who have little inclination towards independent exploration and activities. There are various entertainments and activities laid on, so that you need hardly set foot outside the building and grounds, if that is your preference.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Phoned Bembridge on the off chance that they could accommodate us for meals only and was very impressed by the manner of the staff and the restaurant manager, they went out of their way to find tables for us on four consecutive evenings. We would like to thank Warners for their kind hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were lucky to get a ground floor room with views over the sea.Room was clean and modern. The bathroom was a bit tired. We had a patio door and chairs to sit on outside. The food was excellent, the best I have ever had at a Warners. Some dishes were brought to the table and some were on the carvery. The waiting staff were very good, nothing was too much trouble. The entertainment was mainly good. The comedian was not all that. Most of the jokes I had heard before years ago.Joey and the jivers were very good. Would pay to see them elsewhere. Hotel is compact no long walks from the Reception to the dining room and entertainment. Not sure how far other rooms were as we were at the begining of the corridor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My first time at Bembridge although have been to other Warners'.
Location of this hotel is lovely. Two minutes and you're on the beach. Great views across the Solent to watch the boats/ships go past. We were lucky enought to have great weather.
Had just the basic room but was good. Perfectly clean with everything you'd expect.
Food was fine, something for everyone. Service, as usual for Warners (in my experience), was superb. Polite and helpful always.
Reggae band on the saturday night were brill!
All in all a great weekend and good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was not our first holiday at Bembridge (Warners) Hotel, and we went for a special reason, my wife's Birthday. As usual at a Warners resort the accomodation was great, in fact we chose the room ourselves, always a good thing with Warners who make this possible. The remainder was well....not so good as I would have expected with Warners. Having been to many of thier resorts and hotels I always have said you can rely on A. the accomodation, B the food, C. the variety of entertainment and D. the excellent staff. Well this time, the food was only just resonable, the entertainment was poor certainly not up to a Warner standard as far as we were concerned. A great pity was the untrained waiting staff, and this has nothing to do with their being foreign, as we have always had this type of staff and they have be above and beyond perfect. not this time. Here is the thing we are going again next year, WHY because we know that Warners will always make sure that things change for the better. We shall always go to Warners somewhere.
So take this as a one off problem that I hope Warners will do something about.

Room Tip: Always select your room with Warners they are great at this. If you cannot drive I suggest a good co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel

Address: Fishermans Walk, Bembridge PO35 5TB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Bembridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bembridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With spectacular views over The Solent, this secluded, shoreline Character Hotel is just the place to take in the sea air. As well as the sea views, enjoy the beautiful Spanish gardens and the indoor bowls complex. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel Isle Of Wight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel to your Saves list