We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sailing to Two Harbors” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Harbors

Two Harbors
West End, P.O. Box 2530, Catalina Island, CA 90704
310-510-4205
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Village of Two Harbors, located on the west end of Catalina Island where Catalina Harbor and Isthmus Cove are separated by just 1/4 mile. A favorite destination for boaters from the mainland, with 720 moorings, pier and shore boat service. The village offers two restaurants, two bars, general store, marine repair, PADI certified SCUBA, snorkeling, kayak and Mt. bike rentals. There is also a large campground and a lodge.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sailing to Two Harbors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Two Harbors is a great place for a weekend trip. Its mostly undeveloped, but there is are a couple places to eat and a bar with a DJ and dancing that attracts everyone on Friday and Saturday. You can camp, but why not just charter and boat with some friends and sleep aboard. You can fill you days with swimming, snorkeling, and hiking.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    4
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Topanga, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of My Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Every year I come to Two Harbors with a group of my closest friends and it is hands down my favorite memory. You feel as though you're in the Mediterranean with the perfect amount of laid back and non-business without leaving behind the comfort of civilization. Much better than the crowded and over rated Avalon. Could easily stay my entire summer here.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Didn't stay long, but what we saw was nice! Good food at the "snack shop."

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Banning House at Two Harbors Catalina Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 via mobile

When I go for a fun trip of scuba diving from the Los Angeles Area this is where I stay.
It has cool surroundings with a glob of old western History thrown in
the main lodge takes you back in time and allows great views of windward and lee sides of Catalina
The diving and snorkeling is excellent on this side of the island
you do need to plan ahead because there are not a lot of services on the west end of the island
one resturaunt one dive shop and irregular ferry service

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great ocean view at a clean camp site”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Just spent the weekend at Two-Harbors for a kayaking / camping trip around Catalina Island. Stayed at the Two-Harbors where you make your own camp site with your tent. We stayed at location "O" at site #2. Site #2 is near the edge of the cliff that overlooks the Two-Harbor cove. Very awesome view. The camp site was clean with a fire pit, wooden bench, and wooden overhang. The area was flat, but the ground was extremely hard so be sure to have bed padding or use an inflatable mattress to make your overnight stay more comfortable. The portable johns were about 30 yards away, which was close enough for convenience and far enough to avoid any stench. Be prepared for a small hike to the showers, which is about 1/2 mile or more away. Showers cost 50-cents for 90-seconds, so be quick. Camp management was helpful. They transport your gear from the dock to the camp site. Based on its location and price, its worth staying.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Harbors also viewed

Catalina Island, CA
Avalon, Catalina Island
 

Been to Two Harbors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Harbors, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.