We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amarela Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amarela Resort to your Saves list
Amarela Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barangay Libaong, 6340, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Panglao Island
Cebu City, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Accommodating Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

A get together dinner with my friends we decided to have it in Amarela Resort the dining area is a bit crowded since there's a lot of foreign guests but we found a good long table which is just right for the five of us, the decors are unique and antique looking, the food are just ok but the service is great and specially the one who gave us an ocular in the rooms is very accommodating sorry I forgot his name also the rooms are really good and spacious specially the Amarela Suite with a very nice and tempting jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Amarela Suite spacious and with a grand nature view from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    119
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
120
159
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed for 3 days with husband and kids.. Very quiet resort. Food was great though limited offers. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Beach area okay but not advisable to kids with lots of sea urchin.. since it has a small marine sanctuary infront. Nice view. Rooms are small but still okay with WIFI.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

A beautiful, well managed resort for the perfect sun n sand holiday. The décor and artifacts collection is a labour of love by the owners, who reside on the property and have an eye for the smallest of details. The rooms are well appointed and tastefully maintained with all the amenities available on the premises itself - pool, diving and snorkelling, boat tours etc. The restaurant offers an array of food options and frequently organises events on the private beach front. The staff are attentive and always eager to help. Would highly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Being on a hillock, rooms facing the ocean give a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Amerela is a secluded hotel set in beautiful gardens less than 100m from is own semi private beach. Our room was lovely with a great balcony looking out over the gardens and ocean. The staff and owners have a created a place with a warm, relaxed atmosphere. If you are looking for somewhere to just unwind you can't get much better than this.

Hotel has tasty food options with enough variety for a stay of 4 or 5 days.

They have one of the biggest DVD library I have ever seen at a hotel.

The beach is pretty although not great for swimming. However the lovely pool in the gardens means this isn't a problem.

Thank you for a lovely stay. If we could have stayed longer we would have!





Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

The nice and cozy family owned hotel, authentic designer interior. Very nice lobby with the library and huge collection of DVDs for rental. Nice private beach, hammocks, cool pool. Very convenient to stay if you wont to go on tours in the island. Friendly staff. Excellent restaurant. Besides it was amazing surprise to find out the exhibition of Philippines impressionist.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were welcomed with yummy-licious mango juice and all the staff were very helpful. Room was clean and tidy. Resort style. A little balcony outside for my husband and i to enjoy the morning and evening fresh air. Facing the beach and we got to arrange for island hopping starting from their own private beach. They have a library of books, CDs, DVDs and games which you can bring to your room. We ordered in their fresh mango juice twice a day. Everyday. Practically every morning and evening when get back from our tour. Their seafood pizza was also excellent. A recommended resort. *Trip was made in June 2012.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We spent 4 nights here recently. It's a beautiful retreat - small, quiet, very comfortable. It's not modern or flash, but is beautifully furnished and decorated and has a serene atmosphere. The rooms are not huge but very comfortable and we had a balcony with a superb view over the gardens, pool and ocean. The resort has a lovely, private beach, nice for swimming but snorkelling isn't great (they have a marine area which they are trying to restore). Snorkels and fins are available for free.

The food and service is excellent. Like most places in the Philippines, the staff are friendly and helpful. The people were lovely everywhere we went in the Philippines! The resort has a nice upstairs lounge area with an extensive DVD library which we used a few times.

We particularly liked the garden setting which was very natural and well maintained. Guests need to be aware that Amarela Resort is quite far from anywhere else and you would need to take a taxi to Alona Beach or to go anywhere else to eat. There are other resorts further along the beach, but it's quite a long walk in hot weather. We stayed 4 nights in Alona Beach for a bit more action and 4 nights at Amarela Resort for relaxation - it was perfect.

We would definitely recommend this small resort for anyone wanting a quiet retreat to relax and unwind. We hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have beautiful garden and ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amarela Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarela Resort

Address: Barangay Libaong, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarela Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarela is a cozy yet elegant boutique resort atop a gentle slope with a stunning panoramic view of Bohol Sea and neighboring islands. Natural sandstone pathways run through native landscape, leading to the long stretch of white beach. The resort showcases local art and culture in meticulous detail - highlighting antique & traditional furniture, artifacts & handicrafts, old hardwood doors & floors, as well as an outstanding collection of sculpture & paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Amarela Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarela Hotel Panglao Island
Amarela Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island
Amarela Hotel Bohol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarela Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.