We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dumaluan Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Dumaluan Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dumaluan Beach Resort
Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 41 hotels in Panglao Island
Makati
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This is the best place if you're travelling on a budget. Since we were a big group with 2 toddlers in tow, we decided to book despite negative reviews. I only had 2 factors in mind, an airconditioned room and a beachfront hotel. I booked 3 rooms, 2 deluxe and 1 junior presidential. The two deluxe rooms were in front of swimming pool, it was a treat my nieces and nephew enjoyed. I was not fortunate to have the junior presidential, the aircon was not working! The room has a distinct smell of being old. So i decided to talk to the reservation officer. They were kind enough to transfer us to dumaluan suite with no additional cost! It was actually the best room in the resort! we were facing the beach and the airconditioning was freezing us to death! Super thank you guys! Clean bed and towels greeted us. We had sufficient supply of toiletries. Contrary to negative reviews, the staffs were all polite and always ready to assist us. The only negative side i found was they don't serve water in the restaurant! Its weird! But that didn't spoil our trip. My sis-in-law warned us since they arrived a day earlier so we bought gallons of water before we checked in. The resort is a very good place to stay especially for family with kids.The kids enjoyed the pool and beach! The food was fine. Maybe of the kids also that's why they allowed us to bring in our own bottled water in the resto (max of 2 btls). We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 4-floor bldg are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    53
    51
    29
    45
See reviews for
72
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011 via mobile

My family and i stayed in 2 rooms side by side. Loved the location the beach is right there. Enjoyed the pool even it was small. Rooms are ok max should be 3 adults there was 4 of us in the room so not enough room to put 2 extra matress. I would come back because of the excellent beach and ambiance. No public transportation close by all service vehicles available so you are looking at 1000 pesos or more depends on where u want to go. The only problem I had is for their unfriendly staff they all seem to have attitude they are not friendly at all unlike people from Coron, Palawan. Im not sure if its just people from Bohol but met some of people that leaves there and I've met nice once. Staff needs training but i guesse i shouldnt have been surprise because i booked and payed for the resort 3 months in advance and I didnt here anything from them till i asked a friend from there to check the hotel for me. and then they responded back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed in DBR2 last weekend maganda yung room namin (executive double) malinis, maayos and safe siya. Neg - walang mat sa cr and intercon/phone sa room para if may need ka mabilis tumawag sa recep. Pros - comfortable yung bed, maayos at malinis yung CR, may free toiletries and towel. For the food - medyo pricey yung DB2 kung nagtitipid kayo, pero pwede naman kayo bumili sa tindahan sa may DBR1 or magpadaan sa tindahan bago pumunta ng resort para bumili ng mineral water,softdrinks and food. Grilled and sinigang na hipon, sisig and shake meron sa DB Grill.Super mura ang price compared sa DB2

Mabait yung driver na na-assign samin during the tour and meron pang instant photographer na kasama.At 2 lang kami pero hi-ace yung car na na-assign samin kaya comfortable kami. Siguro kaya din naging ok ang experience namin kasi hinde peak season nung nagpunta kami. :)

Overall ok sakin ang DBR2 and babalik kami dun for sure

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We got a single queensize bedroom, though we were requesting for a double bed but since we checked in during the high peak season we settled for it. We just ask for an extra bed. The room was quite cramped and lighting is very poor. It has a flat TV screen with cable, and a refrigerator. The veranda has 2 chairs and a coffee table. Our room is a few meters distance to the beach. Bathroom has bathroom but lacking of some amenities like regular supplies of soap, toothpaste, buds, etc.

The facilities includes a swimming pool both for adult and kids, WiFi at the restaurant and lobby only. They got water sports to enjoy like jetski, glass bottom, banana boat ride, etc. The beach is quite exclusively for resort's guests and day trippers. Food is expensive but not sumptuous. Breakfast food is buffet but it has very limited choices. You may opt to eat at the eateries beside the resort which is a stroll away at the beach. Prices are reasonable.

The sand is powdery white but needs regular clean up as sea grass litters along the beach when it washed to the shore. There's a close by resort Bohol Beach Club which is high end but you can stroll along its beach.

The resort like I said is exclusive and there's no practically a nightlife. During that time the resort's restaurants which is at the beach side provided a live band but they play old songs. There are many activities that you can visit while in Bohol. Their concierge is available to help you plan out your activity right from renting a van to suggesting places to visit.

Our stay is comfortable not that exciting except that my children enjoyed the beach and water fun activities. If you are looking for a better place to stay in Bohol try the hotel/resort located along Alona beach. That's where the action is.

Room rates I think is just reasonable.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms which is close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

Started off a disaster, pre-arranged confirmed airport transfer didnt show up, telephone calls to resort not answered, so took a car for 500 peso. At Resort rooms are dated we stayed in B6 and although clean were very run down...service was satisfactory only sometimes they struggled to understand Tagalog.
One of there waiters.. Joel was very good and friendly made our experience more pleasurable. The Country Tour as packaged was good and had a very enjoyable friendly driver named Roger... If you want Rogers number just message me...
So for price this resort is not too bad for value which is why it is always full...

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

For a hassle free stay in bohol, take the package they offer at Dumaluan, the van driver was very patient and accommodating, and the room where we stayed (family room) was spacious and all five of us were accommodated. It was walking distance from the beach. Food is okay but unlike in Alona Beach wherein you have many choices, you only have two. The hotel restaurant /grill and the grill that they have around 5 minutes walk from the hotel (it is operated also by the resort). In the grill, rates are cheaper than those in the resort but since more people eat there, you have to have lots of patience and be prepared to wait for 30 - 45 minutes for your food. Overall experience, it was fun and with more privacy than Alona beach located resorts. The kids enjoyed the island hopping especially the trip to virgin island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Average everything. My only gripe is they don't have telephones in the rooms thus when you need to request hotel service (room cleaning, extra towels and sheets) you have to walk the long way to the reception to request.

The food is okay especially the breakfast buffet (well perhaps because i'm not really choosy when it comes to food).

The people there are courteous and polite too. We didn't experience any nastiness from them. They are also helpful especially when we just got there. They carried our baggage to our very far Kamalig room.

Kamalig room where we stayed was okay but not as beautiful as the rooms in the hotels perhaps.

The beach is okay too. You have to endure the rough sands though but it's not something the hotel can control. There are lots of seaweeds on the shore and i think the hotel management should double the effort to clean them regularly. I saw the adjacent Bohol Beach Club and they do regularly remove seaweeds from the shore thus maintaining the pristine look of the beach. This is something Dumaluan Beach can't do as they perhaps don't have enough manpower to clean the beaches.

All in all even if the hotel is entirely average, this did not dampen our excellent time in Bohol. Remember, it's how you make most of your trip that matters. There will be little disappointments here and there but these things should not be the reason to ruin your perfect trip.

Room Tip: The Kamalig rooms are cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dumaluan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumaluan Beach Resort

Address: Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Dumaluan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumaluan Beach Hotel Bohol Island
Dumaluan Beach Bohol
Dumaluan Beach Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumaluan Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.