We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view of the beach. Staff are not so well trained” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alona Kew White Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alona Kew White Beach Resort to your Saves list
Alona Kew White Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Alona Kew, Tawala, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 41 Hotels in Panglao Island
Iloilo City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good view of the beach. Staff are not so well trained”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The place was so nice. Nice lobby. The beach has white sand but not as White as the sand in Boracay (can't help myself to compare since I'm living here in Boracay for more than 2 years now).

The food was okay. The staff were nice. Others were rude calling me "pssst" instead of "ma'am" or "miss". They should know guests of all ages are GUESTS, even a 1-years old kid or a 16 year-old teenager should not be treated as not important and they should be more polite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    30
    42
    38
    15
See reviews for
40
36
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Horrible! First mistake made my reservation on Agoda! Went for New Years. I have been going to the Philippines since 1997. I thought I was making reservations on the beach. However I got to the Alona Kew after 12 hours of travel. They tried to stick me in a room in the main building. It had NO WINDOWS! Yes you are not seeing things! A room with NO Windows on the beach! $150 for a jail cell? Really?
They changed my room because I told them if they didn't I was going to sleep in the lobby! The staff was great. The hotel is horrible! Breakfast is ok! If you get a bungalow on the beach it's probably ok.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tjome, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We just expected more of a 4 star hotel.breakfast very ordinary for westerners. Buffet for Christmas was exppensive but simple. Nice personnel - very friendly. Poor water pressure in shower. Recommendable as a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I booked this hotel online through a travel website and it was advertised at a big discount. I got
a superior room for four nights. Apparently the normal going price was over 200 U.S. per night but I got it for around half that. I had no big problems. The staff were friendly, I could park my rented motorbike safely, and breakfast was included in the price and it was good. The thing is, it is a resort on the beach. Maybe people think that is worth a lot in and of itself. For the price I paid, well, I guess I just expected more. There was no gym. I was directed to go to another gym nearby where I had to pay a guest fee of 600 pesos. (weekly I think, though I just used it once) There was no internet in the hotel. Security boxes were at reception and cost 100 pesos rental fee. There were no refrigerators in the rooms, though I was able to put leftover food in the Hotel kitchen to keep it cool. The rooms were clean and had a TV, but nothing really outstanding in the way of amenities. If being near the beach is important to you, then it might be worth a go. If you don't care about that, then better value for money might be found at other places.

Room Tip: Your window might have a fantastic view of.....the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Dont expect too much of the hotel and you'll do fine. Its a budget hotel, with adequate beds, a swimming pool, meals are OK. Bathroom could be better. We stayed at a beach cottage, with our veranda along the main access, so sometimes, when we're out of the hotel, people would freely sit on our veranda and none of the staff would advise them otherwise. Beachfront is the plus factor. White sand, narrower shoreline than Boracay, but still beautiful. More of nature's beauty in Bohol with its marine life, dive and snorkelling sites, islets & sandbars, forests, rivers and churches. People are warmer, dont take advantage of tourists. You can organize your own day tour, no trouble, just rent a van and a good driver. I'd still go back to Bohol and yes, maybe this hotel again if i'm on the same budget. Good location, near boat dock, restos & convenience stores, swimmable beachfront unlike some other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Booked two Superior Rooms via agoda.com. The rooms were located right beside the beach, about two minutes from the pool and the lobby. The rooms were small and felt disused. The linens have obviously gone through the washer more than they were ever meant to be. The rooms had two or three lightbulbs which makes the place seem smaller and darker than it is -- in sunlight, they're, at most, bearable especially for travellers that booked the room simply for a night's rest. Since the rooms were so close to the beach, the nightly fire dancer performances (complete with their own small troupe of drummers) can be heard up to late at night, with most of Panglao's water attractions like dolphin watching and snorkeling are done best early in the morning, this annoying noise makes it hard for one to sleep.
The free wi-fi's available only at the lobby and the small resto / cafe beside it, one step off the main building and there's no signal to be found.
The pool's a good 25meters by about 4-5meters with depths of 3feet, 5 feet and 8 feet at the end. I absolutely appreciate a resort that goes beyond the normal 5 feet depth in its pool since the depth makes children stay at one side of the pool while I can peacefully swim at the deeper side of the pool.
Location wise, it's right smack dab in the middle of Alona Beach with restaurants offering grilled seafood and meat at all along the beach. It's beachfront resto also offers decent food and special halo-halo (there's another resto maybe 5 meters from the hotel that offers halo-halo at a third of the price. main difference is that Alona Kew's resto serves up this frozen mixed treat in a coconut hull.) The breakfast buffet serves up decent filipino breakfast items, the flavor and selection is average at best. In terms of service, I have no complaints; the staff was friendly and accommodating though I think the vastness of the resort (three partitions, i believe, the main building where the lobby is, the small bungalows in between and the new-looking beachside building where we were) have them scattered and disheveled. For the price of about P5k a night, for a two bed room is ok since we booked a bit late for the peak Holy Week (the week right before easter) season, but all in all i consder the place average at best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had not planned to stay here when i arrived at Alona Beach but i was very pleased that i did. We chose a ground floor room in the main building which was very clean and certainly big enough for 2 with a huge bed. Staff were very friendly and helpful especially the guy who cleaned the room who was always happy to help. The room was very quiet with no noise from other guests and only a very short walk to the bars and beach entertainment.Breakfast (which was included) was at the restaurant by the beach and although i heard some westerners complaining about the choice i found it very good value and plently of choice with excellent service. The cottages looked very inviting but i always noticed a bad smell whenever i passed (other reviews seem to go into more detail!!) We only stayed for 5 nights but i would be happy to stay again in the future

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alona Kew White Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alona Kew White Beach Resort

Address: Alona Kew, Tawala, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alona Kew White Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alona Kew White Beach Resort in Bohol offers you affordable beachfront accommodations with excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Alona Kew White Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alona Kew White Beach Hotel Panglao Island
Alona Kew White Beach Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alona Kew White Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.