We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Illa d'Or to your Saves list
Hotel Illa d'Or
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxshott, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just back from a two week stay at our favourite hotel on the Island. Miguel and his staff were as usual professional and committed to excellence at this wonderfully positioned retreat in the North of the Island.
A room with a sea view will enhance your stay, food is excellent from breakfast to dinner, the latter served by waiters and waitresses with a smile. The hotel caters for all tastes from business trips to families and for me there is nothing better than a Gin and Tonic on the Terrace watching the sea gently lapping onto the shore and seeing the lights of nearby Port de Pollenca illuminate the area.
You will not be disappointed if you stay here and many return year after year. The place is spotless, many rooms have undergone a refurbishment programme and we can't wait to return with my daughter's family in May, when our Grand daughter will experience her first stay in the Port.
Steven & Bridget Williams

Room Tip: side sea view is worth the supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    147
    49
    25
    10
See reviews for
119
397
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CREWKERNE
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We came back for my 60th birthday had a great time as usual Mr Miguel Salom and all his staff
made our stay very special. The new refurbished rooms are lovely very clean contempory and
very relaxing. So all in all it was a perfect holiday

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed for four nights at this lovely hotel. The food was very good and the service from all the staff was excellent. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again. It is well situated and just a 15 minute stroll down to the middle of the town. Beautiful views from the hotel grounds. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2weeks ago at this lovely hotel. Perfect location at the end of the pine walk overlooking the bay. Booked a superior sea view room and upgraded to one with a balcony when we arrived. Reception staff couldn't have been more helpful. Bedroom had been beautifully refurbished and had views to die for. The food in the restaurant we found to be excellent, especially breakfast. We were there for the 85th anniversary Gala dinner, which was superb, very much enjoyed and appreciated. We cannot wait to return to what has become one of our favourite hotels

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel some four years ago and found it's location towards the end of the 'pine walk', level with the bay, to be ideal. The short walk into town along the shoreline takes about 15 minutes and is quite delightful.
All staff were friendly and attentive. In particular the guys on reception were very helpful in every enquiry. As with most hard spanish beds, the addition of a 'topper' is to be recommended and was supplied immediately on request.
It is indeed a 'Superior 'hotel to be recommended.

Room Tip: Ask to see other rooms if not delighted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife loves the Tramuntana mountains, many special Mallorcan restaurants and being spoilt.
The Illa d'Or has a wonderful location splendid views and very friendly helpful staff. We just happened to be there for the hotel's 85th birthday and it coincided with my wife's. The Gala dinner with accompanying wines was included for free with the half board tarif.
The choice and quality of the food is excellent, the local wines (Macie Batle Crianza) fairly priced .
We have visited several times over the past 25 years and will continue return.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a balcony ..it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our first ever visit to Mallorca and we picked one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. We paid a little extra for a sea view and how right was that! Views across the bay are stunning and the location of the hotel at the far end of the bay is very private and exclusive. Public rooms are well appointed and it's clear that many of the staff have been there for a long time and remember the regular visitors. The cuisine is absolutely first rate with many local delicacies on offer and not the all too often bland 'international' menu that so many hotels offer. A nice touch is the hotels own boat that is available for trips across the bay towards Cap de Formentor - this was a really great day and the perfect way to round off a really good week. Agatha Christie stayed here once and featured the hotel in one of her stories and I must say, it retains that Christie-like atmosphere, with drinks on the sun-drenched terrace an integral part of the experience.
We booked through Thomsons who provided a personal transfer to and from the hotel and a complimentary bottle of wine on our first night which was a nice touch. Other than that they left us alone which was perfect as far as we were concerned - we hired a car and did our own exploring.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view. I don't think it's absolutely necessary to have a balcony as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#6 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Illa d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.