We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned from Hotel Illa d'Or” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Illa d'Or to your Saves list
Hotel Illa d'Or
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just returned from Hotel Illa d'Or”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just returned from a week at the Illa d'Or. Having booked just 8 weeks ago I did not expect a great room. On arrival we were told that our room had just been decorated, lovely room but the smell of paint and asthma don't go together. Spoke to reception staff and EMILIO could not do enough for us and offered us three different rooms and very helpful throughout our stay.
The hotel is spotlessly clean and as a picky eater the food both at breakfast and evening meal was excellent.
The setting is the best in Porto Pollensa and the scenery is breathtaking. The hotel is very quiet and relaxing.
If booking try and get a room with balcony and either sea view or pool view. Sadly due to late booking I was on road side of hotel and woken by delivery vehicles early each day.
Would I go again, yes.

Room Tip: Book room with balcony and sea or pool view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlladorMallorca, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Mark A.,
Thank you for your opinion. We are happy that you enjoyed of our meal and the service was helpfull and kind. Thank you for your comment.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    147
    49
    25
    10
See reviews for
119
396
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here in May 2014 a very pleasant hotel in a beautiful part of Puerto Pollensa. Very clean hotel and very friendly staff. We were made to feel very welcome. We upgraded our room to include a sea view expecting a balcony but this hotel you will have to make sure you request a balcony as some rooms don't have one .Food was very nice and a good choice from a set menu which is changed every 3 days l would certainly return here .

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlladorMallorca, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Illa d'Or, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Terry E.
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Really good hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are very clean and outside area is beautiful.

Food menu has changed and should return to as previously ie varied daily rather than every 3 days

Have visited this hotel 4 years running now and it's great
Fantastic for a quiet relaxing no hassles holiday - we'll worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Loved having my morning coffees here with my son. We watched the sea planes land whilst enjoying a very lovely cortado made by the lovely staff. If you want to practice your spanish this is the place to do it. Thank you for making my horrible holiday a wonderful one. Thank god for small mercies like this place <3

Room Tip: Did not stay but had meals and hot drinks here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had a two days to fill before a week we had booked along at the Sis Pins, so came back after a few years, to stay here. Having booked a standard room, it was a real treat to be upgraded to a seaview with terrace. A clever move, as we had forgotten how lovely this hotel is! It was excellent in every way, a more mixed clientele age wise than it used to be and generally faultless
The indoor pool is small for 'real' swimmers, but I loved it as I could do ten lengths before breakfast and be very pleased with myself!.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

What a relief it was to walk through the doors and realise that at last, we were about to stay in a 4* Superior hotel graded, that was actually offering 4* Superior service. I will list some "room for Improvement" points further down - for the hotel's benefit. But by no means am I aiming to complain or deter people from staying here, as I think Illa D'or is a great hotel. You have access to a beautiful setting on the Port, which is away from the hustle and bustle of the main strip where families are dining. It feels a little more refined that the surrounding areas, which are vibrant.
We parked the car outside (there was a spot) and before we started our approach to the entrance a very pleasant member of staff came out of the hotel to where we were to help us bring our luggage inside. The welcome and the level of service at the reception was second to none. The Spanish staff are fluent in both English and German and nothing is too much trouble for them. You get the sense that each member of staff at the desk actually does care about their guests and the job they do. We were escorted to our room and further helped with our bags. I cannot fault the level of service we received on Check in and Check out at all. We had a gorgeous room, not to the kind of taste I'd put in my own home, but it was fresh, modern, clean and relaxing and refreshing with a sea and pool view, with Balcony.
There was a very pleasant atmosphere though-out the hotel, people staying were obviously enjoying themselves there as guests. The Hotel is celebrating it's 85th anniversary this year and it was interesting to read the book we found in our room, with old photographs, giving a history of the building.
The Breakfast buffet is just brilliant. They serve just about anything you could ask for and have Soya, Almond and coconut milk on offer for those who are vegan or lactose intolerant. My partner and I were very impressed indeed with the breakfast on offer. As this was a business trip, we would fill ourselves up in the mornings on a hearty and healthy breakfast, which would see us through to our ad hoc lunch breaks.
Wi Fi is good - a bit slow at times which for us (working) was a bit annoying, but it's good enough for checking emails etc.
The bed was extremely comfortable and MASSIVE. Really appreciated the fact that the bed is dressed with two separate lightweight duvets, so each person can curl up in their own par of the gargantuan bed if you want too, without fighting for sheets etc.
The staff were really helpful on check out, helping us to print off our new boarding passes (we had to change our flight).
Thank you Hotel Illa D'Or for a great stay! We loved our visit.
In the interests of letting the hotel know - some areas that could be improved:
- The foyer, dining area, entrance and the rooms (our superior one at least) have all recently been brought up to modern standard. The corridors on the other hand felt very tired and dated. A change of flooring to something lighter would simply make the whole place fit better with the nice room interiors.
- Some of the breakfast staff seemed a bit grumpy. Not all of them, in fact some of them were very friendly indeed. But it would be lovely if you didn't sense that maybe your stay was making them unhappy.
- White bathroom suites would be nice. We had a beige one which although blended with the stone tiling, did feel dated. The water pressure in the shower was wonderful though.
- The walls are very thin. We could hear the TV and people going to the toilet through the walls. The latter was a bit off-putting. Given that the majority of your guests are senior, we didn't experience any real noise pollution from Neighbouring rooms, but it might be something to think about - Sound Proofing.
- Mallorca can be a hot, humid place to be. It would be good if you offered a complementary bottle of water in the rooms, rather than guests having to use the mini bar - simply to drink some water in the night.

Room Tip: Some reviewers on here have complained about single rooms or standard rooms at the back of the build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Eleven days in this fabulous hotel. Our first stay, other guests it seemed had been returning for years, one couple for twenty. It has an old grandeur about it, even though it seems is constantly updated. Our room with a balcony overlooking the sea was very chic, classy, just like the brochure shows. Particularly interesting are the photos of the original lady who started it all. The young lady was being given a wedding present from her father, offered a car: she said she didn't want a car (although in the early part of the 1900s a car must have been an amazing offer for a wedding present). The bride opted for a plot of land.... Then built the hotel. There are some rocking chairs facing the sea and look as if they belong there. I sat in one wondering if Agatha Christie rocked in a similar one when she stayed. All in all, we shall return. Xxxx

Room Tip: Pay extra for a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#6 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Illa d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.