We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reggae Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Reggae Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Reggae Guesthouse
Alona Beach, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 59 Panglao Island B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Hosts are fabulous, so friendly and accommodating. About a 8 min walk to the beach which was fine for us. If you're looking for a nice place to stay on a budget, this is the place to be!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
30
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The place was really good. The decorations were cool and the owners (Bilbo and Chatti) were great and chilled out people who were very helpful. Bungalows were not equipped with air-con but at night, the fan in there was more than enough. The bar lounge was a perfect place to meet other guests and to chill. The drinks were very reasonably priced and reggae music was always playing in the background. Don't forget to ask Bilbo and Chatti for advice on places to visit and they can actually arrange trips for you, saving up the hassle comparing prices from different hawkers on the beach. Not exactly located next to the beach but it was only a max 10 min walk to the famed Alona Beach.
Among the guesthouses I have stayed in so far in a few southeast asian countries, this is the best so far, and I would definitely recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed at the Reggae Guesthouse for 3 nights and I have to say, this place takes the Reggae part quite seriously. Everything is decorated in red, yellow and green colors, and posters of Bob Marley are everywhere!

The place is very basic - we got a bungalow for two with a queen sized bed (the bed was a bit too soft, though), and its own bathroom. The place was clean and the sheets smelled nice and fresh. All the bungalows are fan rooms so no air-conditioning here. Glad we didn't have a problem with the heat since we were always out during the day and the nights were not so bad.

Our bungalow looked out into a nice courtyard, which had a comfortable looking hammock under a tree on one side, beside the pingpong table. Right across from it was the bar/lounge area.

The room rate doesn't include breakfast but they do offer a good breakfast spread with great coffee. The only set back is, they don't offer any other food during the day. But since you're about a 5 minute walk away from the beach which has a lot of restaurants, this isn't too much of a problem.

What sets this place apart are the people who run the place - Bilbo and Chhati, who are just very friendly. Bilbo has a boat (Bilboat!) that you can use to see Balicasag and Virgin Island (highly recommended trip!) for snorkeling. Bilbo and Chhati also know a guy who can take care of the Bohol island tour (tarsiers, chocolate hills, cave, etc.) at a very decent price.

Plus, at night, it's fun to hang out by the bar to meet all sorts of people (although some of them can be sleazy but anyway...) from everywhere in the world! I had a great time meeting people from Europe, Africa, and North America. Since it is the Reggae Guesthouse, they play a lot of reggae, which gives the place a very relaxed vibe - perfect background music for conversing with other people. And I can't forget the French wine that we had at the bar - for P60 (around $1) per glass!!!! Bilbo and Chhati were nice enough to give us a taste of this great local cheese that came all the way from the Basque region.

I also have to add that they have some really great books on offer by the lounge area. I was able to read halfway through Just Kids by Patti Smith. Too bad I didn't bring any book that I could exchange it for.

If you're not really into luxury travel but you're interested in meeting a lot of different people from diverse backgrounds, this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed at The Reggae Guesthouse for two weeks in April/May this year so can give an up-to-date review about this place. As I have travelled for many years to lots of different countries I can truly say that The Reggae Guest House is up there with the best within the budget/midrange Price range. The rooms and bathroom are immacute so don't have any concerns with cleanliness. As for the owners, Bilbo and Chhati, well they are the perfect hosts, always there if you need any advice on the surrounding area, boat trips and tourist attractions but they don't pressure you in anyway to go on any trips which is quite refreshing though they do have a boat, Bilboat, which is great as you don't have to barter with the island hopping hawkers. Bilbo offers a very very reasonable day trip on his boat, island hopping, snorkelling sunbating and relaxing and this trip was one the highlight of our trip to Panglao. The evenings are fantastic at The Reggae Guest House, you can sit and relax in the lounge area listening to very mellow reggae or if you're feeling energetic then I know for sure Bilbo will be up for a game of table tennis. As for the lounge/dining area well this is a great place to sit and relax and share travelling experiences with other travellers. The location is a very short 5 minute walk from Alona Beach and all the resturants and bars though far enough away from any noise though Alona, unlike Boracay, is quiet most evenings. So to any fellow travellers considering going to Alona Beach a stay at The Reggae Guest house is well worth while and gets a massive thumbs up from both my partner and I. :-)

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Lovely time! Lovely resort, great chilled out owners... I just felt at home!
The service was good, the rooms were very clean and comfy!
I loves the massages under that huge tree in a secluded area of the garden...
And it was very affordable compared to the other crazy places...
If you want a nice retreat out of the city chaos but near everything, this is your spot!

I miss you guys!! x lola

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice and private place a few minutes of walk away from Alona beach. The Frence couple who owns the place are very helpful and accomodating. Service is very personalized.

This place would have been perfect if they have airconditioning so I could sleep soundly even during the hot afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I was on the Raggea Gest house for 2 months, and it was really perfect.
For a cheap price, you can relax your mind and your body in a buttiful place, meet a loot of nice peoples and have a Pur life in Bohol !
Thx to bilbo and chatty for everything!
( Nb : You can ask for a boat trip , you are very close of alona Beach, there are a ping pong table and the owner can find you a perfect DiveShop ! )

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Reggae Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reggae Guesthouse

Address: Alona Beach, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Reggae Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reggae Guesthouse Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reggae Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.