We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely agree” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Oasis Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alona Beach, 6340, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Panglao Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Completely agree”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Just read this review and that reminds me the bad experience I had a month ago in this resort. I booked through Agoda (I believe) and when I arrived it was impossible to get a refund and I was trapped.
Didn't go diving but the staff in the diveshop was not really kind (I haven't been diving for the last few years and asked for a small group for my first dive but that seemed to be impossible and anyway they didn't try to make me want to go with them).
I had a look into the bungalows and duplex rooms but none of them seemed to be refreshed.
I agree with the b'fast: it's good and you can eat as much as you want...

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    60
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
64
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We booked this resort in advance because of the positive reviews and thinking that since the price was higher the place should good...NOT AT All!!
The place is really outdated, unfriendly and rather dirty (see my pictures). We booked the most expensive rooms (the bungalows are even worse) but the duplex rooms are really old and not really clean.
The staff is unprofessional and unfriendly (ok, a few of them are smiling and helpfull). The pool is not nice but you even don't get towels.
The only good thing is the breakfast - it's a kind of continental buffet with eggs station. Coffee is not the worse.
Not to mention the price...
Worst of it the dive shop; unprofessional master divers who really don't care about you.
I will never go back!!! A kind advice: find another place (even if it's not easy on Alona beach but you can go slightly away: you will find nicer beaches, less people and better hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaQuestDiveCenter, General Manager at Oasis Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
The management and owners are somewhat surprised by this review. Every guest that leaves our resort fills in a questionnaire and we never really get off-putting feedback as in this review. Overall our guest are more than pleased when they leave us. See our other reviews here and elsewhere online.

There are a couple of remarkable conclusions in this review that we feel we need to comment on. First of all about our dive masters? this particular guest didn’t even use the dive center and didn’t experience our dive service. So how can they even have an opinion about how we deal with our divers? And the attitude of our dive masters? Our dive center slogan is “we take care of you!” and that’s what we do.. small group, safety first always, friendly approach.

The rooms the reviewer occupied have been built less than 2 years ago. The interior is not outdated, this is how we want it to be, this is or style, we like it!
Might not be the style of the reviewer but that makes it a matter of taste.

We don’t have pool towels? Our other guests don’t seem to have trouble getting towels? Of course we DO provide pool towels and they can be picked up and brought back at the reception area. All guest are informed about this upon check in. Nice big fluffy towels that the guest can take with them for what ever purpose but we do ask that they be brought back. We have seen too many towels disappear in the past.

Our breakfast is not a ‘continental’ buffet, it’s a complete breakfast buffet, and its all you can eat! There is an egg station (we prepare eggs the way you like) we have cereals, fruits, pancakes, bacon, and/or ham or sausages (it changes daily), fried tomato, beans, rice, two kinds of bread that can be toasted, coffee or tea (as much as you like) and two kinds of fruit drinks (not fruit juice) to choose from.

Our price range is not higher than that of our direct competitors. There are indeed cheaper hotels 10 minutes walking from the beach. Hotel rooms that look like city hotel rooms. At Oasis your are right on the main beach, we offer a tropical beach resort experience that comes back in our room interior. We have a wonderful beach lounge were you can sit and see the sea and our price includes an all you can eat breakfast. Our rooms are without TV because we feel that is not part of the holiday experience. Come out of your room, mingle with the other guest and enjoy yourself.

We do have two kinds of rooms though. The beach front, two storey rooms and our bungalows. BUT all rooms are the same price. The reviewer writes that our bungalows are even worse? But they never stayed in the bungalows? Most of our bungalows have recently been renovated and even expanded?

We are a high end midrange beach resort, not a 5 star grand hotel and we don’t pretend to be. We keep it simple, but correct and do our best to make all our guest happy and have a wonderful holiday experience. Of course you cannot please everyone and it still does take 2 too tango!

Management has studied the room for ‘rather dirty’ signs and found some watermarks on the ceiling and the walls. We assume this was caused by the intense rain that we had the past few weeks (typhoon Pablo). Seeing how room of the guest is closest to the sea and was thus hit the hardest by the rain and wind. There must have been some water that made its way through the roof and trickled down the wall. We do apologies for that and have addressed the problem accordingly.

We invite the guest to try our service again sometime. Hopefully we can then see them leave as most of our guest. As a friend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I are planning a 5-day visit to Bohol and Panglao islands in February and are looking for a moderately priced beach-front hotel with a pool that is walking distance to restaurants and stores. After hours of research on the internet, including contacting previous guests, we thought we had found it with the Oasis Resort at Alona Beach. We e-mailed the resort and found that rooms were available at the posted price. Imagine our surprise, however, when we were told that they would not process our reservation unless we also purchased a 6-dive dive package! We informed the resort that, while we are interested in diving, we are also planning a couple of days sightseeing and a snorkeling trip to check out whether it is worth going diving at all, but to no avail. We returned to their internet site, sure that we must have missed where they stated that this is a package dive resort, not a beach hotel with a dive centre. But no, the site simply states that the Oasis Resort is “for a relaxing, comfortable friendly holiday in a green environment” where the dive centre simply “facilitates diving.” To say we are disappointed is an understatement.

