We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bohol Sea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bohol Sea Resort to your Saves list
Bohol Sea Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Danao Beach, 6340, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Panglao Island
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at Bohol sea resort in October with our two little kids!
The hotel is very small, but that s what we were looking for with the kids and they could stay with us in the same room without extra charge. all the staff is very friendly and you feel like family.
It s mainly a dive resort so most of the guests are divers.
The beach was full of algues because of the storms, but that s nobody s fault, o we used the swimming pool....
The food was excellent
And all in all it s very good value for money
We really enjoyed our stay!
Thanks Henry and Co.

Room Tip: Send the hotel an email and tell them what you are looking for and they ll find a solution!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, Manager at Bohol Sea Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us last October. We are happy, that you have enjoyed the stay and we are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    19
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
34
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The food here is amazing, probably one of the best places in panglao.
Pasta dishes are very good. Good service and nice garden area to dine.

Danno beach is good for divers to stay at, not like alona beach which is catered more
towards the boracay type touristy experience.

It's great searching for shells at low-tide at Danno beach. Right outside your cottage...
Place is clean and well kept....

Excellent place for those that dont need to be at Alona beach but close enough walk there....15 mins....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bredene
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very nice quit peacefull resort. Perfect accomodation. Very nice swimming pool and friendly staff. Perfect place for diving and relaxing. Private beach , Huge big nice guarden in the middle of nature. Verry relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We went to Bohol Sea resort for our first diving trip. It is away from Alona town (about a 20 minutes walk) which suited us perfectly. The resort is a little oasis that we didn't need to go anywhere else for 5 days except on a boat to the magnificent diving spots.

The gardens are spectacular and very well cared for. The rooms are very clean and have everything you need. Pool is lovely too. Don't expect a nice beach but Bohol is not known for that anyway and we were there for the diving.

The food was good home cooked meals with a changing menu every night depending on what is fresh and in season.

The dive shop was extremely well managed. Run by experienced divers, impeccably kept equipment and clearly safety is first in this place. The diving was so easy. Jump in a boat at the resort and in five minutes you are diving in the most wonderful locations. All the equipment was handled for us - we just enjoyed the scenery and excellent services.

Day trips were organised very well. The management are welcoming, friendly and very accommodating.

Such an easy going lovely holiday and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panglao
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

a lot of potential but not used properly at check in they looked confused i thought i book breakfast they said for 1 only i ask to talk to manager they said he was scuba diving when i arrived i was to have a shuttle to hotel no shuttle i called hotel they didnt know if manager sent one he was scuba diving no communication i booked this trip 3 month in advanced the request i ask for was a hair dryer they said if i booked a more expensive unit it came with it 1 day later i received and hair dryer i stayed there 4 days i saw the manager on check out he said i must pay for 3 breakfasts i would have gone in town to eat there breakfast was half mangoe 1 slice pineapple 1 banana 250 pecos if the staff was better equipped to make decisions it would have helped also pool was full of dead bugs there were 2 rooms used low season i wanted to up grade but i would have paid full price no bargining the good rooms were cleaned well but there were ants in room i would not stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W, Manager at Bohol Sea Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello Rick,

thank you for your feedback. One of your main concerns was tackled immediately after we were aware of the problem, Two rooms had mattresses that required replacement and we have done that.

We are very sorry to hear about the two common issues with bookings via Online Travel Agents. We have rates for single and double occupancy. This also reflects in the number of breakfast included. The breakfast included is Continental (2 eggs any style, bread, jam, butter juice, coffee or tea and a juice) or Filipino breakfast. This all for 230 PHP per serving.
Also the issue on shuttle service. We provide shuttle service (at a charge). The service has to be booked in advance, as we are a small resort and do not have own shuttle buses waiting at the pier and airport unless booked.

We are in a tropical country and do the best to keep the rooms, bungalows and general facilities clean and free from bugs and ants. Some guests unfortunately leave leftover food and this does attract ants, even across larger distances.

Again, we are sorry, that you have not enjoyed your stay as much as we would have liked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloocan, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is a wonderful quiet little resort tucked away on Danao Beach.

This little resort is beautifully maintained --- the grounds are very pretty and everything is extremely clean. The staff is excellent and very friendly. All rooms come with aircon and satellite TV and the beds are very comfortable.

Bathrooms are modern and offer both hot and cold showers.

The swimming pool is very nice --- big and always clean and can be enjoyed by all.

For kids they have a mini playground and various other games nd toys. For older kids they have a pool table and cute little bar. This is primarily a dive resort and they offer a full compliment of dives and instruction.

Food here is excellent -- everything is cooked fresh and tastes terrific. Dinner selections are posted daily and can be pre-ordered to arrive fresh and hot at whatever time you desire up to about 9:00 pm.

All in all --- a lovely resort at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I stay there for 10 nights for diving. We have choosen this resort because of a recommendation from a colleague. And we can say, personal recommendation are always the best :-)
We stay in a superior bungalow, which was big, clean and comfortable, also with airconditioning. The bathroom was also nice and the shower was big. The room were cleaned everey day.
We had breakfast included, which was also good. It was possible to join what you want (every day fresh mango, perfect :-) ).
For lunch we often ordered salat and some fingerfoods or noodles. Both of them were good. On our first evening we had also our dinner in the restaurant, and please don't try the "Dori fish": This wasn't good and also the side dishes (potato) were bad. But this was the only thing, which doesn't taste good.
So we drive often to Alona beach for dinner. To go there was no problem, normaly one the resort guide bring you to the beach with a motorcycle or ordered a Habal habal (Motorcycle) for us. The price was really cheap (60 pesos ~ €1,-). On Alona beach there are some nice restaurants with BBQ grill (frish fish, sea food, and so on) some with live music, and also a good Thai restaurant.

We main point for us in this resort was diving. And we had luck, because the diving guide Chris was the perfect man for this job. This was the reason, that we have decided to make our AOWD with him. We had some excellent dives (our first night dive was amazing). Also the other two german guys, Neil and Hanschi, were really friendly, helpful and we had fun. Also the other staff were friendly.
The resort has no nice beach and you cannot swimming there, but this was no problem for, because we stay there for diving.
And for us it was a perfect diving holiday!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bohol Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohol Sea Resort

Address: Danao Beach, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bohol Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bohol Sea Resort is located directly on the naturally kept beach of Danao on Panglao Island, Bohol, one of the most beautiful islands of the Philippines. The famous Alona Beach is 2 kilometers (20 minutes walking or 3 minutes by motorbike) away. Great dive sites are starting just in front of the resort. Our paradise dive & holiday resort is furnished to best European standards and offers 20 elegant rooms and bungalows in different categories. Each accommodation has its own bathroom with shower, a terrace and free Wifi. The higher standard rooms also include television, minibar and air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bohol Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohol Sea Hotel Panglao Island
Bohol Sea Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bohol Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.