We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most wonderful spots on Earth with an amazing host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Bastide des Tremieres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Bastide des Tremieres to your Saves list
La Bastide des Tremieres
1217 Route de Couin, 24230 Saint-Antoine-de-Breuilh, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the most wonderful spots on Earth with an amazing host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is by any standard one of the most impressive venues I've ever stayed at. The view at this wonderfully done up chambre d'hote. You sit on top of a hill and have a amazing endless view of the vineyards (you are 10 min from Saint Emilion).

The building is rustic on the outside and fully done up with all comforts and modern features on the inside without loosing any of it's authentic charm.

The main building has seven distinct bedrooms with new and great beds, very clean (I'm allergic to dust so I know in 2 secs) and modern generous sanitary facilities.

Then there are two 'gites' or studios that are fully equipped with awesome kitchens and basically functions as spacious homes in the vineyards of France.

The pool is safe and heated over night so you can jump in before breakfast.

And then there is the owns and host Kiek. She is an amazing lady who has created this gem in paradise. Every morning you get a great breakfast and once or twice a week she'll cook for those who want. Her food is delicious and memorable and you'd want her to cook every day.

She makes you feel welcome in the palace that she has created in her mirror. Every piece of furniture, feature and design has been lovingly created and made by her and you feel privileged to be part of that world.

We've been here with a large group (taking the whole lot) and as a couple. In any event it's a great destination for those who are looking for a a beautiful secluded spot in the romantic vineyards of France.

And if you do go please give you love to Kiek from us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We happened upon this amazing place by accident, we were in the Dordogne region looking at wedding venues. One of the venues we visited recomended we try it out as we needed a place to stay overnight.

The property is located up a pretty steep hilly road and the entrance into it is fairly narrow. First impressions were great, you see an amazing rennovated stone house that is surrounded by beautiful plants and flowers. The owner came out to greet us, Kiek is a charming host and she made is feel so welcome. We were shown to our room which blew us away. A huge room with exposed beams, painted in gorgeous orange shades. The decor was fantastic, interesting furniture, tres chic! The bathroom was a complete surprise, a huge walk in shower, everything was so clean and fresh.

After we ditched the bags we went for a ramble downstairs, the attention to detail is apparent everywhere. There is huge living room that is so cosy and inviting. Big sofas, internet access, interesting books. The ultimate for us however was the outside space, as you walk out through the patio doors you are met with the most amazing views. The house sits majestically over the expansive coutryside, you can see for miles. There are unspoit views as far as the eye can see. There is a beautiful patio area and a very large pool area. We were made to feel so welcome, Kiek gave us great advice about weddings in the Dordogne and even set up an appointment for us to visit a nearby cheateau. We loved the place so much that we decdied to extend our stay by another night!

On our second night we were going to head out but ended up sitting on the terrace drinking wine with Kiek, she even made us dinner which was fabulous! I cannot reccomend the place highly enough. The standard of the rooms is so high, the house is beautiful and most importantly the host is genuinely lovely. We loved every minute of it and will def be back as we are getting married in the area next year.

If you are in the area, go and stay, you won't be disappointed.

Dublintwinkle

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

We were 3 couples traveling together and we all loved La Bastide des Tremieres. Our rooms were spacious, clean and and comfortable. Plus the gardens and the never ending views were spectacular. We were very busy during our 4 day stay - there are so many beautiful sights to see and activities to choose from in the area. All of this along with Kiek's delicious meals, warm hospitality and the pure french ambiance of her B&B made our time here one of the best highlights of our trip through France.

We look forward to returning in the future for a much longer stay.

Sandie and Virgil
Southern California

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

We have just arrived home to Australia after having a lovely two months away in France and also in Spain, UK, Dubai, Singapore and Hong Kong. By far, our stop over for two nights at La Bastide des Tremieres was certainly one of the highlights of staying at over 28 hotels, B&B's and apartments during our trip. The position of the "Farm House" was so serene in a beautiful country setting to "die for". We were also lucky to take advantage of nearby St Emillion, Bergerac and a little village called Duras - such beautiful towns/locations Our hostess Keik's hospitality and knowledge of the area was very valuable to us. The room we had was very roomy for European standards as were the lounge rooms. We also enjoyed a dip in your pool to cool down in the hot weather we were experiencing at the time (early July). The breakfasts were great which also included cooked eggs ( to our Aussie liking !!!) and a large pot of fresh tea, not to mention the usual French goodies. I should also mention the local dutch cheese which was also a treat. Thanks again Kiek and I am sure if we ever make it back to France we will be keen to look you up again.

Kind Regards

Catherine and Rob Michell - Melbourne Australia (Down Under)




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Liked — Great building with a view to die for!!
  • Disliked — Plenty of space throughout the premises
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Bastide des Tremieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide des Tremieres

Address: 1217 Route de Couin, 24230 Saint-Antoine-de-Breuilh, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Antoine-de-Breuilh
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Antoine-de-Breuilh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B in manor house from 16th Century, near St. Emilion and Bergerac, with pool, situated among the vineyards and on the Route des Vins. Restored in 2001/2002. All rooms/beds 3 star quality. Total quiet and magnificent view guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Bastide des Tremieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bastide des Tremieres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.