If you too are looking for a comfortable, reasonably priced hotel on Alona Beach, DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME with the Oasis Resort unless you are willing to buy a multiple dive package. They quite simply will not rent you a room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaQuestDiveCenter, Public Relations Manager at Oasis Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Management is sorry to hear reviewer feels as such. Please let us clarify. To keep the atmosphere that made us who and what we are today we do prefer to have divers at the resort. Especially in the divers high season. Most of the guest of Oasis resort are diving with SeaQuest Dive Center and that creates a certain atmosphere within the resort premises. Guest easily mingle with each other. They sit at the bar, restaurant or pool sharing their diving experience and swapping pictures of underwater life. This is what our guest expect from us and that is what we try to contain.

So yes, we do prioritize divers, especially in the high season. For the simple fact that we originated as a divers resort. But don’t hesitate to inquire, we might have some rooms available and a booking as a non diver can be made. It depends on the availability at the time of inquiry.

The management would like to add that action has been taken to updated the homepages of our websites. And has instructed reservations department to express our about our policy as soon as possible when there is a inquiry by a non-diver .

Once again Oasis Resort management apologizes to the reviewer but we do hope for some understanding about our business standpoint. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for 2 nights on Panglau Island and enjoyed the entire experience. The hotel is situation in the middle of Alona Beach and the dive shop is right on the edge of the sand. The best part of Oasis Resort is the friendly, helpful and incredibly welcoming staff. A typhoon stranded us in Cebu for a day and we received period updates from the Oasis staff on the weather conditions and the ferry schedules, which was above and beyond expectations. The resort itself is very comfortable, has a pool right in the center of the property, and has a restaurant and bar with great food and even better drinks. The staff were also extremely helpful in recommending and booking things for us to do in the area, including a long night out at the club scene.

The best part of our stay was a diving trip to Balicasag Island, which we booked through the resort's dive center. The staff are helpful and spoke English well, and the trip was amazing. One caveat: you have to bring your own lunch so come prepared.

The only downside was the lack of internet, which is only (scarcely) available at the bar/restaurant area. Not having internet actually turned out to be a blessing at such a relaxing island, but it's something they can improve.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at Oasis for three weeks and it beat my expectations. Great central location on Alona beach with good facilities, for example they have their own fresh water swimming pool, great for teaching and a nice refreshing swim. Staff were tremendous, went out of their way to make me comfortable (special kudos to the resort manager Marcus for that). Dive shop and resort fully integrated, order a sandwich at the resort and it will be on your dive boat the morning after. Instructors and dive guides were great and the diving was beautiful. One minor niggle, but the wifi seemed to be very slow most of the time, but then again when you are next to beautiful blue waters and golden beaches, you shouldn't be on the Internet all the time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We loved everything about our stay at the Oasis, and the staff were the best. The weather was bad when were there, and the staff kept calling us to keep us updated about whether or not the ferries would be running. The property is beautiful with a nice pool, food was good (chicken adobo was phenomenal), and drinks were stiff.

Highlight of the trip was diving Balicasag with the dive shop affiliated with the Oasis. They run a nice operation with good (not great) gear and the DMs speak English well enough to give a good safety and sights overview.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed 6 nights on Alona beach before moving into this hotel so I do have something to compare against. The 4 nights we stayed at the Oasis hotel were fine except for a few things. Number one it's way over priced and exactly double per night what we spent at the other hotel that was right on the beach. Number 2 no T.V in the room, and I mentioned this and was told that it states there is no T.V on their website......well I'm looking at their website now and there is no mention at all of T.V's. Lastly we had returned from a long day at sea and we were hungry so we had dinner at the Oasis restaurant, I ordered soup an appetizer and a main course and my wife ordered soup and main course, but we didn't order drinks as we were parched and just wanted water. I was given the water and I asked for a refill only to be told that they were only allowed to give me one glass. I have never been to any restaurant anywhere in the world where I couldn't get a refill of water. I understand they want to encourage customers to purchase juices or alcohol but come on it's not like I sat down asked for water then decided not to order. The food by the way was great and I do recommend eating here, in fact our last 2 days all our meals were eaten here. The rooms were nice and a good size and the resort itself is very quiet and a good escape from all the hawkers along the beach, but all things considered, price, location, service, no T.V no Wifi in room I would have to say they don't deserve the award given by trip advisor and and that's half the reason I booked here.

Room Tip: Stay at the Isis bungalows 5 meters from the water with T.V and wifi for half the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Resort

Address: Alona Beach, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oasis Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Class A location; right at the beach area, tranquil environment (no TV!), swimming pool in lush garden, affiliated with established Dive Center (SeaQuest DC), two restaurant area's, beach lounge, super friendly staff. Come as a guest leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Panglao Island
Oasis Hotel Bohol
Oasis Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.