We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Capri

Restaurante Capri
Pine walk, Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
971866202
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We went here twice during our holiday. The first time we sat inside and the service was good and the food very good too, if a little pricey.

For these reasons we returned for a special meal on the last night of our holiday. The restaurant was busier but not full, and as the weather was warm we decided to sit outside. This was a mistake, it would seem as we were completely forgotten and left a good half hour before we even received our drinks and ordered food. We complained and the service got better, but unfortunately a "well done" fillet steak came to our table cremated. We had ordered well done on the basis that a medium to well on the previous visit had been bloody in the middle.

We complained and the owner came to see us and did agree that the steak was over cooked and offered it for free.

However when we then paid we were short changed by €10! Fortunately we realised before leaving!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    6
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Service. What service?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Echoing many of the points in previous negative reviews. Once tried, never repeated. I have walked past this place dozens of times and will do so in future. Lunchtime on the outdoor seating area next to the sea. We walked in, sat ourselves down and were ignored for 10 minutes. It wasn't busy, they just weren't paying attention. They even seemed surprised when we asked for service.
Food is average at best. Caesar salad isn't tough to prepare so why isn't it done correctly? What, no Parmesan? The chicken sandwich only just fulfilled the requirement. Blandest thing on the menu.
Despite the location and view, avoid, avoid, avoid.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Service with a smile Not!!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Having been in the resort for a few days everyone was so friendly. Until we came across the main silver haired guy at Capri, he was the most miserable person i ve ever met in customer services! You would think the weather and the fantastic view would of made him feel a bit happy, but no. I dont expect a lot but friendly service with a smile, really wouldnt go a miss.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“As friendly as a rattlesnake”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I can't believe how unwelcoming and unfriendly the grey-haired waiter was. On one visit my partner left a tip, despite the fact that we almost had to beg for service and this was greeted with no reaction whatsoever (20% tip given for 'service').

Thinking that it must have been an "off" day, we returned and the same miserable waiter had the same miserable expression and the same lack of courtesy and service.

Avoid this place like the plague - drink seawater instead. The guy's attitude stinks and can spoil an otherwise excellent afternoon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Just needs a view changes to be excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We ate here twice in our 5 day stay

What we liked

Value for money €18 for 3 courses including wine and water
Food Quality very god apart from Luke warm mains on one evening
View and ambience

What needs to improve

Service with a smile lacking ofte have to ask repeatedly for drinks etc on one occasion bot the of wine just dropped on table and waiter walked away

Didn't cater for children at all , they could only have half potion of adult and only if two of them wanted the same . We worked around this with a portion of chips and asking for an additional dessert again had to ask not offered

Capri just needs to listen to it customers as it has potential to be incredible.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Capri also viewed

 
Port de Pollenca, Majorca
Port de Pollenca, Majorca
 

Been to Restaurante Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Capri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.