We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embsay & Bolton Abbey Steam Railway

Embsay & Bolton Abbey Steam Railway
Bolton Abbey, Bolton Abbey BD23 6AF, England
+44 1756 710614
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Travel the lovely English countryside on this scenic train pulled by a steam locomotive, leaving from Bolton Abbey Station to the historic Embsay Station, built in 1888. Trains run every Sunday all year Tuesdays Saturdays & Sundays from April to end October and Daily late July to the end of August
stockton on tees
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Group Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I took a party of 32 people including a wheel chair on the railway. From beginning to end the staff could not have been more helpful. The lady in the booking office went and took a picture of the guards van for me as I was worried they could not see out. When we got there we found our carriage had an adjoining door into the van so they were still part of our group. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and it was all done with a smile. We got on at Bolton Abbey and at Embsay they took the wheelchair of so the gentleman could have a look round there. It was a beautiful day, excellent journey and very good staff.
On our return we had sandwiches and a delicious piece of cake with replenished tea or coffee served once again by pleasant attentive staff. Well done.
2 of our members missed the train ,because of traffic at Bolton Abbey, so drove to Embsay and caught it there, they were given tickets to return to get their car from Embsay.
Well done every one, keep it up you are appreciated.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    36
    11
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baldock
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Get transported to a bygone era”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The restoration team are to be congratulated ! It is like going back in time a very enjoyable experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zouch
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great trains and stations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Grab a voucher from pubs etc and its bogof with one full paying passenger then free platform ticket for a year included great trains two stations embsay ans Bolton if you walk over the main road there's a nice walk to Bolton abbey talks round an hour but 20 mins to the Devonshire arms

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A lovely afternoon out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My grand-children thoroughly enjoyed their first experience of travelling in a 1st class carriage on a steam railway, from Bolton Abbey station to Embsay station and back. They finished off their trip by standing on the footplate of the engine and chatted with the driver. The great, sunny weather made the trip even better, and we enjoyed a drink and home-made cake in the garden next to Bolton Abbey station. A great experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“thomas the tank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

used to take the kids, ride the steam train, its like going back in time.
excellent day out for all the family

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Embsay & Bolton Abbey Steam Railway also viewed

Bolton Abbey, North Yorkshire
Skipton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Embsay & Bolton Abbey Steam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embsay & Bolton Abbey Steam Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.