We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sailing to Two Harbors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Harbors

Two Harbors
West End, Catalina Island, CA 90704
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Village of Two Harbors, located on the west end of Catalina Island where Catalina Harbor and Isthmus Cove are separated by just 1/4 mile. A favorite destination for boaters from the mainland, with 720 moorings, pier and shore boat service. The village offers two restaurants, two bars, general store, marine repair, PADI certified SCUBA, snorkeling, kayak and Mt. bike rentals. There is also a large campground and a lodge.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Sailing to Two Harbors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Two Harbors is a great place for a weekend trip. Its mostly undeveloped, but there is are a couple places to eat and a bar with a DJ and dancing that attracts everyone on Friday and Saturday. You can camp, but why not just charter and boat with some friends and sleep aboard. You can fill you days with swimming, snorkeling, and hiking.

Visited August 2012
4 Thank Brad_________DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Topanga, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of My Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Every year I come to Two Harbors with a group of my closest friends and it is hands down my favorite memory. You feel as though you're in the Mediterranean with the perfect amount of laid back and non-business without leaving behind the comfort of civilization. Much better than the crowded and over rated Avalon. Could easily stay my entire summer here.

Visited August 2011
3 Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Didn't stay long, but what we saw was nice! Good food at the "snack shop."

Visited June 2012
1 Thank SummerLove62012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Banning House at Two Harbors Catalina Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

When I go for a fun trip of scuba diving from the Los Angeles Area this is where I stay.
It has cool surroundings with a glob of old western History thrown in
the main lodge takes you back in time and allows great views of windward and lee sides of Catalina
The diving and snorkeling is excellent on this side of the island
you do need to plan ahead because there are not a lot of services on the west end of the island
one resturaunt one dive shop and irregular ferry service

10 Thank hollywoodivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great ocean view at a clean camp site”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Just spent the weekend at Two-Harbors for a kayaking / camping trip around Catalina Island. Stayed at the Two-Harbors where you make your own camp site with your tent. We stayed at location "O" at site #2. Site #2 is near the edge of the cliff that overlooks the Two-Harbor cove. Very awesome view. The camp site was clean with a fire pit, wooden bench, and wooden overhang. The area was flat, but the ground was extremely hard so be sure to have bed padding or use an inflatable mattress to make your overnight stay more comfortable. The portable johns were about 30 yards away, which was close enough for convenience and far enough to avoid any stench. Be prepared for a small hike to the showers, which is about 1/2 mile or more away. Showers cost 50-cents for 90-seconds, so be quick. Camp management was helpful. They transport your gear from the dock to the camp site. Based on its location and price, its worth staying.

Visited October 2011
6 Thank VacationFamilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Harbors also viewed


Been to Two Harbors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing