We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in a superb location let down by inferior rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Illa d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Illa d'Or to your Saves list
Hotel Illa d'Or
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Manchester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Hotel in a superb location let down by inferior rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

This was our third stay at the Illa d'Or. In common with the majority of the other residents, we are English, and pensioners. If you are looking for a Hotel for young couples or families-read no further.
We stayed here again because of the Hotel's unequalled position at the end of the bay of Pollensa. The Pine Walk takes you via a fifteen minute walk to the port and a wide selection of bars and restaurants. The main building dates back to 1929, although the Hotel has been quite extensively extended and refurbished since. The terraces and public rooms are most attractive, and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant is not the most attractive feature of the place, and although the breakfast buffet is extremely good, dinner is less of a gourmet experience. We found that it was usually preferable to choose whatever was being freshly cooked on the griddle every evening-the pork kebabs being particularly good. Bizarrely, your dessert order is taken with the main order, somewhat reminiscent of stays at Blackpool boarding houses in the 1950's.
Where the overall experience falls well short of expectations though, is in the standard of the bedrooms. On this stay, as with previous visits, we heard other guests complaining at the reception desk about their rooms, and asking to be moved. The reception staff appear to be well aware of the problem, and will usually relocate without any problem. We also found it necessary to change our room, which was classified as "Superior sea view with balcony." It certainly had a most wonderful sea view, and a balcony which seemed to be bigger than the room itself. The room itself ,however, was a complete disaster, and in no way warranted the description "Superior." It was extremely small and cramped, with a minuscule wardrobe affording inadequate hanging space.Moreover, the hanging space available ran from front to back, and was too short to hang my wife's dresses. This was because the room safe was at floor level at the bottom of the wardrobe-not the easiest access for storing valuables. The bathroom was adequate, but also very small. The furniture in the room was of the Spanish dark wood variety, but not the solid, quality type. The drawers were far too small, didn't close properly, and the best that can be said about the bedroom furniture in general is that it would make a good bonfire. We booked this holiday as a ten day half board package, and at a cost of £2800 for two of us, the standard of accommodation should have been much, much better. Although we were moved to a slightly larger room, this could still never be described as "Superior." Do not be seduced by the photographs of the rooms on the Hotel website. Unless you pay for a suite (which is fabulous), your type of room will be very much a lottery.
The Illa d'Or's loyal clientelle will nevertheless return year after year because of its situation, its staff, and most of all, because of its familiarity. It is, after all, a very nice Hotel. It's just a pity about the bedrooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    138
    47
    25
    11
See reviews for
118
370
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Lovely building in a beautiful location. I am a Husband, Father and Farmer of 69 yrs my sons are 20 and 23 and i can still enjoy Jet Skiing with them( I'm lucky) but this Hotel was like walking into a care home with an average age of about 80 plus a few younger couples with children, one on the way and Granny.(charming though they where). We arrived at 23.30hrs on Sat expecting two superior rooms with balcony, this was not the case (no balcony) The fault of the travel agent Not the Hotel, however it was the attitude of the reception which was rude and unhelpfull. We also had to change one room which was very small and gloomy(this WAS the fault of the Hotel) Beware of the word SUPERIOR !! Breakfast was very good, Dinner was awful and we went out for three of the five nights ( Try the STAY by the marina Fantastic ) The sea was warmer than the Pool and the Heated pool was not very warm hence we only saw three people in the pool two of them where my sons! We would agree with other reviews they seem to be short staffed and working to a rather mean budget. We would go back to the area but take a large apartment and avoid the restrictions of hotel life and enjoy some of the fantastic local produce from the markets we visited. We hired a car and the Lady in charge was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

This is the fourth time we have stayed here and we love the evening meals- waiter service and beautifully presented. Staff did seem a little overstretched, though , when the restaurant was full. Our room was large ( had sofa and armchairs etc.) with a good balcony, although some of the rooms are a bit smaller they're still very comfortable. It's not, after all, an identikit chain hotel! And there are plenty of lounges and terraces to relax in. We will probably return .We'd rather share our holiday with Saga louts than lager louts.

Room Tip: middle rooms in hotel are smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Essex
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

The Illa D'Or is full of character and has the best location in Puerto Pollensa at the end of the bay which is great for catching the late afternoon/early evening sunshine. All the staff were really friendly and helpful and the facilities are very good (although I am not sure there would be enoughsunloungers for mid Summer)
The buffet breakfast was fine but unfortunately the evening meals were very much typical package holiday fare comprising flavourless main courses followed by mostly permuations of ice cream, plain fruit and mousse. The kitchen and chefs do not seem worthy of a four star hotel which is a pity as the hotel has so much going for it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Just back from a week at this lovely hotel. We had a beautiful room overlooking the sea and I have never stayed anywhere so quiet. Great to be at the end of the bay but within 15 minutes walk of the port and centre. The staff are very quick and efficient. It is true that it is full of Brits and most of them are over 70 - but it did mean there were no fights over the sunbeds and no raves at night and in creaking middle-age it suited me fine! We were half-board - along with most people I think - and there was plenty of choice at breakfast and in the evening though I have never had to sit at the same table every day before! We did escape on the last night and had a wonderful meal at the Stay restaurant out on the marina. Would definitely come here again for some more out of season peace and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

A realty excellent break right at the start of the season - so quiet and unspoilt. A great place to stay if you like relaxing and unhurried atmosphere. Good service and excellent food. A superior room with balcony and sea view essential, although room still on the small side.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Hotel is in a lovely quiet area of Porta Pollensa-15 mins walk along the Pine Walk to town. Beautiful views from the front of the hotel and lots of areas to either sit or lie by the sea or pool. The hotel is clean and bright. The staff friendly and efficient. We were half board and the food was excellent. Huge buffet each morning and great choice in the evening. Bed was rather hard! but the rooms were spacious and clean.
Definately British old worldy feel at times -cream teas in the afternoon and cliental were more mature but that added to the relaxed feel of the hotel. We would visit again out of season for a quiet break.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Illa d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Illa d'Or

Address: Paseo Colon 265, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Illa d'Or 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illa d’Or, founded in 1929, is a hotel which still maintains the authentic classical style from yonder. Situated in placid Puerto Pollença, where one can experience the sensation of beauty which has served as inspiration to a multitude of yesterday’s and todays’s artists and writers. At the Illa D’Or, the sky and the sea are a gentle carress, dusk is a symphony of colours and night, whilst on the terrace and contemplating the moon reflection in the sea, one realises that it is one of the most beautiful areas, not only in Mallorca, but possibly, in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Illa d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Illa D'Or Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain
Illa d Or Hotel
Illa Dor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Illa d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.