We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Le Maschere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Le Maschere to your Saves list
Villa Le Maschere
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Via Nazionale 75, 50031 Barberino Di Mugello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“One of a kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having spent 30 plus years traveling the world my wife and I can say that this hotel is without question deserving of its five stars and all around excellent. We have stayed in every type and price of hotel in virtually every European, Asian, American, country. This time we were on a six week jaunt through Europe which included northern Italy with no pre bookings. We found this place and wow, everything they do is just so right. The morning of our arrival we booked a junior suite and on arrival they upgraded us to a delux, the room is very spacious and kitted out with everything one would need to the extent that you could arrive with nothing except the clothes on your back and be very comfortable. The whole pool area is beautiful with two pools, a spa/hot tub with every type of jet you could imagine, sauna, steam room (all complimentary) and a full range of pay for spa services. In a few previous posts I noticed that people spoke of the food cost, the food is not cheap but when you are staying in a magnificently restored national monument, with the level of service provided, I would not expect it to be. If you want the total experience it is worth it, if all you want is food then perhaps not. By the way I also noticed that somebody mentioned the restaurant across the road, we also went there for lunch which was also very good but at euro 75 for two that is not cheap. A beautiful array of continental style food is available for breakfast included in room price. I would agree with the managers comment that compared to similar properties they are not expensive. Never left the property since arriving except fora walk and lunch, I think that sums it up. Just one very minor comment, the walking trails on the property need some care.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dadada1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
I’m very happy to read a such beautiful comment. I’m glad to learn that your hotel experience in Villa Le Maschere is exclusive. You have kept the sense of an unique place in the world. Our staff is trained to ensure the highest customer satisfaction.
I hope to host you again soon.
Best regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    87
    23
    15
    4
See reviews for
39
221
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sint-Martens-Latem
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Villa Le Maschere and enjoyed the peace and beautiful surroundings. The swimming pool in particular offers warm water that does not irritate your eyes. The rich breakfast at the terrace outside with views over the valley was also very enjoyable.

We however have to mention one negative point: food prices are too high for the quality that is offered, which applies for both the dinner possibilities (which is good but not special) as for the pool bar service (example pool bar prices: ice cream 12€, beer 7€, sandwich 12€, Cola 5€, Mojito 15€, ...). People visiting this hotel can afford it, but it does not feel right.

Bring walking shoes if you are interested in a short hike in the bushy and beautiful domain (paths are not well maintained).

Room Tip: You'll enjoy the superb views over the valley choosing a room in the middle of main building fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dadada1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment.

I’m happy to read that you have appreciated our offer on the swimming pool and the rich buffet breakfast served in a setting of rare beauty outdoor.

Villa le Maschere is located in the heart of Mugello valley that in particular during these period offer an exciting views.
Our terrace overlooking Bilancino lake and the swimming pool located in the park offer to our guest an unforgettable experience.

Our Chef is constantly looking for fresh and local product appreciated by our guest and our prices are also lower than the structures of same category.
You can enjoy an homemade ice cream on the swimming pool or have a drink while relaxing in an exclusive historical garden

Our high quality of services and the uniqueness of charm of our property as also to be point out as a guarantee of a unique experience.

Regards

Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We joined the Hotel "Le Maschere" for approx. a whole week. According Peters message we used the Minibus as well. My advise would be: Pls discover the other (south) side of river Arno as well. This is the must beside the several tourism spots like the Dome and other highlights. The room we got was comfortable, big and got an gorgeous view all over the Mugello landscape. Wellness and Spa was proper, clean. Staff more than kind. Well informed and helpful. Reception desk: all polite, kind and helpful. We also joined the IMM at the Mugello Racing Circuit. We also headed down south by our classic Mini-Cooper. It was an awesome ride..... We met Paddy Hopkirk, but missed the Mille Migilia . This time we joined a MINI Pisa-Tour which was great, too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed for a week at Villa Le Maschere in Mid May and were thrilled from the moment we arrived on our first day. It goes without saying that the outside of the building is stunning and is even more impressive than the photos show. The inside of the hotel has also been generously and tastefully renovated.

We loved the spa and outdoor pool with beautiful views and only wished we had spent more time there! We spent most evenings in the bar where we met many fantastic and welcoming staff who made our stay all the more special. We can highly recommend Lorenzo who was our regular barman who could make a mean cocktail but also made us feel so welcome and only added to our holiday experience. Not only does this hotel provide a wonderful stay with all the luxuries you could want but the staff consistently made every effort to make our holiday a memorable time. We hope to return again very soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

we visited this hotel with our classic mini cooper s as we wre attending the international mini meeting 2013 at the circuit in Mugello. the hotel room was wonderful with perfect beds, cushions and bathroom, all perfect. the food at breakfast was wonderful and the restaurant good but pricey for what it was. the outside pools numbered two were inviting but the weather sadly not. the spa centre was excellent to chill in and the massage on offer good but not perfect. the staff were excellent and the hotel offers if pre booked a free minibus service to Florence a journey of 45 minutes each way which is comfortable and of course a great financial saving. we were also surrounded by the Jaguar team who had brought with them 30 Jaguar F types so as to accompany the Mille Miglia for ten minutes when it went past the hotel. In fact many drivers stopped at the hotel for a cup of tea and the Jaguar people had arranged via the hotel an excellent wine tasting at the hotel to which we were invited. Book and avoid disappointment as it is a great hotel

Room Tip: eat also at le Maschere which is a great restaurant two minutes walk from the hotel with a great win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a weeks stay and had another fabulous time. The staff were extremely helpful in assisting us with ideas for places to see and explore. We had two lovely meals in the restaurant during our stay. The bar and restaurant staff are really friendly and efficient.
The hotel and spa were spotlessly clean and the gardens looked fantastic.
We will be back for another visit and look forward to it.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This resort is a fabulous looking one and offers a lot. However, the food was not exceptional and the service not always what you would expect in this category. It's all good but locations like this one makes one quite demanding.
I had a great and spacious room which was cleaned very well and basically it was very very good. However, some things could have been just a little better and more personal but I would certainly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dadada1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for taking the time to posting your comment. We are happy to read that you recommend our property.

We have noted that you have appreciated the cleanness of your spacious room however we are very sorry to read that we have not completely satisfied with our service and restaurant.
Our chef propose a traditional Mediterranean cuisine with Tuscany touches and I can guarantee that most of our guest are very satisfied.
We hope to welcome you once again very soon.

Regards

Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Di Mugello
15.8 mi away
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#9 of 463 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
2.7 mi away
Inn Hotel
Inn Hotel
#2 of 6 in Barberino Di Mugello
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
10.4 mi away
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
#2 of 5 in Scarperia e San Piero
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
16.6 mi away
Villa Olmi Firenze - MGallery Collection
14.3 mi away
Il Salviatino
Il Salviatino
#31 of 463 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Maschere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Maschere

Address: Via Nazionale 75, 50031 Barberino Di Mugello, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Di Mugello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Barberino Di Mugello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Le Maschere 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A revival of tradition with a contemporary twist and refined settings where perfect harmony exists between history,art and design.architectural features, interiors and exteriors restored to their former splendor, are witness to the evolution of tradition and development of style and techniques that all go to make up the history of villa le maschere. Splendid frescoes and ornamental stuccos that are true works of art, render every room unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, Escapio and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Le Maschere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Maschere Hotel Barberino Di Mugello
Hotel Le Maschere
Resort Le Maschere
Villa Le Maschere Tuscany, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Le Maschere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.