We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and nostalgia, excellent combination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car

Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car
Station Cottage, Glenfinnan PH37 4LT, Scotland
01397 722300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Glenfinnan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Epsom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and nostalgia, excellent combination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a lovely lunch in the dining car whilst visiting the area in May. Excellent food, friendly service and a touch of nostalgia as well. Sitting looking out over the mountain was a lovely way to spend an hour. If we have stayed in the area longer we would definately have gone back for more!

Visit here you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    29
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Food excellent and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

What and an excellent place, and very welcome after 65 miles cycling with no open cafe. The place is interesting (a railway carriage) and comfortable. The welcome friendly and the food excellent and good value. I had a blue cheese and ham toastie which was superb. The themed 'railway' menu is interesting as well and fits perfectly with the situation at Glenfinnan Station. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Such a relaxing spot for a drink new came for breakfast and liked it so much we came back for lunch and tea! Gorgeous view of hills and birds, we saw two eagles from just around the corner. And the atmosphere inside is fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Definitely worth stopping over here for a quick lunch. Great views both inside and out. Had the mackerel pate with toast and salad-- it was great. I liked the quaint vintage feel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“First Class All The Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stopped off for lunch on the way home from our holiday - glad we did. We had an Excellent home cooked meal, probably the best meal that we have had on our 10 day holiday at a fraction of the cost of most of the restaurants in the area. Service, food, atmosphere and value for money were all top quality and excellent in every way. Well done !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car also viewed

 

Been to Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenfinnan Station Museum Dining Car, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.