We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and nostalgia, excellent combination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car

Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car
Station Cottage, Glenfinnan PH37 4LT, Scotland
01397 722300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Glenfinnan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Epsom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and nostalgia, excellent combination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a lovely lunch in the dining car whilst visiting the area in May. Excellent food, friendly service and a touch of nostalgia as well. Sitting looking out over the mountain was a lovely way to spend an hour. If we have stayed in the area longer we would definately have gone back for more!

Visit here you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Food excellent and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

What and an excellent place, and very welcome after 65 miles cycling with no open cafe. The place is interesting (a railway carriage) and comfortable. The welcome friendly and the food excellent and good value. I had a blue cheese and ham toastie which was superb. The themed 'railway' menu is interesting as well and fits perfectly with the situation at Glenfinnan Station. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank petemain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Such a relaxing spot for a drink new came for breakfast and liked it so much we came back for lunch and tea! Gorgeous view of hills and birds, we saw two eagles from just around the corner. And the atmosphere inside is fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank merialc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Definitely worth stopping over here for a quick lunch. Great views both inside and out. Had the mackerel pate with toast and salad-- it was great. I liked the quaint vintage feel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaylaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First Class All The Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stopped off for lunch on the way home from our holiday - glad we did. We had an Excellent home cooked meal, probably the best meal that we have had on our 10 day holiday at a fraction of the cost of most of the restaurants in the area. Service, food, atmosphere and value for money were all top quality and excellent in every way. Well done !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackster40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing