We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort, great dive center and super friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Oasis Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alona Beach, 6340, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Panglao Island
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent resort, great dive center and super friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at Oasis for three weeks and it beat my expectations. Great central location on Alona beach with good facilities, for example they have their own fresh water swimming pool, great for teaching and a nice refreshing swim. Staff were tremendous, went out of their way to make me comfortable (special kudos to the resort manager Marcus for that). Dive shop and resort fully integrated, order a sandwich at the resort and it will be on your dive boat the morning after. Instructors and dive guides were great and the diving was beautiful. One minor niggle, but the wifi seemed to be very slow most of the time, but then again when you are next to beautiful blue waters and golden beaches, you shouldn't be on the Internet all the time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    60
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
64
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We loved everything about our stay at the Oasis, and the staff were the best. The weather was bad when were there, and the staff kept calling us to keep us updated about whether or not the ferries would be running. The property is beautiful with a nice pool, food was good (chicken adobo was phenomenal), and drinks were stiff.

Highlight of the trip was diving Balicasag with the dive shop affiliated with the Oasis. They run a nice operation with good (not great) gear and the DMs speak English well enough to give a good safety and sights overview.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed 6 nights on Alona beach before moving into this hotel so I do have something to compare against. The 4 nights we stayed at the Oasis hotel were fine except for a few things. Number one it's way over priced and exactly double per night what we spent at the other hotel that was right on the beach. Number 2 no T.V in the room, and I mentioned this and was told that it states there is no T.V on their website......well I'm looking at their website now and there is no mention at all of T.V's. Lastly we had returned from a long day at sea and we were hungry so we had dinner at the Oasis restaurant, I ordered soup an appetizer and a main course and my wife ordered soup and main course, but we didn't order drinks as we were parched and just wanted water. I was given the water and I asked for a refill only to be told that they were only allowed to give me one glass. I have never been to any restaurant anywhere in the world where I couldn't get a refill of water. I understand they want to encourage customers to purchase juices or alcohol but come on it's not like I sat down asked for water then decided not to order. The food by the way was great and I do recommend eating here, in fact our last 2 days all our meals were eaten here. The rooms were nice and a good size and the resort itself is very quiet and a good escape from all the hawkers along the beach, but all things considered, price, location, service, no T.V no Wifi in room I would have to say they don't deserve the award given by trip advisor and and that's half the reason I booked here.

Room Tip: Stay at the Isis bungalows 5 meters from the water with T.V and wifi for half the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panglao Island, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

One of the best resorts in Alona beach.
They even have HYDROTHERAPY treatments at the pool. A MUST experience !!!
very clean and highly maintained, the staff is so nice, good and professional dive center, very good food and very nice bar...
Every Sunday they have a nice chill-out afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was the best place we stayed in the Philippines, as well as the best place of the 5 we looked at on Alona beach. The room was clean and very well maintained. The staff were very friendly and efficient - they addressed any issues we had immediately (eg our shower head broke and was replaced within 2 hours) and offered a great deal of valuable advice on trips to the surrounding area. The pool area is pretty and clean, although the pool could be cleaned more regularly. The breakfast was also quite average - most of the food on the buffet was cold each morning.

One tip - a lot of the rooms are positioned around the pool, which is very quiet and peaceful at night time but not so much early in the morning when there can be children playing noisily in the pool. A very family-friendly resort, which is great, but not so ideal when you want a lie-in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

A relaxing stay on Alona beach for 3 days. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our stay was very nice. The breakfast was just ok I thought. The pool is nice and very warm. The resort is located very close to the beach, maybe 50m from the beach. The room was large and nice in local decoration. AC was good in the room. Bathroom was ok for beach town. Good location close to restarurants and easy to walk outside the resort. I thought the price was a little high for the quality of the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a cute little resort on Alona Beach. It has a lovely pool area and tranquil garden - a great spot to unwind. We also enjoyed relaxing in the upstairs section of their beachfront cafe/restaurant - you can overlook the beach, enjoy the sea breeze and yet avoid the touts roaming around on the beach! The staff in the cafe could have improved their service by showing more initiative, e.g. checking if you would like another round of drinks and checking on patrons in the upstairs section.

The rooms are fairly basic but are clean and very presentable and the airconditioning and fans in the rooms ensure a good night's sleep. Our bathroom seemed to have a water issue (no water in the morning) but this was being prompty repaired.

Be careful about paying the deposit by direct deposit/TT - unfortunately we were not informed that we had the option of paying the deposit by credit card and so transferred money into their USD account - only to discover the bank charges amounted to USD 25. However they split this cost 50:50 once it was escalated.

We were provided with a complimentary dayroom until our 5.30pm departure without even requesting it, which was fantastic and much appreciated. All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Resort

Address: Alona Beach, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oasis Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Class A location; right at the beach area, tranquil environment (no TV!), swimming pool in lush garden, affiliated with established Dive Center (SeaQuest DC), two restaurant area's, beach lounge, super friendly staff. Come as a guest leave as a friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Panglao Island
Oasis Hotel Bohol
Oasis Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.