We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Le Maschere

Save Saved
You added Villa Le Maschere to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Le Maschere
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Via Nazionale 75, 50031 Barberino Di Mugello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Useless to write long rewies when a place is amazing and Villa Le Maschere is one of a kind! Absolutelly stylish, the mirrors room will leave you breathless. Just experience and you'll see! I can't comment only the restaurant as we only had breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    64
    18
    12
    4
See reviews for
34
173
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed here for 3 nights on the way back from Cyprus. initially we thought we were the only residents and it seemed a bit empty, but staff were welcoming and friendly. We were upgraded to a junior suite, stylish and modern in the setting of the historic villa. Close to Florence for a day out, but in beautiful surroundings. We asked for loungers in the garden, and the staff were helpful and put some by the pool for us. We didn't use the spa, but it looks great. Excellent breakfast buffet. Didn't try the restaurant, as the menu didn't grab the imagination. all in all, recommended

Room Tip: ask for the upgrade ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I traveled to Villa Le Maschere with a friend for Easter. The hotel is in Barberino di Mugello, which is not such an exciting place to be, unless you want to go to the outlet which is a 3 minute drive from the hotel. Honestly though, if you are planning a relaxing weekend or a couple of days of break this is the best place to do so. The SPA is simply delightful (there is a mini indoor pool and a nice outdoor pool). Unfortunately it was raining while we were there but we had an amazing time anyway. The rooms are amazing, we had a room in the modern part of the building, the bathroom was incredibly spacious and the shower was huge.
We only at in the hotel once since it seemed pretty empty and somewhat sad, but the morning breakfast made up for this (it was INCREDIBLE). If you are planning on going for morning runs you have the entire garden area and you can even wonder off into the tuscan hills.
Now for the slightly upsetting part, the staff is not as incredibly nice as they should be. We arrived at 4pm and had to wait an hour before going up to the room since it was being cleaned (seemed strange since the hotel is enormous and we saw about 15 people during the entire weekend). Also the friendliness when we asked for places to eat around the area was sort of missing.
But, even though nothing is perfect, Villa Le Maschere comes very close to perfection.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer rooms (very modern, bright and clean)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dadada1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you for the posting. I read carefully each guest’s experience in Villa le Maschere.
We do appreciated your amazing comment on our property, room, Wellness Center, breakfast and about the park of 18 hectares runs down to the Bilancino Lake that contains many rare and notable trees!
I’ do apologize for a not very good feeling by our concierge service. Our goal is to make an highly professional staff for the environment in which it operated and your comment helps us to achieve the goal.
We have 65 different rooms and we wish to allocated, when it is possible, the best room available as was done with you. I apologize for the waiting time.
Do not hesitate to contact me to plan your next stay in Mugello!
Best regards

Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangok
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Car launch centered on Florence overnighted at Villa Le Maschere, which has a curious edifice reminiscent of a decorated barn. Extremely poor Internet connection meant unable to upload to YouTube and each email took several minute to process. Oddball room had a rickety desk and a big chair but no legroom underneath, so forced to use an armchair and coffee table to work. Drinks on the terrace was understaffed. The meal (stuffed Guinea fowl) was okay, but nothing special. Breakfast was served in some rooms in the labyrinthine rabbit warren of basement that proved difficult to find and required the skills of a pot-holer to emerge from. On this occasion the place promised more than it actually delivered.

Room Tip: I didn't get one so I don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dadada1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for the comment on your stay.
Villa Le Maschere has been built in the second half of the sixteenth century. 65 bedrooms and suites all varied in their decoration, fabrics and furnishings. It is one of the most beautiful late Renaissance country homes in Tuscany.
Villa le Maschere after the restoration remain the original structure and it is compressible that is not so easy to move around but in the same time there are a lot of indication to help our guests.
We serve breakfast in the restaurant “Cancello di Ghireto” the motifs of Cancello di Ghireto Restaurant are the green of the fabric, the prints and the floral designs in the great lamps, which re-evoke the romantic park surrounding the Villa. We use the outside terrace when the weather is good. Thank you for the positive comment on the meal at dinner.
Our internet connection is a professional ADSL, 7 mbps/512 kbps.
I hope that you will be back very soon with your family in Villa le Maschere.
Best regards

Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benn77
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here as part of a week long trip in Italy and thought it would be the highlight of our stay. Unfortunately this was not the case!

Straight away I thought the hotel felt cold and pretentious and was trying to be something it is not. The standard rooms are terrible for the money. Our room was small, had no view and there weren't even basic extras such as complimentary water or a turn down service.

Service was incredibly poor for a supposed 5 star hotel. As per an earlier review we were ignored at breakfast and had to get up and ask for drinks etc. On checkout no one even asked if we had a good stay, which frankly we did not.

In summary this hotel needs to get new management and staff and lower prices, as at the minute it is truly awful value for money. Hopefully it could then be worthy of the beautiful building it occupies.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dadada1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for the posting. The guest’s comment help us to improve our service.

I do apologize for the bad experience that you have had in our resort but I am sure that these is only an isolate case. During the summer as in the winter when we have low occupancy our service remain unchanged.

I’d rather to have more information about your stay in order to understand better what has happened so please contact me directly I’m sure that we will be able to satisfy your future expectative.

Looking forward to hearing from you I remain my best regards
Danilo D'Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 8 nights and had an uograde to a Junior Suite. This is a first class hotel and the attention of the staff could not be faulted. Breakfast buffet is varied and plentiful. The quality and presentation of dinner was excellent - although the menu is extensive, we would have liked to see some changes in the menu over a period of 8 days.Dining on the terrace on a warm Tuscany evening is magic! The courtesy shuttle to Florence is a bonus. A rental car would be advantageous rather than the very pricey taxis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at Villa Le Maschere. I booked a Junior Suite which was in chini pavilion The Chini Pavilion is a small building and once was the gardener's house and the carriages. Now it has been restored and is a small residence. This is a reserved, quiet and beautiful. The windows open on to the italian garden.
There is also two swimming pool.
The hotel is in a central location. It is located 35 km from Florence. So I think it is suitable for those who want to relax in a central area and a little away from the bustle of big cities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Le Maschere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Maschere

Address: Via Nazionale 75, 50031 Barberino Di Mugello, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Di Mugello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Barberino Di Mugello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Le Maschere 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A revival of tradition with a contemporary twist and refined settings where perfect harmony exists between history,art and design.architectural features, interiors and exteriors restored to their former splendor, are witness to the evolution of tradition and development of style and techniques that all go to make up the history of villa le maschere. Splendid frescoes and ornamental stuccos that are true works of art, render every room unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Escapio, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Villa Le Maschere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Maschere Hotel Barberino Di Mugello
Hotel Le Maschere
Resort Le Maschere
Villa Le Maschere Tuscany, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Le Maschere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.