We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackdown Yurts - Yurt Holidays in Devon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cullompton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackdown Yurts - Yurt Holidays in Devon
Save
You added Blackdown Yurts - Yurt Holidays in Devon to your Saves list
Halsbeer Farm, Blackborough, Cullompton, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tranquility base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Our family spent the most amazingly relaxed week in Willow yurt, the weather was perfect and the location was superb. The facilities for each yurt are very good with a field kitchen, compost loo, fire pit and a space to chill for each. The owners are very pleasant and accommodating, and were always approachable if there was a query. The yurts are spacious and well equipped with a stove if the night gets chilly. If you are looking for a relaxing time with no pressure and very little mobile signal, this is for you!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a great set up..... 4 yurts which are cosy, each with its own compost loo and field kitchen. All supplemented by a barn with additional 'proper' loos, showers and fridges for those less happy 'getting back to nature'. We had a bonfire every night and used the logburners in the yurts too as we settled in for bed. We did some great star watching and listened to the owls calling nearby....very peaceful indeed.
The owners are very chatty and willling to share their local recommendations and very laid back....It's quiet, comfortable and a great base for exploring East Devon, its coast and the Blackdown Hills

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I came here with my 2 children (8 and 9) and my best friend for a week and I can safely say it was the best holiday I can remember. The location is so peaceful and perfect for the children to play safely and enjoy nature. The yurt was so comfy and cosy. Everything was perfect. Peter is a brilliant host and I think we will be back. I will never go back to camping in a tent again! I would recommend this for a week or a short break, everything is provided and more, just perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I went to the Blackdown Yurts last year for a hen do and enjoyed it so much when I was tasked with organising my friends I knew exactly what to do.

This site is stunning, the yurts and barn are gorgeous and the owners lovely. I would highly recommend the site for a relaxing get away or, do as we did and hire the whole site (which is very reasonable) and have a bit of a party.

They have everything you need, even things you don't think you'll need. Just take along food and drink and you're set. And I recommend taking enough for your whole stay so you don't have to leave. Unless it's to walk to the pub for a pint.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

What a beautiful location to get away from the stresses of daily living. The kids (4 and 2) were so excited on seeing the yurt and I was surprised at how large they were inside - now sure a tent will ever be the same again! Facilities were first rate with a field kitchen with cooker and gas oven, all supplied free to use - we even had a welcome bottle of wine! We could not have received a warmer welcome. Sitting outside the yurt looking across to the black down hills with the log fire burning behind us was truly special - try it for something different, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

A great experience, it had all the fun of camping, but with the added comforts of a proper bed, and a wood burning stove, plus the yurt was so cosy and beautifully decorated. The quiet rural surroundings made this a perfect place to get away from the busyness of everyday life and enjoy the scenery and peace - the only sounds were farm animals and bird song! The cooking facilities were basic, but had everything you needed, and it was relaxing cooking and eating outside. The compost toilets may take some getting used to, but there are also flushing toilets and hot showers in the barn. As the yurts are all eco-friendly, there is just one solar powered light, otherwise it's candles and torches, so if you go during the shorter days f the year, it would be worth taking a camping lamp as an extra light source. We felt that it was good value for money, particularly if you used the full capacity of the yurts. All in all, a great place to come, as a couple, family, or group of friends, a place to enjoy the countryside and a slower pace of life - we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This was my first 'glamping' trip to celebrate my 40th Birthday with friends. What an amazing weekend.....it was everything I wanted it be plus a whole lot more. Jas and Pete were extremely helpful and made us all feel so welcome. The yurt we were in slept 6 which was clean, spacious, decorated beautifully & the beds were SO comfy! The location is so beautiful and is a very relaxing setting. We had planned to make a visit to the local village but ended up so chilled out that we stayed put all weekend (apart from one taxi trip to nearest shop to stock up on wine!!) Blackdown Yurts is a fantastic place to get away from it all and relax. I will definitely be booking to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackdown Yurts - Yurt Holidays in Devon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackdown Yurts - Yurt Holidays in Devon

Address: Halsbeer Farm, Blackborough, Cullompton, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Cullompton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cullompton
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Blackdown Yurts - Yurt Holidays In Devon Cullompton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackdown Yurts - Yurt Holidays in Devon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.