We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's package” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Begelly Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Begelly Arms Hotel to your Saves list
The Begelly Arms Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   New Road | Kilgetty, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Begelly B&B and Inns
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Valentine's package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Well done to all the staff and owners at the begelly arms. We had a fantastic stay. Fabulous food and service. The room was warm and very clean. Lovely comfy bed too. We had a lovely welcome and all the staff were lovely. Only down side we would comment on was that breakfast was under staffed!! Poor Angela was run ragged trying to serve us. Definitely could have done with at least two staff. Beautiful breakfast though. Would definitely recommend .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    33
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
23
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Slightly disappointed, the main hotel was very nice, but the chalet accommodation wasn't what appeared in the photographs, very basic, 2 faulty smoke detectors which was reported immediately, 24 hours later still not replaced.
The bathroom was functional, the shower cubicle left a lot to be desired, very small, cannot fault the bed that was very comfortable.

The assistant manager was lovely and very helpful, we had an evening meal there, I ordered scampi, mushy peas and chips, the peas came out cold, when I pointed it out, it came back nuked, so it was tasteless, my other family members enjoyed their meals.

For breakfast in the morning, there was no bacon, available, the hot drinks, a basic tea & coffee took ages to arrive, most hotels would have these for customers to serve themselves.

So felt slightly disappointed with the overall experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Hearty portions of meat - well cooked (beef nicely medium rare, pork well seasoned, turkey -nice and juicy) - veg selection fine...nice red cabbage. £8.95 per person. Not much staff - so had to leave table to go to bar to get drink orders. Big barn of a place..nice and light for summer, but rather cool for winter dining.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

A great welcome from friendly, helpful staff plus a good selection of beers and wines. An interesting menu with plenty to suit all ages. We enjoyed the Sunday buffet carvery which carried on till mid afternoon. The bedrooms have been refurbished and are warm and quiet. Good breakfast! Recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Most of the elements that are required for a nice stay at a local hotel are in place at the Begelly Arms and we're sure the new owners will soon have the minor issues sorted.

We stayed in the main building and the room was clean, comfortable and all the basic amenities needed such as tv, kettle, tea and coffee are in place.

We would class the food as typical pub food and found it adequate. Breakfast was fine but was disappointed to find the "pigs-in-blankets" served at the previous day's carvery, reheated and served as sausages on the following day's cooked breakfast.

The ale was well kept but it's the bar area where staff are lacking in attention and attitude. Despite staff sitting around (we stayed during a quiet period), tables weren't cleared of empty glasses and we found ourselves stacking glasses on top of each other to make room. That said, one or two of the bar staff where very helpful and courteous.

Would we stay again? Yes, probably. There are bound to be teething problem when new owners take possession of a pub/hotel and make changes. We're certain that they're on the right track and overall, we had a pleasant couple of days.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I booked 9 rooms as we had some business in the local.
Staff were excellent and looked after us well
Food: Starters were a bit retro-(prwn c/tail garlic m/rooms etc ) main course: most of us had steaks that were excellent
Breakfast was also v good
Rooms are basic but did the job.
Its not the Ritz but its excellent value

Room Tip: Outside Chalets are a bit tired - we booked 9 of us 7 stayed in the hotel (all satisfied) 2 outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here in August. Really lovely staff. Buffet breakfast just brilliant. Plenty of choice and can have as much as you like. Restaurant where you eat is really pleasant and clean. Our room was great too. There was a function going on on the Saturday night with live music which did not bother us but could keep some people awake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Begelly Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Begelly Arms Hotel

Address: New Road | Kilgetty, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Begelly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Begelly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Begelly Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Restaurant and Inn inn with rooms, situated in the heart of rural Wales close to the borders of Carmarthenshire and Pembrokeshire we offer home cooked food, and rooms with en suite shower rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Begelly Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Begelly Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.