We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful 'Oasis', beautiful bungalows and good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Resort

Save Saved
You added Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oasis Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alona Beach, 6340, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 hotels in Panglao Island
Foshan, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A peaceful 'Oasis', beautiful bungalows and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights as part of a dive package through the Seaquest dive shop attached to the resort. The bungalow I stayed in was large and comfortable with a good AC unit, if a little noisy. The bungalow was nicely decorated, Im not sure what the other comments about the decoration are about, they are very nicely done. The bungalows are well maintained and gardens are beautifully manicured. I agree with the comments about the water on the floor of the shower room but the shower is very nice and hot and the bathroom decor is very nice. The setting for the bungalows in the gardens with the swimming pool and restaurant/reception area is lovely, a real Oasis away from the hussle and bussle of the town centre and away from the beach bars with their live music and bands playing. If you want to stay somewhere peaceful in beautiful surrounding, living in a traditional style bungalow Oasis Resort is definitely the play to stay. The owner BJ is a very laid back and relaxed man, cheerful and always likes to have a chat with his guests and also with his staff which is good to see that he is making sure they are doing their jobs properly because sometimes in the Philippines if the boss is not around I have seen staff in other places get a bit too 'relaxed'. The staff their are very nice and friendly, Kate at the reception is a lovely girl, friendly, polite and hard working. Most of the staff will treat you like family by the end of your stay but also provide a very good level of service as I always say them busy and working hard when serving guests. The food at the restaurants, either in the resort, on the beach or at the beach bar is very good quality, you pay a little more but you get the quality for the extra 20-30 pesos that you pay, and to be honest Im happy to pay such a small difference for good quality ingredients. Id highly recommend the 'Oasis Royal Burger'. Its massive, and very tasty and unless you have a huge appetite you really dont need fries.

If you are thinking of going diving with the Seaquest shop I would also recommend this. The Divemasters are good, the diving location are amazing, maybe some of the best in the Philippines, the boats they provide are good with very good hard working deckhands. The equipment the shop provides is good quality if a little worn through use. Make sure you check everything is in proper working order and fits properly before you sign for it. Through no fault of the shop I agreed to a mask that was a little small which become uncomfortable but this was my fault not the dive shops.

Room Tip: If you are there for peace and quiet then the poolside bungalows are the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    57
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
25
60
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lautrec, France
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here for 34 days in January 2013 and had quite a good time, its just off the beach down its own alley so you can escape from the busy areas easily.

We had a bungalow near the pool which whilst looking a little tired were fine everything worked and a decent hot shower is always a good thing. Tea and coffee facilities, A/c Safe etc were all fine.
The pool again looks a little tired but was fine except when full of divers training or some guy doing hydro massage, (maybe there could be times posted when these things are going to happen)
One Gem they have is the kitchen, Whilst we could not have breakfast due to early morning commitments dolphin watching they did give us very good packed breakfast which was nice. We did have dinner there one night and the food was excellent and if you are in Alona it is well worth looking them out.

Staff very helpful and accomodating.
All in all a nice easy place close to the beach front and all the fun.
(Possibly a bit more for diving people which I expect is the majority of their clients)

Room Tip: Rooms near the bar can use the WiFi rooms around the pool are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Most of the units are thatch roofed duplexes located up a short walk way from the beach. There are many restaurants in the area both along the upper road as well as along the beach.There is a nice pool and gardens . The breakfast is good and the rooms are clean.There is no clock, t.v. or shampoo provided. There is a small complimentary bottle of water available and you can fill up a personal water bottle at breakfast. The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful.There are mosquitoes in the area and in the rooms. There are a limited number of loungers on the beach so a person has to be there early to claim one. The bed was good and a more comfortable chair is needed in the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed in November 2012 with some friends. I specifically booked bungalows #5 & #6 facing the pool. I recommend these two bungalows if you have the budget.

Good: Reservation process was easy, Large room/bathroom and very clean, breakfast was good, staff was nice, pool was good, location good...meaning just off the beach but still close to bars and restaurants, dive shop was good, I enjoyed the beach bar at the end of the walkway on the right side next to the dive shop. I hung out at that bar for a bit every night. It was very quiet even around the pool with what I was told almost fully booked hotel.

