We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Illa d'Or to your Saves list
Hotel Illa d'Or
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Illa d'Or is a lovely hotel in a quiet and peaceful location. The pool was never crowded and although small was adequate. The sea was within yards of the hotel and sunbeds were provided on the terrace, most people liked to lie here and some people were thoughtless leaving there towels on beds for several hours. There was a bar also on the front and the waiters were very friendly and cheerful. The cocktails can be highly recommended. The food was good and there was a good choice, although some sweets were decorated with a swirl of jam and a spoonful of coconut. The restaurant staff were also superb. I was disappointed with our room as the bed was hard but there are plans to redecorate early next year. We would certainly go back, as many people do.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony and a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    138
    47
    25
    11
See reviews for
118
370
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a fabulous two week stay at the Illa D'Or Hotel on a half board basis. We have been going for 7 years now and cannot praise it highly enough. The staff in the restaurant and outside in the bar are all very friendly and efficient and the management are also very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We always have a room with a balcony and sea view, which we think is worth the extra cost. The breakfast is buffet style and beautifully presented, which you can take outside if you wish. We thoroughly enjoy the evening meals, which are waiter service but there is also an a la carte restaurant on the terrace outside if you fancy a change, although there is an extra charge for this. The hotel itself is charming with a mixture of traditional and modern furnishings and is situated at the end of the pine walk with a fabulous view of the bay. The centre of Porto Pollenca is just a pleasant 15 minute stroll away along the Pine Walk. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and undoubtedly will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and adored every second. Normally we have a villa and over the years have always made our way to the Illa D'or for drinks and dinner! What a stunning view, fab-u-lous food and excellent service, so much so we are getting married next year and have found the perfect location!!!!!! Rooms to a very high standard and very cosy! We were on a half board basis and loved the fact that it wasn't 'buffet style' and had lovely meals including the beach front restaurant on one of the evenings! We are returning October to confirm details for our wedding - can't wait and thank you Illa D'or staff for everything!!!!!

Gillian & Jack

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Once again my family and I enjoyed a terrific week at the Hotel Illa D'or. We have been staying at the hotel for many years now and every year we have a lovely stay.

The staff from Reception and Bar to the maids are fantastic and we always feel looked after and cared for. The hotel is a wonderful building, with a proud history and this is reflected in its day to day running. The location is exquisite and unbeatable.

Each year we have a sea view room, which is so calm and tranquil, clean and safe, no request is ever too great.

A very lovely and special hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just had a great week in this excellent hotel on our first visit to Majorca. Great position on the sea front with a short walk to the town. Stylish and cool public rooms. Bedroom a bit small but very clean and small but good bathroom.Good breakfasts, except for the coffee, and evening meals in the hotel dining room. Deserts a bit of a let down. Good option of outdoor eating on the waterfront restaurant for breakfast and particularly a la carte in the evening. Terrace and waterside open air bars with great views and service. All staff throughout very efficient and deliver friendly and excellent service. Would go there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Fantastic position for a hotel. Been before and pleasantly surprised at the refurbishment and improved menus on La Terrasse - bit pricey though. Rooms still too small and dark but had a wonderful time. Think management should manage who uses the outside areas better. It would appear the apartments are using the very small beach area which is not on when residents can't get a sunned let alone a table at the outside bar!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012


Left July 29th after one week stay
A good hotel, the staff very friendly and polite. The location brilliant. We had room 325 an excellent view but two single beds joined together. Bath room good, water very hot, bath small. Room cleaned well.
The location is excellent, the view from the bar on sea front one of the best. Breakfast outside brilliant view outstanding.
Bar staff excellent. Food in a la carte was really good and I thought reasonable priced. Staff brilliant again.

Even better if;
Sort the food menu out, would not recommend half board. Breakfast ok, same cooked food every day, bacon well cooked and greasy, coffee awful. Evening meal in a dated area. Tables too close, draw back to a bygone days. Allocated own table all week, ok if got a good table.
Food was a real disappointment considering the price. No imagination, creativity or flair. You had to choose all three courses there and then and they served them at a break neck speed. Thought it was a new olympic event. The food had lots of heavy sauces. Vegetables boring and bland. Salads lacked imagination. Dessert left a lot to be desired. Cheese and biscuits was consisted of three or two tuck like buscuits and two slabs of cheese usually cold. Often the same cheese as for first course. One day served with celery. The celery was a joke, the end bits cut in 2mm thick strands measuring 2 or 3 cm long, a disgrace. The fruit dessert consisted of an orange sliced up and served with a sorbet, or even an orange with pieces of kiwi fruit sliced up The waiters were all brill. Nice touch of keeping wine not used for the following day.
If they improve the food this would be an outstanding hotel. Go bed and breakfast and eat out.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Illa d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.