We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can you improve on perfection?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miramar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Miramar to your Saves list
Hotel Miramar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Anglada Camarasa, 39, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
pembrokeshire.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“How can you improve on perfection?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Been home just two weeks now,after our 5th stay at the fabulous Miramar hotel, I can honestly say this hotel for my wife and I is the best hotel we have ever stayed in, you know when you find something that you will never forget or miss so much you want more, well the miramar hotel is just that, I am still amazed at the 3 stars it has been awarded, to it's unjust , this hotel compared to some of the 5 star hotels I have stayed in, beats them all hands down. The staff cannot be more helpful ,friendly and attend to your every need, , the food is absolutely fantastic, weather you go off the alacart menu or the set menu, I cannot fault the rooms, we have had the pleasure of every type of room the hotel offers, sea view, court yard and even the facing the back street , all the rooms are as well tended to whatever room you are allocated, all are immaculately clean, the maids are so thorough , the attention to detail is 100% superb. If there is one fault for us , is that we just cannot get there often enough, we feel so welcomed by all when we get there, it's just something we have never had in any other hotel we have ever stayed in. The private beach and new sea lounge is amazing , the cleaning staff are there first thing in the evening after everyone has finished sunbathing, it is then swept, polished cleaned and turned into the most superb beach bar by the sea you could ever dream of. It then all starts again very early in the morning , it's swept cleaned the plants are tended to, the sun beds are laid out regimental , for the hotel guests to enjoy, even while your lying there on your subbed soaking up the med sun , the staff are there to serve you, honest to goodness , the hotel is perfect, absolutely perfect. I have to give you our ages my wife and I are both in our 50s now, and hopefully we we be there up until we can no longer mange it. All that's left to say is if you have never experienced the miramar hotel , then you should.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect, the beds could possibly be with being a little softer other than that, we hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    75
    19
    4
    0
See reviews for
53
280
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We have just returned from The Miramar and are delighted with our experience. Whilst the rooms might not be the largest or particularly luxurious, they are clean and adequate for the purpose. The communal areas are spotless and the breakfasts good. The location, right on the sea front, with access to a small beach where the water was lovely and calm for swimming thanks to being situated in a fairly enclosed bay, was perfect.

The real appeal of the place, however, lies with the staff who, as many others have mentioned, will go out of their way to take care of you. The day of our departure we had to leave very early and were able to book an early breakfast at 6.00am (breakfast does not normally start until 8.00). Local information in the rooms was excellent including useful documents with the island's bus timetables etc not just the usual publications full of advertisements.

The real bonus for us was the free WIFI for a whole week that can be used throughout the entire hotel if you have a device. My husband, a freelance worker, obtained some work that he had to deal with in a hurry and although it was not the ideal way to spend some of his holiday, was able to at least sit on the balcony and get it done without having to hunt down an internet cafe or spend a fortune on paid access. A real life saver.

We didn't see any children in the hotel during our stay although I suspect that is because families with youngsters probably need an apartment. We did, however, see several disabled people in wheel chairs and less able older people and the hotel seems very well set up to deal with their requirements.

