We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places I've stayed in!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Valle de' Medici

Save Saved
You added La Valle de' Medici to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Valle de' Medici
Via di Sangavino, 57/a, 50030 Barberino Di Mugello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best places I've stayed in!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful villa split into self catering apartments. The decor is lovely and the gardens are really beautiful. Such a lot of care and attention obviously goes into the running of this place.

When we arrived we were greeted by Silvio, so friendly, who gave us a bottle of Chianti and a basket of home grown tomatoes.

This place works for those with kids and those without. A pool, a stack of toys, ping pong table, slide, swings and little wooden football posts... all there to be used when you want. A BBQ area to use and great space around the pool to read and relax.

We came here with our two year old but could easily imagine us here in the days before he came along.

What else to say? Within striking distance of Florence and surrounded by the Tuscan hills. We loved it!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Opposite from a 11th century church (that is unfortunately closed), La Valle De Medici is a secluded place to relax for a large group of friends or families as it has self-catering apartments. Large garden with a swimming pool, barbecue area and a small children's corner. In one word, very good for a getaway in Tuscan hills. Florence is a 40 minute drive. A couple of excellent restaurants are a 10 minute drive away.
Downside: no wi-fi, no dishwasher which is important when on holiday in a self-catering apartment, remote (if travelling with a baby).
All in all, you won't make a mistake if you choose this place for your holiday with friends or family (the more, the better :))

Room Tip: Apartment Caterina de Medici has three balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice location for the annual appointment with friends of the association ;) - a very nice place to stay together, have fun, relax, shopping (Barberino Outlet is very close). Great pool, ping pong area, nice pond, volley etc… a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I would go back anytime felt the real culture of Tuscany lovely people looking after us too! I would recommend to go and stay there . Our apartment was small to medium sized but equipped e enough for self catering if required . Local food amazing

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you want the peace and confort of your own apartment but counting on excellent support by the owners for anything you need with pool, barbecue,garden, mountan bikes etc (the guy even prepares the fire for your barbecue if you want!) local natural fruits and tomatoes, a few minutes from florence and bologna this is the place. I like more the apartments on the first floor but they are all very good.Only one negative point for tourist from abroad: no internet connection. I will defenetely go back.

Room Tip: a small preference for ropms 1st floor . But I is more personal bias than objective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is a lovely location and the family who own it are very friendly. The Pizza night which they held for all the guests can only be described as fantastic. The pool is also great.

Games are available such as table tennis, football table, football, badminton, etc. Unfortunately, there never seemed to be any table tennis balls, the football table, is falling apart, there were only 3 badminton rackets and the home made goal posts were falling apart. I take 1 star off for this.

Make sure you don't pay the full balance for your apartment until asked an make sure you get a receipt. We paid as soon as we arrived and were asked again for the money when we were leaving and also again since we arrived home. We didn't get a receipt and have no way to prove that we paid in full. For this, I take off 1 star.

In summary, La Valle de Medici has the potential for 5 stars, but is not quite there for me. That said, I know other people who have stayed here and they would rate it one of the best holidays they have had.

Room Tip: Apartment No. 3 has three balconies, one at the front, one at the side and one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilgiana, Proprietario at La Valle de' Medici, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Sir,
I take the opportunity given me by TripAdvisor to reply you.

First, we all want to apologize to you and your family for the inconvenience.
Actually we made a mistake and we are mortified.

In the period of your holiday there were many customers, and I was on sick leave so there was none of my family (the property is a family ) who spoke English and the confusion has been made ​​a mistake and mistaken identity;
Here is the reason for your registration fee, I state that has been done correctly and on arrival.

I repeat that we are truly sorry for the inconvenience, and we guarantee our highest good faith, as your perfect behavior.

As for games, ping pong balls that were available to be delivered because we were constantly lost and so we managed to have them always some available.

The other games are a little used and we will provide sight of your message and replace for next season!

It had never happened such a problem and demonstration of our steering wheel to ensure our guests maximum satisfaction, as our motto says "to be on holiday but feel at home" we try to apologize to you, offering the possibility of having even our guests, giving you a GRATIS HOLIDAY for a week if you want to come back!

Sincerely,
MARCO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, West Sussex.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I could have gone to several places to celebrate my 50th birthday but decided to take our 10 friends, plus my family of 4, to revisit Marco & his family in Tuscany.
We has stayed the year before & enjoyed ourselves so much, we couldn't wait to show our friends.
We were not disappointed. I will remember my 50th birthday as a night to remember thanks to my friends & a fantastic Italian Family.
Hope to return soon & share a glass of Rose.

Paul Stonebridge & Family.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Valle de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valle de' Medici

Address: Via di Sangavino, 57/a, 50030 Barberino Di Mugello, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Di Mugello
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty lodging in Barberino Di Mugello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where you’ll be left speechless, bathed in the Tuscany halls colors and perfumes.You will relax in the beautiful swimming-pool, read a book in the shadow of a tree or walk through the fields; you may choose to ride or to cycle on mountain bike or enjoy yourself in the near Bilancino’s lake and its water sports, or play golf in the neighbourhood.If you love speed closer you will find the Mugello International race-course, with its many events.If you are looking instead for a culture holiday you will visit the famous cities of art, Florence, Siena, Pisa, and Bologna too.If you love shopping closer you will find the new Designer Outlet Shopping Center of Barberino, famous for its haute couture shops.During the hot summer evenings you will have the opportunity to taste local food and grilled bistecca outdoor; bathed on silence charm and under a starry sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Valle de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valle De' Medici Tuscany, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Valle de' Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.