We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the romance is never dead !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Romantic Hotel

Save Saved
You added Romantic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Romantic Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Londres s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 30 hotels in Port de Pollenca
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Where the romance is never dead !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a smaller 2 star property that caters for older clientele. It is perfectly located for the beach, which is across the road. It does not have a pool, but you don't need one as it is on the beach. We stayed half board. Meals were buffet style. There was always a choice and plenty of it. As always with buffets, all tastes have to be catered for, so some guests considered the food to be a little bland. Rooms were clean and comfortable but could probably be updated now. Staff were extremely helpful. Although there are a few restaurants and bars nearby, you are ten minute walk along the promenade from the main part of the town. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    90
    43
    17
    2
See reviews for
17
151
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

O.K. you get what you pay for so if you want a fridge, hairdryer, tv etc then better take your own. We didn't feel the need for either the fridge ( drinks kept in shade on balcony) and who the hell would need a tv there? The staff in this hotel are fantastic- really go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your stay. We , being night birds and lazy, went room only to avoid the early breakfast horrors. Early for us that is! Can't speak for the food but the bar snacks were lovely as were Raphael and Anna. Carmen and her friends who clean the rooms couldn't have done a better job- and were extremely forgiving of our occasional mishaps. "2 litres of water on bathroom floor? Nada!/ Mess? What mess?" . Same with all departments. Really don't know what you would have to do to annoy any of them. Made our holiday even better than we thought!

Room Tip: Rooms above the first floor have fab views! A/C very efficient and with a remote- good during the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We found this hotel quite comfortable for a 2 star hotel but were disappointed to find a lack of swimming pool/sunbed relaxation area which we had been led to believe was available on site. These facilities were available at a hotel nearby. The hotel is suitable for older clients and would not suit younger clientele. It was close to restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

August 2012 ,another hot , sunny week, and what a great place to stay to enjoy it ! Reception was very welcoming and we were given the key to a first floor room with a side sea view, the free air conditioning had been left on for us and was excellent and FREE all week , a godsend. Everyone was pleasent , always ready to help you with any problems you had. Breakfast was great , buffet style , tea , coffee, juices , cereals, meats , cheeses and a full english too ! Dinner was good , soup, and a good choice of dishes and some nice choices, we enjoyed all our meals throughout the week. The whole place was charming and we loved our stay, yes we are going back ! Location is the key to the Romantic , one of the finest beaches on the island 50 mtrs away and the lovely med there to welcome your hot tired feet ! Great sunbeds , you can spend a lovely day only 5 mins from the Romantic. The little snack bar next door sells great food and puts on some entertainment, nice atmosphere. It,s a 10 minute stroll along the promenade into the centre and it,s a lovely walk after dinner, if you fancy eating out go past the entrance to the harbour where there are some nice restaurants if you fancy a change. If you fancy a trip out ,the buses run all over the island from outside the hotel and are reasonable, reception will give you a timetable, Best trip ever NO FRILLS 100mtrs towards town will book you on thier Boat Tram and Train trip , a splendid 7 hour trip with fantastic veiws of the islands dramatic west coast , the guide jaun entertained us all day , brilliant !! Lots of people go back to the Romantic , we,ll see you there xx

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter, side sea views are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Having stayed at the Romantic Hotel for the past 10 years and always considered it to be lovely small 2 star establishment, guests and staff always friendly. The hotel now looks tired and needs an urgent refurb.
Many of the rooms are basic but clean, no complaints apart from the bathroom area. Lift area and corridors ether dirty or worn out.
Unfortunatly this year many guests, who like my wife and myself found a definite deteriation in the quality from previous stays.
The food was uninteresting, bland and often just warm. Chicken was on the menu 5 times a week served in various ways. When other cuts of meat were presented they were either tough or had little to no flavour. The salad bar was limited in choice and repetitive, processed cheese, spam and some sort of salami sausage to accompany your salad.
Tariffs are now imposed, not explained when booking online, for room type, front, side veiw with mountain or side with veiw of a wall of adjoining building. We had a view of a dead tree. When we complained we were told no other rooms available, although guests checking out and in daily.
The staff remain the same, excellent, but prices have risen some due to VAT rise implemented by the spanish goverment and inflation.
It is a lovely spot and the view beutifull if your lucky enough to get a room with a view.
It is a 2 star hotel, so perhaps i cannot grumble, but having visited every year for 10 years it has deteriated.
Only way to supplement your food intake was to eat out during the day and with the cost of drinks, soft and alchoholic, the overall cost was that of a 4-5 star all inclusive at a very nice location.
Be wary of the air conditioning, many guests developing coughs and colds, Usually point blamed at the aircraft but not on this occasion.
Will we be back for an eleventh year ? NO, I will miss the friendship between guests and staff. The management, who were no where to be seen throughout our stay, must realise that the hotel needs some money spent on it, and a Chef in the kitchen.
Reveiw seems negative, but i consider it to be honest.
Beware safe keys are 33 euros for 2 weeks with 3 euro returned, Put that in your budget.
Check with your Tour operator about room supplements, a few paid it at still did not get the room paid for, others did not pay and got a room that according to the hotel had a supplement on it.
Avoid standard side room with no supplement if you do not want a veiw of next door wall or balcony with clothes drying on it, or dead forty foot high tree.
I will miss that hotel, but will be back to a similar spot in another hotel not owned by the Cabat group.

Room Tip: Check your room type booked before travelling. Second and third floors a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spent a week at the Romantic Hotel in Aug 2012.Two star accommodation but no complaints at all.B&B breakfast was very good with enough variety for all tastes & accommodation was very clean & comfortable.Biggest plus is location,directly across the road from Puerto Pollensa's lovely beach.Guests allowed to use facilities of nearby Pollensa Park Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view or west facing has better aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just got back from staying at the Hotel Romantic . I booked this hotel after reading the reviews and I have to say that this Hotel is great, the location the staff. The rooms are cleaned everyday the food is good has something for everyone. I would definitely stay here again .
So if you looking for a small friendly hotel in a great location not hesitate book this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabothotels, Gerente at Romantic Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Customer
Many thanks for taking your time sharing your opinion regarding your stay in H.Romantic.
We are really proud to learn your stay met with your expectations and we are ready to welcoming you again in the future.
Best Regards.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Romantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Hotel

Address: Paseo de Londres s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 hotels in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Romantic Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Romantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantic Hotel Pollenca
Romantic Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.