We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenfinnan House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Glenfinnan House Hotel to your Saves list
Glenfinnan House Hotel
Glenfinnan | by Fort William, Glenfinnan PH37 4LT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Super Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Dinner, bed and breakfast were all great. Comfortable room, big bath with lots of hot water after a long day walking in the rain, the local Glenfinnan micro-brewery beer was excellent, good wine list and local crab and beef for dinner. The location is stunning - amazing view and close to the A830 but not so close you can hear it. It would also be a short walk down hill from the station if you were arriving by train. Very friendly service and good value for money. The hotel is atmospheric and retains its Victorian period charm rather than having been turned into a generic country house hotel. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we hope to welcome you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    59
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
51
129
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A wonderful place for a real slow down break. The tranquil surroundings and magnificent scenery, the comfort of the hotel, plus the excellent food and good service, all combinedd to make our 3 night stay truly memorable. Most food is locally sourced as you would expect, but the way in which it was prepared and presented couldn't be faulted. Friendly staff and evening Celih made for a stay not to be quickly forgotten.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is lovely, the location is stunning. The staff was really friendly and helpful.
The dinner I had was rainbow trout cooked perfectly. In the morning the breakfast was delicious, too. My rooms was very cosy and had a beautiful bathroom. Definitely I will go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here several years ago for the wedding of friends. It was v. good then, and just as good or better this time. The staff are friendly and helpful, food and drink good, rooms nice, and it's in a beautiful location on the shores of Loch Shiel.

The first night we ate in the bar, and the second in the restaurant, but the food is the same in both cases. Everything was good, the most memorable was a venison dish that was particularly tasty. Also had the cooked scottish breakfast the first morning (like English but with tattie scone and black pudding) - not the massive portions you'd get in a typical greasy spoon, but still plenty, and very nicely done. Second morning had smoked haddock with poached egg. I think every meal I had at least one of haggis, smoked haddock or venison!

The second night in the bar was some local musicians playing traditional songs, which was fun.

The area is really scenic. Best known for the viaduct; a steam train crosses it twice a day for some good photo opportunities. Also the jacobite memorial, the path up the viaduct and the banks of Loch Shiel, make for plenty to see in the area.

Outwith the hotel, the cafe in the converted train carriage at the station is pretty good.

The hotel had a couple mountain bikes we borrowed for a bit of cycling one day. The path beside Loch Shiel is a bit rough and hilly unless you had better bikes of your own. But the tarred road up the viaduct would be ideal for a bit of cycling (not sure how far that goes).

No complaints at all! Would stay again happily.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I spent a very wet windy afternoon relaxing in the cosy
bar with a few drinks. In the evening we enjoyed wonderfully cooked steaks. Our room was large and VERY comfortable, the bathroom was enormous and had a super spa bath all very clean. The staff we came in contact with were very pleasant especially the breakfast waiters Breakfast was superb with a very good choice of menu. Would I return? yes without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and hope to welcome you back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Spending our last night of three relaxing in the drawing room a small malt in hand & the local musicians echoing from the bar. It just doesnt get better than this. Our grateful thanks to owners & all the staff for a making it look so easy. We'll definitely be back..soon. P.S. The smoked salmon poached egg & chive sauce breakfast is to die for...Theresa & Dougie. C.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we hope to welcome you back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Since there is not a separate Page for reviews of the restaurant I am posting it here Our meal was amazing and the veiw over the loch was spectacular and the service was good. There was a great selection of meals to suit every taste. Overall great meal hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. Our Restaurant page for food reviews is under Glenfinnan House Hotel Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glenfinnan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfinnan House Hotel

Address: Glenfinnan | by Fort William, Glenfinnan PH37 4LT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Glenfinnan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Scottish Highlands, Glenfinnan House Hotel is a beautiful 18th century pine-panelled mansion house situated in its own grounds overloooking Loch Shiel, Ben Nevis and the Glenfinnan Monument.This award-winning establishment, renowned for its fine cuisine and hospitality, has something to offer everyone; from a quiet retreat or romatic break, a walking/cycling/sightseeing holiday,the celebration of an idyllic wedding or the simple enjoyment of a delicious meal.Four poster suite, four poster bedroom, family suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Glenfinnan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfinnan Hotel Fort William
Glenfinnan House Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenfinnan House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.