We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and nostalgia, excellent combination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car

Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car
Station Cottage, Glenfinnan PH37 4LT, Scotland
01397 722300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Glenfinnan
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Epsom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food and nostalgia, excellent combination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a lovely lunch in the dining car whilst visiting the area in May. Excellent food, friendly service and a touch of nostalgia as well. Sitting looking out over the mountain was a lovely way to spend an hour. If we have stayed in the area longer we would definately have gone back for more!

Visit here you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    54
    14
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Food excellent and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

What and an excellent place, and very welcome after 65 miles cycling with no open cafe. The place is interesting (a railway carriage) and comfortable. The welcome friendly and the food excellent and good value. I had a blue cheese and ham toastie which was superb. The themed 'railway' menu is interesting as well and fits perfectly with the situation at Glenfinnan Station. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Such a relaxing spot for a drink new came for breakfast and liked it so much we came back for lunch and tea! Gorgeous view of hills and birds, we saw two eagles from just around the corner. And the atmosphere inside is fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Definitely worth stopping over here for a quick lunch. Great views both inside and out. Had the mackerel pate with toast and salad-- it was great. I liked the quaint vintage feel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First Class All The Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stopped off for lunch on the way home from our holiday - glad we did. We had an Excellent home cooked meal, probably the best meal that we have had on our 10 day holiday at a fraction of the cost of most of the restaurants in the area. Service, food, atmosphere and value for money were all top quality and excellent in every way. Well done !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car also viewed

Lochaline, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.