We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place with unfriendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Resort

Save Saved
You added Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oasis Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alona Beach, 6340, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 41 hotels in Panglao Island
Zagreb
1 review
“beautiful place with unfriendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in the Oasis during the strong earthquake few days ago. As tourists we had no way to find out whats going on. The staff was totally ignoring and some kind of hating us because of all the stupid questions we asked. We had no idea whats going on, how to contact our families etc. Deserted!
The place itself is really nice designed and offers good food and drinks, its a quiet relaxing place with a beautiful garden, clean pool, good breakfast, chilling music in the bar. There are many comfy zones you can use to chill.
Summa summarum if nothing happens, its maybe the perfect place for that price, certainly it doesnt seems safe!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    56
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
59
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We discovered Oasis while walking along the restaurant strip on Alona beach. The bar serves great drinks and the staff are very friendly and not pushy at all like the other places on the strip who are always calling out to get you to eat there. Oasis doesn't do that. The place is very relaxed. The upstairs restaurant area is beautifully designed with lots of trees, lots of seating for you to hang out and read. I mentioned earlier that the bar serves great drinks - that's downstairs. In the restaurant upstairs my Margarita was watery and the worst I've had in Alona. I have a strong suspicion that it was made my one of the waitresses. The ones I had in the bar downstairs were the best in Alona. Also, the owner was the only one standing in the upstairs bar once so I asked her for a drink and she asked me to ask the waitress who was standing close by. I would have expected the owner to take care of it - is just about being nice to the guests. We didn't stay here but ate/drank every night and I highly highly recommend this place. We would love to stay next time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spend four night on the Oasis Resort, and was very satisfied. good service and and an OK breakfast. the menu card is one of the best on Alona Beach. Good value for your money, both on food and accommodation

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mactan Island, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

At arrival given drinks and wet cloth. Beautiful by the pool with a rainforest feel. Breakfast is never ending. If you leave early they will prepare you a sandwich and a huge tupper ware of fruit salad and hard boiled eggs if you ask. 1 minute walk to the beach where you you have to get the grilled fish. The lost horizon has great drink specials to the right on the beach. Talk to a boating captain and arrange to go to the island. When you get there rent a little boat to see tons of fish. Go early to maybe see dolphins.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights in a bungalow in front of the pool. The room was large and comfortable with good aircon and a fan. The bathroom was huge and clean.
There is also a veranda on each bungalow with chairs and atable which is really nice.
The grounds are lovely and well maintained. The pool is nice but I actually didn't use it very much as I was in the sea most of the time. The hotel is located back off the beach a few minutes so it is extremely quiet there but you are still only mins from everything.
The breakfast was buffet and was excellent which a large selection which changed every day.
The breach front part of the oasis has beds for the guests on the beach, a bar & restaurant and seats to onge around in the shade across from the bar. The food was good, the staff were lovely and the drinks v reasonably priced. As a guest you could put your drinks and food on your room which was v handy if you were just back from diving or swimming and didn't want the hassle of carrying money around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Overpriced rooms. Unfriendly staff. The resort is always trying to make money. Whether charging you for service/tap water or referring you to tours they ge paid on that are EXTREMELY overpriced.

The grounds are nice but Alona beach is not relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaQuestDiveCenter, Manager at Oasis Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Luckily the majority of our guests and many returnee guests don't find our rooms overpriced and our staff unfriendly. We don’t serve tap water. Guest get a free glass of mineral water with their meal as you would in any restaurant. But we do charge for a water bottle refill as would in any other restaurant. Our restaurant prices are also comparable to other establishments on the beach.

There are indeed cheaper ways to do the Bohol tour, there is lots of canvassers and other drivers scavenging the beach and the streets offering cheaper tours. But this is of course a completely different experience from the tour we offer. We offer a quality, all inclusive tour.
You get what you pay for.

Naturally we are sorry to read the reviewer had an unsatisfactory experience. Resort staff and management aim to please all that visit Oasis Resort. That’s the business we are in so bad experiences always feel as a loss. Reviewer let us know if you ever plan to come back. A free cocktail awaits at our beach front bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foshan, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights as part of a dive package through the Seaquest dive shop attached to the resort. The bungalow I stayed in was large and comfortable with a good AC unit, if a little noisy. The bungalow was nicely decorated, Im not sure what the other comments about the decoration are about, they are very nicely done. The bungalows are well maintained and gardens are beautifully manicured. I agree with the comments about the water on the floor of the shower room but the shower is very nice and hot and the bathroom decor is very nice. The setting for the bungalows in the gardens with the swimming pool and restaurant/reception area is lovely, a real Oasis away from the hussle and bussle of the town centre and away from the beach bars with their live music and bands playing. If you want to stay somewhere peaceful in beautiful surrounding, living in a traditional style bungalow Oasis Resort is definitely the play to stay. The owner BJ is a very laid back and relaxed man, cheerful and always likes to have a chat with his guests and also with his staff which is good to see that he is making sure they are doing their jobs properly because sometimes in the Philippines if the boss is not around I have seen staff in other places get a bit too 'relaxed'. The staff their are very nice and friendly, Kate at the reception is a lovely girl, friendly, polite and hard working. Most of the staff will treat you like family by the end of your stay but also provide a very good level of service as I always say them busy and working hard when serving guests. The food at the restaurants, either in the resort, on the beach or at the beach bar is very good quality, you pay a little more but you get the quality for the extra 20-30 pesos that you pay, and to be honest Im happy to pay such a small difference for good quality ingredients. Id highly recommend the 'Oasis Royal Burger'. Its massive, and very tasty and unless you have a huge appetite you really dont need fries.

If you are thinking of going diving with the Seaquest shop I would also recommend this. The Divemasters are good, the diving location are amazing, maybe some of the best in the Philippines, the boats they provide are good with very good hard working deckhands. The equipment the shop provides is good quality if a little worn through use. Make sure you check everything is in proper working order and fits properly before you sign for it. Through no fault of the shop I agreed to a mask that was a little small which become uncomfortable but this was my fault not the dive shops.

Room Tip: If you are there for peace and quiet then the poolside bungalows are the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Resort

Address: Alona Beach, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oasis Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Class A location; right at the beach area, tranquil environment (no TV!), swimming pool in lush garden, affiliated with established Dive Center (SeaQuest DC), two restaurant area's, beach lounge, super friendly staff. Come as a guest leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Panglao Island
Oasis Hotel Bohol
Oasis Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.