We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Panglao Regents Park Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Panglao Regents Park Resort to your Saves list
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Alona Beach, Tawala, 6340, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Panglao Island
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I like the staff of this hotel. They were accommodating. I chose this hotel because I thought the beach is at the back of the hotel. I found out the next morning that the place is not near the beach. I have to burn 15 minutes walk of calories to get to the beach. The swimming pool is clean, but it is really a kiddie pool. Compared to other hotels in Panglao, this one is a lot newer, the bed linens are new, the tiles are new. It is also a safe hotel to stay. There is no internet in the rooms though, just TVs.

Room Tip: choose a room near the pool, the annex building is not close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    108
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
44
124
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We spent close to a week at Panglao regents annex and it was a very pleasant week. The room is simple but ir fit our needs for the price we paid. The shower could have more pressure but as we were there mostly to sleep it didn´t hurt us. The pool is great for kids and the staff was very nice as well. I only had breakfast a few days there and it was ok, you can find better ones walking distance. One down for the hotel is that upon arrival we were told we had to leave a cash deposit, it´s not a lot of money, but as we are paying in credit card they could use it as well. It´s not a honeymoon place, but if you want a good and cheap place to sleep and spend all day outside it´ll be fair

Room Tip: If you can avoid the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I chose to stay at Panglao Regents Park because it is relatively cheaper than other hotels. The resort is not at the beachfront that's why, but walking to and fro would only take 3 to 5 minutes. Also, it has its own swimming pool, which most beachfront resorts do not have. Having a pool at the hotel-resort is somewhat important for me. The room is basic but clean and organized. The interiors and fixture are sturdy and functional, and modern in design; it looks obvious that the hotel is relatively new. The restaurant looks interesting but I found its menu a bit pricey.

The resort staff is courteous, helpful and responsive to our needs. Except when we asked for a 20% senior citizen's discount for my mom, the hotel staff unfortunately, didn't give us any. They said I made reservations online and they're paying extra for the online system. It didn't make any sense really. I insisted that I was paying for the rest of the amount and the discount could be deducted from it. They were kind enough to veto. Actually, it's not only this hotel, we encountered a few from other restos in Bohol as well...

Room Tip: Better to stay at the main resort than at the annex building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I had a nice experience staying at the Panglao Regents Park Hotel earlier this month. It seems like a new hotel as everything looked clean and in working order. It has a nice pool and staff were all very helpful and make sure the stay was a pleasant one. Will seriously consider staying here again next time I'm in Bohol.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I booked this hotel for one night only, having had a bad experience at another Alona hotel just prior to checking in. I ended up staying a second night there, but cut my overall visit to Alona short by two days due to a series of unpleasant experiences there.

Upon arrival I was informed that I'd have to leave a cash deposit of 500 pesos to cover "incidentals," even though as it turned out, there was nothing inside the hotel minibar fridge!

My room was on the single-floor strip at one end of the pool. It was clean and well-maintained, incredibly well for a property in this type of resort area. Room furnishings were in good condition and the king bed was comfortable. The minibar fridge got things cool, but never cold.

Fixtures in the bathroom seemed to be of low quality, including a shower head that sprayed water out the side. But water pressure was good, and the adjustable water heater ensured constant temperature.

The property advertises in-room wireless internet, but I could not connect at all inside my room. In fact, most times I had to go almost to the lobby to get a connection. When I asked about this an employee told me that wi-fi did not reach to most guest rooms. Not being able to surf indoors at night was an annoyance.

Although lodgers congregate in the pool until fairly late hours, often in a disruptively noisy manner, the area was quiet by 10:30 or so, and I was able to sleep soundly. The aircon worked well throughout my stay.

The one breakfast I ate at the hotel was brought to my table hot, but was of only passable quality and seemed a bit overpriced.

Something that irked me a bit was the fact that when my local companion went to the bar to get ice for the room, she was charged 30 pesos. However, when I went to get ice the price rose to 50 pesos! This type of nickel-and-dime grubbing seems to be typical of the Alona Beach area.

When it came time to check out, I presented my "incidentals" deposit receipt at the front desk and was told that it would be deducted from my bill instead of being refunded to me in cash. Not having any trust in this process I asked for--and received--a cash refund.

Throughout my stay all hotel staff I encountered were polite. The property itself was nice in appearance and well-maintained. The room was reasonably comfortable.

But the glitches during my stay were enough to remind me that just next door is another property, similar in room quality and with an honest owner, that can be had for little more than half the price of my room at Panglao Regents Park Resort. Should I return to Alona, I'd be more likely to stay at that property than return to Regents Park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in good sized room next to pool. Loved the resort as soon as I arrived - relaxing atmosphere, good quality facilities & friendly / helpful staff. Was romantic place to be with my girlfriend. I hope to be back to Philippines within next 2 years & I would stay here again. There was a good sized gym being built around the side of the complex, so I could use that when I return. I ate at the restaurant for breakfast & lunch & was very happy with these meals.

Room Tip: The rooms next to the pool are great as there are deck chairs immediately outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed 4 nights for a short break after booking wih Agoda, A very well laid out resort with friendly and very helpful staff, even the most arkward of guests were given the best of treatment. Nice rooms (we stayed in the annexe) but only had to cross the road to be in main building for swimming pool, resto & bar, spacious areas to relax in, very clean & comfortable, we will use Regents Park again. Only a short walk to the beach it will take as long as you want it to cos of the shops & resto's on the way, but quick walking no more than 10 mins, but who wants to hurry? We have stayed at The Alona Beach Resort only 300m further down the same side road & Regents Park is much better even if it is not beachfront, the short walk is worth it. P.S. Towels changed every day

Room Tip: Annexe slightly cheaper but still nice rooms we were on 2nd floor hardly any road noise very quiet d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Panglao Regents Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panglao Regents Park Resort

Address: Alona Beach, Tawala, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panglao Regents Park Resort in Panglao, Bohol, Philippines. Reserve your rooms online to receive instant confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Panglao Regents Park Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panglao Regents Park Hotel Panglao Island
Panglao Regents Park Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panglao Regents Park Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.