We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not To Sure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Oak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Oak to your Saves list
The Oak
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Coventry Road, Baginton CV8 3AU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Baginton B&B and Inns
Northallerton
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not To Sure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I used to love going to this place, but since they have had a refurbish we are not sure if we will be using this place as much as we used to. The place does not give us that warm and homely feel no more like it used to, the portion sizes to the meals are a bit small but still good value for money at 2 for £12.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    12
    10
    5
See reviews for
14
30
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Wonderful meals, extensive menu with great choices,2 for 12 quid is amazing value, currently refurbishing their decor but still managing to maintain brilliant level of service and food standard.
Lovely atmosphere, always feel welcome whether going with my parents or with a big group of friends.
10/10!
Plus their dog is adorable!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This should be a great place but it has been failed by its owners. The only saving grace really are the bedrooms, which though not brilliant, are clean and nicely decorated.
The main building is in need of a lot of TLS both inside and out. Inside the reception is the bar and if, like us you arrive after opening time, it is a bit awkward getting seen to.
Breakfast is something not to be missed, though you could, despite small numbers we waited a long time for our hot food, it was nice when it came though. But the time taken was wasted and we only had bacon and egg plus toast between the two of us.
Would I stay here again possibly but only after exhausting other options first.
Such a shame, it has so much potential.

Room Tip: Try elsewhere first to avoid dissappointment, also see my restaurant review
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

May be reasonably priced but so much going wrong with this place. Our room was big enough with 3 single beds in it ( one for our dog ??? ) but one bed was broken ( by other dog ??? ) and all the valances were dirty and stained. The hair dryer plug had been cut of and the bathroom vanity light did not work. On our 1st night we were woken at 2.30 am by the fire alarm and had to go outside. This happened another 2 times the next evening and then the next morning. Reason ? The bathroom door needs to be shut when having a shower ( not even a proper shower but a hand held one ) We had a meal on the Saturday night and waited for an hour on it to come. On a plus it was pretty good but we were past caring. A drink on the house would have been welcomed to make up for the wait. We woud not risk staying here again even if they are very dog friendly.

Room Tip: Do not ask for room number 11 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have visited this place a couple of times now for food. Always good value for money, staff friendly, helpful. The portion sizes for food is big so no need to have a starter. Will be visiting this place again soon. High chairs available, kids play area, and outside seating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We arrived to a very busy, very noisy pub. At no time were we greeted by the landlord/landlady. Although the room appeared clean it had a musty smell, which I couldn't get out of my nose. If we hadn't have had a drink on arrival I would not have stayed in this establishment. Food was below my expectation, sticky tables and dirty floor added to my reluctance to stay. Wouldn't recommend or return. Came home to shower, enough said.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Oak is a very large pub with a separate building for rooms. It's easy to find but is a bit out of the way with not much to do or see around it. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. One downside was the shower is just handheld and you cannot stand up straight in the bath to shower properly. However the toiletries are all provided, including body lotion, from wall dispensers. The hairdryer didn't work either, it had no plug, just bare wires. The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and large portions which come piping hot to the table. The pub lets everything down though, it's old and shabby, doesn't feel particularly clean and has a major fly problem. We were constantly batting them away from our food and our faces. The waitress found it funny that we were swatting flies rather than doing something about them which concerned me a little! We didn't eat any other meals in the pub because of this so I can't say what they were like. I wouldn't stay here again but if you want a budget stay it's not a bad place and the breakfast does redeem it somewhat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oak

Address: Coventry Road, Baginton CV8 3AU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Baginton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Baginton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Oak in Baginton, a village pub situated on the outskirts of Coventry. Ideally located and very close to Coventry Airport. 10 minute drive to the town centre with ample places to eat and drink. 5 minute drive to the Air Museum. Pleasant walks. All our rooms are well equipped and en-suite, some rooms have disabled access. We offer a nice relaxed environment with log fires, table service, traditional ales and good quality home cooked food. Our facilities include large bar area with comfy leather sofas and wing backed chairs for drinkers. Good sized garden and quiet location. Free parking for guests and free wifi access in the bar area. Please Note: We are a No-Smoking property. Dogs allowed, may incur additional charge. Children welcome. Check-In time: 12:00 and Check-Out time: 11:00. Pets are charged a supplement of £5 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oak Baginton, Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.