Puerto Pollensa is in a lovely part of Mallorca and we can't recommend it and The Miramar highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We have liked staying at the Miramar on previous occasions and booked again for this years' holiday. As before the hotel was spotlessly clean, had comfortable beds and good breakfasts, internet access was free which was useful. Our main reason for choosing The Miramar was for the shade on the sundeck, there is much less of this now as they have put tables and chairs under the shade for their drinks service. As a result it was a race in the morning to get a shady spot and some sunbeds were reserved very early indeed!
Our room this time was in the newer part of the building with a bigger and more private balcony so better than the rooms in the older part.
Hopefully the Miramar will make some improvements, for instance the safe has an old-fashioned key card with the room number printed on it - this has to be carried around and there is a fine if the card is lost, the safe is charged at 14€ which is a bit mean, many less expensive hotels now have safes free of charge which the guest can set with their own security code.
Another improvement could be the room fridge which is minute, yet charged out at 17€ a week, for what it is this should be free.
We have been travelling to Majorca for many years now and are finding better hotels than The Miramar, if we do stay there next year it will be for a much shorter visit.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms and balconies in the newer part
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Just arrived home after a fabulous two week stay at the Miramar with my wife.This being our first stay here.
We were welcomed by Mark who took our bags for us off the coach and showed us to our room. Never experienced this before on this type of holiday. A lovely little touch.
We had booked a room with sea view and were not disappointed. Amazing view across Pollenca bay and the marina.
All the staff were extremely pleasant, always very attentive and Immaculately turned out, even the cleaners who always, always acknowledged you with 'hola' or good morning.
Our room was kept spotless and our only cause for complaint, was that the fridge in our room was not working. Upon reporting this to reception, we returned to our room some three hours later to find it had been replaced. Excellent.
The rest of the hotel, bar, restaurant/breakfast room and reception area were also immaculate and very tastefully furnished.
Some reviews have said the breakfast lacks imagination.They should stay in some of the places i have in the past. Some were jokes, but the Miramar excels at giving a very good choice of continental breakfast, fruit,yoghurt,cereal,croissants etc as well as toast and fried breakfast ,with fried, scrambled or boiled eggs, 'real' fruit juice, not orange squash as I have experienced in some establishments. All in all an excellent start to the day!!
The sun lounge area was very good with waiter service for drinks etc. with easy access onto the beach
We ate in the restaurant on a couple of occasions and had the 19 Euro fixed menu. The food was beautiful,superbly presented and served by pleasant and immaculate staff. Excellent value.
We did, however venture to other restaurants on the sea front and the square behind. All were good, but can highly recommend Ca'n Torrens at the top of the square to the left of the church.Much cheaper and food equal to and much better in some cases to that of more expensive establishments,with friendly service.
All in all a very enjoyable stay, so much so we were sad to leave and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed at the Miramar for 5 days not long enough. Hotel was immaculate had room overlooking court yard requested sea view but was not disappointed with road and court yard view. Everything you needed was within walking distance e.g. buses to take you anywhere, beach across the road lovely pool area in the apartment block, and last but by no means least the food breakfast had everything you could wish for we ate
evening meal 3 times in the hotel and it was faultness.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel offers a traditional elegance with friendly, high class service.
Our room was on the small side, but scrupulously clean. The bed was slightly hard for my liking, but adequate.
Although breakfast was the usual buffet (with a very good selection), dinner was one of the highlights. Served by attentive, mannered staff, the food was extremely good. I wish I had realised how good it was earlier in my holiday - as I would have eaten there more often.
The location also couldn't be better as it is right on the sea front in this attractive port. The downside of the position is the noise of delivery lorries and bin men early in the morning, something unavoidable in any busy place.
Overall, a lovely hotel. I shall definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011 via mobile

From a near disastrous start (hotel had only allocated us one room, instead of the two paid for), and arriving at midnight the only availability were single rooms the size of broom cupboards, with no aircon.... They did redeem themselves. We were given a full refund for the cock up, and our second room was then 406, a much larger than average room with fabulous balcony and view. So, pluses and minuses:

This is largely a hotel filled by regulars, and over 50s. Nothing wrong with that. We had a young family and the pool (with shaded areas) was super, as was the phenomenal location and again sun loungers by beach under the shade.

Most of the staff (esp reception) are extremely helpful.

Breakfast is dull. Decent buffet but boring and unadventurous. No waffles, pancakes, decent danish pastries or the like. If you like scrambled or fried egg, bacon, toast or cereal you may be happy enough. It isn't bad, just lacks imagination. As a result we didn't eat any other meals here. But it is a mild critisism given the other positives.

I would return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miramar

Address: Paseo Anglada Camarasa, 39, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#1 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#1 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#2 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Miramar, one of the oldest on the island and the oldest hotel still running in Puerto Pollença. First class. Balconies over looking the sea, a cosy environment and calm surroundings which will help to make your holidays unforgettable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Pollenca
Hotel Miramar Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.