We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amorita Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amorita Resort to your Saves list
Amorita Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Alona Beach | Barangay Tawala, 6340, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Panglao Island
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

The resort is located at panglao island where there is a beautiful and wide white sand beach. The resort is perfect. Clean and beautiful modern tropical design. The rooms are very nice and clean...the ocean villa is soooo beautiful it has its own private pool...it's a must room to have... The restaurant place is beautiful it has a pool and ocean view... So breath taking... My kids had fun playing schoozball and ping pong. One thing is above all this is the service! If I rate 1 to 10 I give 20! The boholanos are very known for their hospitality to foreigners ... Zero crime rate in the area...I must go to all...hope to be back again here... Chao!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    237
    52
    21
    6
See reviews for
281
353
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our first trip to Amorita was in November 2012. We stayed for 2 nights/3 days. We were amazed by the luxurious amenities, warm, friendly, yet professional staff, a nice playground, and daily resort-sponsored activities for kids. We stayed at a Garden Villa which had its own plunge pool and deck. The indoor living space consisted of a king size bed with side tables and lamps, a day bed, a huge desk and flat screen TV, cabinet, and a fridge/minibar. It was roomy enough for us (2 adults and a child) to play balloon tossing/catching! The bathroom was outdoor and beautifully appointed!

Our daughter (4 years old), enjoyed the play area, infinity pool, and cookie-decorating activities. We loved the place as well! Since we enjoyed it so much, we decided to go back this March and spend 4 nights/5 days. This time, we stayed at an Ocean Villa. It had the same amenities as the Garden Villa, but in addition, had a magnificent view of the sea as well as a huge garden.

During this time, the staff knew us by name. We felt so welcome and that they truly cared for our well-being. This proved true when our daughter went down with a fever. They volunteered to secure her medications (mind you, this is not an easy feat!) and provided her with "Get Well Soon" balloons, a fruit platter and a personal note.

We requested the chef to prepare a special feast on our last night and he surely surprised us. It was both beautiful and delicious!

We requested the staff to arrange and recommend trips for us and they were just fantastic! For our first trip in November, we went on the Loboc river cruise, tarsier sanctuary, zip lining, and fish feeding. On our second trip, we skipped the tarsiers but went to Baclayon church, dolphin watching and snorkelling. We love the Amorita experience that we are already planning our next trip back.

Room Tip: Ocean Villa No. 814 is a a short walk to the restaurant and pool, yet is far enough to enjoy the qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Truly a world-class, luxury resort. Amorita Resort has lush grounds, an infinity pool, a scuba pool, white sand beaches, the works. The staff was very attentive. The villas are to die for. Very private, with beautiful furnishings, comfortable bed, clean and spotless. Ours has its own plunge pool and a huge private outdoor shower. They even spelled WELCOME on their bed in flower petals!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

great property, great staff! the private villas with the plunge pools are great! highly recommend it. the beach, was not that great but the resort made up for it. would visit again if we are back in the country.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have been to Amorita twice since it last opened and plan to make another trip this year.

Amorita by far, is one of the best family friendly resorts we've been to in the country and probably the best one in Bohol.

We stayed in Amorita's Beautiful Villas that has its own private plunge pool - a plus for a family like ours! Both our children went crazy over the little pocket garden and plunge pool in the villa.

Worthy of mention was the thoughtfulness that came when we checked in the villa to find a bottle sterilizer, a gallon of sterilized water and cot upon our arrival. It is a gesture that we remember till this day because we didn't make any specifications when we made our reservation.

The resort has everything to keep the little ones busy - a main pool by the dining area, play equipment in their main garden and scheduled afternoon activities like cupcake decorating, etc.

Dining at the resort is also an enjoyable one as their main dining and bar area provides a spectacular view of the Alona beach. After dining at the different restaurants along the beach strip, I must say that Amorita serves the best food in the area!

Everything else aside, there is a genuine sense of warmth and service when staying at Amorita resort and this is what definitely makes it a great resort.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Amorita is a ver nice resort on Alona beach. We were impressed by the beautiful Garden Villa, unfortunally the jacuzzi was a bit to cold and should have been heated. But the room itself was very modern and large, the bathroom as well. Probably the best room we had on our entire travel through the Philippines. The breakfast buffet was very good as well, service was excellent.

The main points for improvement are the lack of parasols, at the time we were there they only had 4 of them, and only 8 sunbeds, which is too less for +/- 68 guests.
You should also know this resort has no real private beach: they have put 3 sunbeds without parasols between publicity boards of a diving company in a corner of the beach. A bit a shame for such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The best accommodation on Alona beach. Lovely rooms (garden villas are worth the extra cost). Complete amenities, family friendly, very good customer service. Food in the Saffron restaurant is fresh and very good (loved their sinigang). Pricey but a must-try. It hurts in the pocket though if you eat only in there during your entire stay. I strongly recommend a filipino restaurant along the beach, which is just a few meters away from Amorita (forget the name but you'll easily find it) - much more affordable, very delicious and big servings.
As always, excursion trips offered by the hotels are a rip off. If you want to do an island hopping/ dolphine watching trip, just look for any boatman along the beach or ask the masseuses if they have referrals. That's what i did and paid only 2000php for a party of 10 (this includes dolphine watching, snorkling(+150php/pax - gear rentals), and trip to the virgin island). Going back to Amorita...it's a highly recommended resort to stay in! In terms of facilities, amenities, location and customer service. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amorita Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amorita Resort

Address: Alona Beach | Barangay Tawala, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amorita Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded atop a beautiful limestone cliff on the southern edge of Bohol's Panglao Island, Amorita is a tranquil seaside retreat that marries world-class service with signature Filipino hospitality. Managed by boutique hotel group One-Of Collection, the 97-room luxury resort overlooks the azure-colored Bohol Sea and elegantly punctuates the vibrant tropical landscape along Alona Beach. A TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice and Certificate of Excellence recipient, Amorita is only a 40-minute drive from Bohol's Tagbilaran Airport, and Bohol is only an 80-minute flight from Metro Manila. Amorita ("little darling") features 97 luxury suites (including 14 villas), organic modern architecture, an outdoor infinity pool, an in-house dive center, stunning cliff-side views of the Bohol Sea, and innovative dining options at the all-new Toma! Wine Bar and the acclaimed Saffron Restaurant, the only restaurant in Bohol offering authentic Boholano heritage dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Amorita Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amorita Hotel Panglao Island
Amorita Hotel Bohol
Amorita Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amorita Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.