We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“april 2013” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Oasis Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alona Beach, 6340, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Panglao Island
Cebu City, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“april 2013”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Overpriced rooms. Unfriendly staff. The resort is always trying to make money. Whether charging you for service/tap water or referring you to tours they ge paid on that are EXTREMELY overpriced.

The grounds are nice but Alona beach is not relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaQuestDiveCenter, Manager at Oasis Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Luckily the majority of our guests and many returnee guests don't find our rooms overpriced and our staff unfriendly. We don’t serve tap water. Guest get a free glass of mineral water with their meal as you would in any restaurant. But we do charge for a water bottle refill as would in any other restaurant. Our restaurant prices are also comparable to other establishments on the beach.

There are indeed cheaper ways to do the Bohol tour, there is lots of canvassers and other drivers scavenging the beach and the streets offering cheaper tours. But this is of course a completely different experience from the tour we offer. We offer a quality, all inclusive tour.
You get what you pay for.

Naturally we are sorry to read the reviewer had an unsatisfactory experience. Resort staff and management aim to please all that visit Oasis Resort. That’s the business we are in so bad experiences always feel as a loss. Reviewer let us know if you ever plan to come back. A free cocktail awaits at our beach front bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    62
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
65
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Foshan, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights as part of a dive package through the Seaquest dive shop attached to the resort. The bungalow I stayed in was large and comfortable with a good AC unit, if a little noisy. The bungalow was nicely decorated, Im not sure what the other comments about the decoration are about, they are very nicely done. The bungalows are well maintained and gardens are beautifully manicured. I agree with the comments about the water on the floor of the shower room but the shower is very nice and hot and the bathroom decor is very nice. The setting for the bungalows in the gardens with the swimming pool and restaurant/reception area is lovely, a real Oasis away from the hussle and bussle of the town centre and away from the beach bars with their live music and bands playing. If you want to stay somewhere peaceful in beautiful surrounding, living in a traditional style bungalow Oasis Resort is definitely the play to stay. The owner BJ is a very laid back and relaxed man, cheerful and always likes to have a chat with his guests and also with his staff which is good to see that he is making sure they are doing their jobs properly because sometimes in the Philippines if the boss is not around I have seen staff in other places get a bit too 'relaxed'. The staff their are very nice and friendly, Kate at the reception is a lovely girl, friendly, polite and hard working. Most of the staff will treat you like family by the end of your stay but also provide a very good level of service as I always say them busy and working hard when serving guests. The food at the restaurants, either in the resort, on the beach or at the beach bar is very good quality, you pay a little more but you get the quality for the extra 20-30 pesos that you pay, and to be honest Im happy to pay such a small difference for good quality ingredients. Id highly recommend the 'Oasis Royal Burger'. Its massive, and very tasty and unless you have a huge appetite you really dont need fries.

If you are thinking of going diving with the Seaquest shop I would also recommend this. The Divemasters are good, the diving location are amazing, maybe some of the best in the Philippines, the boats they provide are good with very good hard working deckhands. The equipment the shop provides is good quality if a little worn through use. Make sure you check everything is in proper working order and fits properly before you sign for it. Through no fault of the shop I agreed to a mask that was a little small which become uncomfortable but this was my fault not the dive shops.

Room Tip: If you are there for peace and quiet then the poolside bungalows are the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lautrec, France
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here for 34 days in January 2013 and had quite a good time, its just off the beach down its own alley so you can escape from the busy areas easily.

We had a bungalow near the pool which whilst looking a little tired were fine everything worked and a decent hot shower is always a good thing. Tea and coffee facilities, A/c Safe etc were all fine.
The pool again looks a little tired but was fine except when full of divers training or some guy doing hydro massage, (maybe there could be times posted when these things are going to happen)
One Gem they have is the kitchen, Whilst we could not have breakfast due to early morning commitments dolphin watching they did give us very good packed breakfast which was nice. We did have dinner there one night and the food was excellent and if you are in Alona it is well worth looking them out.

Staff very helpful and accomodating.
All in all a nice easy place close to the beach front and all the fun.
(Possibly a bit more for diving people which I expect is the majority of their clients)

Room Tip: Rooms near the bar can use the WiFi rooms around the pool are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Most of the units are thatch roofed duplexes located up a short walk way from the beach. There are many restaurants in the area both along the upper road as well as along the beach.There is a nice pool and gardens . The breakfast is good and the rooms are clean.There is no clock, t.v. or shampoo provided. There is a small complimentary bottle of water available and you can fill up a personal water bottle at breakfast. The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful.There are mosquitoes in the area and in the rooms. There are a limited number of loungers on the beach so a person has to be there early to claim one. The bed was good and a more comfortable chair is needed in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in November 2012 with some friends. I specifically booked bungalows #5 & #6 facing the pool. I recommend these two bungalows if you have the budget.

Good: Reservation process was easy, Large room/bathroom and very clean, breakfast was good, staff was nice, pool was good, location good...meaning just off the beach but still close to bars and restaurants, dive shop was good, I enjoyed the beach bar at the end of the walkway on the right side next to the dive shop. I hung out at that bar for a bit every night. It was very quiet even around the pool with what I was told almost fully booked hotel.

Bad: biggest complaint us internet. Only available in the restaurant and it was always a weak signal. Also, I stayed in#5 and the water from the shower ran into the entire bathroom floor even when using the shower curtain. My bed was a bit firm. I thought it was just a bit overpriced compared to other places I have stayed on Alona

Overall, it was an enjoyable stay and cannot understand the complaints of the recent reviews. I would consider staying again. My only hesitation would be the value of what you pay for 2 people in a bungalow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manika
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nice location, great breakfast,(buffet style) nice pool. Avoid the 2 story apatment unit (over priced), Great beach location and frieindly dive shop. lots of restaurant choices at the beach area. front desk staff more or less freindly. however upon check out they will give you a survey form to fill out under their watcfull eyes. My guess is this would be more meanigfull if it was somehow done in privacy or at a later date

Room Tip: Only consider the rooms around the pool area.away from the beach, .unless you like to hear blaring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Just read this review and that reminds me the bad experience I had a month ago in this resort. I booked through Agoda (I believe) and when I arrived it was impossible to get a refund and I was trapped.
Didn't go diving but the staff in the diveshop was not really kind (I haven't been diving for the last few years and asked for a small group for my first dive but that seemed to be impossible and anyway they didn't try to make me want to go with them).
I had a look into the bungalows and duplex rooms but none of them seemed to be refreshed.
I agree with the b'fast: it's good and you can eat as much as you want...

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Resort

Address: Alona Beach, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oasis Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Class A location; right at the beach area, tranquil environment (no TV!), swimming pool in lush garden, affiliated with established Dive Center (SeaQuest DC), two restaurant area's, beach lounge, super friendly staff. Come as a guest leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Panglao Island
Oasis Hotel Bohol
Oasis Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.