Bad: biggest complaint us internet. Only available in the restaurant and it was always a weak signal. Also, I stayed in#5 and the water from the shower ran into the entire bathroom floor even when using the shower curtain. My bed was a bit firm. I thought it was just a bit overpriced compared to other places I have stayed on Alona

Overall, it was an enjoyable stay and cannot understand the complaints of the recent reviews. I would consider staying again. My only hesitation would be the value of what you pay for 2 people in a bungalow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manika
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nice location, great breakfast,(buffet style) nice pool. Avoid the 2 story apatment unit (over priced), Great beach location and frieindly dive shop. lots of restaurant choices at the beach area. front desk staff more or less freindly. however upon check out they will give you a survey form to fill out under their watcfull eyes. My guess is this would be more meanigfull if it was somehow done in privacy or at a later date

Room Tip: Only consider the rooms around the pool area.away from the beach, .unless you like to hear blaring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Just read this review and that reminds me the bad experience I had a month ago in this resort. I booked through Agoda (I believe) and when I arrived it was impossible to get a refund and I was trapped.
Didn't go diving but the staff in the diveshop was not really kind (I haven't been diving for the last few years and asked for a small group for my first dive but that seemed to be impossible and anyway they didn't try to make me want to go with them).
I had a look into the bungalows and duplex rooms but none of them seemed to be refreshed.
I agree with the b'fast: it's good and you can eat as much as you want...

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We booked this resort in advance because of the positive reviews and thinking that since the price was higher the place should good...NOT AT All!!
The place is really outdated, unfriendly and rather dirty (see my pictures). We booked the most expensive rooms (the bungalows are even worse) but the duplex rooms are really old and not really clean.
The staff is unprofessional and unfriendly (ok, a few of them are smiling and helpfull). The pool is not nice but you even don't get towels.
The only good thing is the breakfast - it's a kind of continental buffet with eggs station. Coffee is not the worse.
Not to mention the price...
Worst of it the dive shop; unprofessional master divers who really don't care about you.
I will never go back!!! A kind advice: find another place (even if it's not easy on Alona beach but you can go slightly away: you will find nicer beaches, less people and better hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaQuestDiveCenter, General Manager at Oasis Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
The management and owners are somewhat surprised by this review. Every guest that leaves our resort fills in a questionnaire and we never really get off-putting feedback as in this review. Overall our guest are more than pleased when they leave us. See our other reviews here and elsewhere online.

There are a couple of remarkable conclusions in this review that we feel we need to comment on. First of all about our dive masters? this particular guest didn’t even use the dive center and didn’t experience our dive service. So how can they even have an opinion about how we deal with our divers? And the attitude of our dive masters? Our dive center slogan is “we take care of you!” and that’s what we do.. small group, safety first always, friendly approach.

The rooms the reviewer occupied have been built less than 2 years ago. The interior is not outdated, this is how we want it to be, this is or style, we like it!
Might not be the style of the reviewer but that makes it a matter of taste.

We don’t have pool towels? Our other guests don’t seem to have trouble getting towels? Of course we DO provide pool towels and they can be picked up and brought back at the reception area. All guest are informed about this upon check in. Nice big fluffy towels that the guest can take with them for what ever purpose but we do ask that they be brought back. We have seen too many towels disappear in the past.

Our breakfast is not a ‘continental’ buffet, it’s a complete breakfast buffet, and its all you can eat! There is an egg station (we prepare eggs the way you like) we have cereals, fruits, pancakes, bacon, and/or ham or sausages (it changes daily), fried tomato, beans, rice, two kinds of bread that can be toasted, coffee or tea (as much as you like) and two kinds of fruit drinks (not fruit juice) to choose from.

Our price range is not higher than that of our direct competitors. There are indeed cheaper hotels 10 minutes walking from the beach. Hotel rooms that look like city hotel rooms. At Oasis your are right on the main beach, we offer a tropical beach resort experience that comes back in our room interior. We have a wonderful beach lounge were you can sit and see the sea and our price includes an all you can eat breakfast. Our rooms are without TV because we feel that is not part of the holiday experience. Come out of your room, mingle with the other guest and enjoy yourself.

We do have two kinds of rooms though. The beach front, two storey rooms and our bungalows. BUT all rooms are the same price. The reviewer writes that our bungalows are even worse? But they never stayed in the bungalows? Most of our bungalows have recently been renovated and even expanded?

We are a high end midrange beach resort, not a 5 star grand hotel and we don’t pretend to be. We keep it simple, but correct and do our best to make all our guest happy and have a wonderful holiday experience. Of course you cannot please everyone and it still does take 2 too tango!

Management has studied the room for ‘rather dirty’ signs and found some watermarks on the ceiling and the walls. We assume this was caused by the intense rain that we had the past few weeks (typhoon Pablo). Seeing how room of the guest is closest to the sea and was thus hit the hardest by the rain and wind. There must have been some water that made its way through the roof and trickled down the wall. We do apologies for that and have addressed the problem accordingly.

We invite the guest to try our service again sometime. Hopefully we can then see them leave as most of our guest. As a friend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Resort

Address: Alona Beach, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oasis Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Class A location; right at the beach area, tranquil environment (no TV!), swimming pool in lush garden, affiliated with established Dive Center (SeaQuest DC), two restaurant area's, beach lounge, super friendly staff. Come as a guest leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Panglao Island
Oasis Hotel Bohol
Oasis Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.