We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lachea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lachea to your Saves list
Hotel Lachea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Dusmet 4, 95021 Aci Castello, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Aci Castello
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have just come back from a week here and found the staff wonderfully helpful, if limited in their English. Our room was on the second floor with beautiful views over the bay and a large balcony. It was quite noisy, even with the shutters closed and the windows shut, but the aircon was very effective, which was necessary as it was pretty hot! (this was October!) The hotel is on quite a steep hill which means that anyone with walking diffficulties would find it a problem and when attempting to cross the road you took your life in your hands. No beach in the village but the pool was adequate. Everything was very clean, with clean bedding and towels every day, and a couple of bottles of water in the fridge each day too. The restaurant was a bit limited, no fresh salads, which we love, but good choice of vegetables in the cold buffet. Surprisingly no tea and coffee making facilities, but am not sure if this is usual in Italy. The staff were great.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the second floor facing the sea, noisier than at the back but much better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    69
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
56
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We found the Hotel Staff very friendly, and helpful in supplying us with bus and train timetables, and organising Taxis and Excursions for us. Our room was on the second floor with a large balcony, which gave us a great view over the Ionian Sea !! It was quite spacious with a fridge provided and the shower room adequate. The TV was difficult to operate but instructions were provided. We would have liked another socket but managed to improvise. There was no Tea or Coffee making facilities which would have been nice in the morning etc. The restaurant was quite large but being a vegetarian - I was limited to pasta and the cold buffet. It was shut on the friday night which surprised us !! The Hotel is situated at the top of a small hill above Aci Trezza and close to a noisy, busy main road. A side road twists around behind the hotel and this was very busy too. You had to cross this road to get down to the town. Its a short walk but the bus stop is hard to find. However the Hotel with its pool was quite good in its class.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view at front of Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff Wales
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

By some margin the Lachea was the best hotel / accommodation of the five that we stayed at in Sicily during the two weeks we were there.
The location in Aci Trezza, not in Aci Castello, was good: for Taormina (40 minutes north, Mount Etna ( 30 minutes to the cableway at Rifugio Sapienza if you can find the route: 60 minutes if you get lost on the way), Siracusa (50 minutes). It's easy to find too being just off the SS114 main coast road from Catania.
The staff are brilliant - ALL of them are most helpful. The reception staff will help with directions, including to the local laundry, and with the internet (PC in the lobby for the use of guests) and the waiters will recommend the evening specials to you (fabulous fish).
The food is wonderful. A decent buffet breakfast selection: not the usual cornetto and coffee, but fresh fruits, fruit juices, eggs, bread, meats and a selection of cornettos and coffee. The dinners are even better: four courses - antipasta, first and second course and desert. The food: veg, fish and meat is all fresh and really well prepared. All this for Euro13 per person, less than half what one would pay in a restaurant for just two courses. And I emphasise that the quality is excellent. Consequently we ate at the hotel every night we stayed there as did most of the other guests, even though it's a short walk into the village of Aci Trezza where there are a number of restaurants.
The rooms are large and clean and come with Sky TV, unlike every other place we stayed at.
The rooms at the front of the hotel have a view over Aci Trezza to the Cyclops Rocks.
The only drawback is the early morning road noise as the hotel is close to the SS114 and the early morning traffic can be quite loud. The view compensates though.
Best value by far in Sicily and a candidate for the best value ever.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor rooms 205 to 208 as they have good views out to the Cyclops Rocks. The moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just back after 7 lovely nights in this hotel - upon arrival the young man in
reception was very helpful with our bags.
The room 302 had all we needed, air con - a good powerful shower - sky tv
- a fridge - a Gideon New Testament and very comfortable beds. Also a very nice
terrace which led out to a lovely garden and views over the sea.
The Swimming pool was great and very relaxing with towels/sunbeds provided.
The staff were top notch. People like Maximo, Nino and Serena could not have
done enough for you and made you feel like part of the family.
The food in the Restaurant was of the highest standard, all sourced locally and
served with attention to every detail, and at 13 euro for the set meal, good value.
Breakfast was adequate with croissants, fruit, yogurt, etc.
We loved this place, a real panacea close to the lovely village of Aci Trezza (which has
plenty of Bars/restaurants and a nice promenade with a rocky shoreline) .It is near
the larger town of Acireale. Also convenient for Taormina and Catania.
The Hotel is up a steep hill just out of the village so not suitable for those
with mobility issues. Also. if you are visiting this region you must have a car to
do justice to this gorgeous part of Siclily.This will prove a challenge as the motorway
driving is fine but in and round the towns it is a nightmare so be well insured.

Room Tip: I contacted the Hotel directly after using the website booking.com - they replied straight away wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Wonderful hotel with warm and helpful staff. They treat you like family, very endearing. Very delicious food which is also a very good value if you opt for half-board (mezza pensione). Breakfast is good, too. Wonderful orange juice and Sicilian croissants!
We had a double room with sea view (205), it had a large balcony with table and chairs. Lovely view at part of the Cyclops' Bay!
Location of the hotel was very convenient for getting to Acireale, Catania and Taormina. We also found it easy to visit Siracusa and Noto from there. Again, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would like to thank all the staff for making it so special!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We really enjoy our stays in Lachea Hotel. I've been there 3 times and never got disappointed. Although this is a 3 star rated hotel it has comfortable rooms including large double beds and up to 2 single beds when requested. A statellite reception TV and refrigerator are also included. A nice clean swimming pool is also situated underneath the breakfast erea. The easy access to the lovely village of Acitrezza makes the place even more advantegous.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lachea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lachea

Address: Via Dusmet 4, 95021 Aci Castello, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Aci Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Aci Castello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lachea 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Lachea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lachea Province Of Catania, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lachea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.