We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday with a toddler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Playa Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Playa Mar to your Saves list
Aparthotel Playa Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Manchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great holiday with a toddler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our first holiday of this kind with our 17 month old toddler. We'd booked 6 creche sessions which was great, the creche staff were fab. We went self catering cause we wanted the flexibility of eating where and what we wanted to. We did not save any money this way though, as the resturants are all quite pricey, esp now the exchange rate is so bad. We had food in the restaurant twice though, and it was ok but not great (you can pay €15 pp for dinner if you are SC). We also ate lunch at the pool bar a couple of times and it was also ok but not amazing (good fries though!). Prices for lunch at the pool bar is around €5-6. A bottle of house wine costs and a mere €4 and is pretty good (Berberana). No more than what you would pay in the shop! All inclusive guests had full access to fresh fruits all day, which is nice, as for example water melon costs a lot in the shop.
With regards to SC, the kitchen could have done with a few more utilities and equipment. Having an oven would have been nice, so would wine glasses and dishwasher liquid.
Air conditioning was pretty much non existent, but as we were there in May, sleeping with the balcony door open kept it cool enough at night. I would NOT have been able to sleep or be in the room if we were there mid summer!
The pools were amazing. A little cold at this time of year as they are not heated, but still great. Kids loved both the splash pool and the big pool, which has a really large, shallow area for them to play in.
The pine walk is just amazing and the beach is close to the hotel. Supermarket outside hotel (Spar) sell all the basics and then some, but at a price. Find the big Eroski in town and your money will go further. Taxi back from the big Eroski was only €6 so it is worth doing a big shop.
The rooms really do provide the minimum, so the more experienced SC guests brought the following with them: shampoo, conditioner, shower soap, sugar, tea, coffee, fairy liquid and towels. Hotel does not provide towels for neither beach or pool, and you are not allowed to take the hotel towels out of the room (although this is not enforced. I also took wine glasses from the bar to the room and they are fine with this.)
The evening entertainment was pretty good, although I wished they would have done at least one Flamenco performance in the 10 days we were there. Instead, we had Whitney Houston, Phil Collins etc... Not Spanish entertainment, which I thought was a little odd. It is very much a little English community in Spain type of thing. Even the restaurant was catering for the English palate, which I think is a little sad, seeing that I come to Spain to eat local food, listen to some different music and overall, get a feeling that I am experiencing a different culture from home.
Temperature in May was just beautiful, round the early to mid 20s mark. Perfect.

Room Tip: If you have children, stay away from building 2 and 3, too close to the stage. Also, get a room abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    404
    124
    36
    15
See reviews for
879
118
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed at this lovely aparthotel in September 2012. Beautiful location close to a number of bays and beaches.
The food was very good as we stayed half board . Staff were extremely friendly and the restaurant manager Tolo very professional and attentive.
So quiet as it is way up north away from all the hustle and bustle.
Will return soon.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor. For a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have never written a review before, but really felt I wanted to share how fantastic this hotel was. We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Playa Mar Aparthotel in Puerto Pollensa. It's a long time since we went on a package holiday, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel itself is absolutely perfect for anyone travelling with children. They have thought of pretty much everything with all mothercare equipent available (cots, highchairs etc). The pool area is very clean and totally geared up for kids. Our little boy (age 2) loved the park area and the evening entertainment. We were all inclusive and there was plenty of variety of food at every meal time. The staff were all so helpful and very friendly. The apartment was great as well, really helped having the kitchen with fridge etc. And everything was very clean. Just a two minute walk to the pine walk along the beach to the port which was beautiful as well. Can't wait to go back soon! If you are planning your first holiday away with small kids - this is the place to go - they will love it and it will make your holiday so much easier! The Spa was beautiful as well.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of block 2, really good position as it was quieter at night. I think the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel sept 2012 and it was absolutely fab! Great food excellent entertainment drinks were lovely loads on offer for an all incl!! Staff very nice and friendly, would absolutely recommend especially if travelling with kids as the entertainment team do loads with them they're really good

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We just arrived back yesterday after a weeks self catering, can not fault a single thing! Lovely hotel, bubbly given on arrival. Very clean spacious room, made up with cot and highchair.We had a great room, room 4314 (if you have Thomson brochure its on the main picture on the top floor third one along so overlooking pool and wonderful mountain views. The rooms were cleaned every day and clean towels which made a real difference after being out all day coming back to a clean room. Great pool, we travelled with 1 and 3 year old and they loved it. Nice pool bar with bar snacks and the bar in the entertainment was great with lovely staff also 4 euro a bottle of wine you cant go wrong and 7euro for a bottle of bubbly! Also sell beers and I am a cider girl so was pleassed to see Magners! Hotel staff all amazing, lovely receptionists to a graet Thomson Team. The kids clubs looked great our son only wanted to go once but it was free for 2 hours and our 1 year old went in the creche which was 11 euros for 2 hours. The creche was lovely and well equipped.The soft play was nice too and the park next to the entertainment was great, our 3 year old ran in and out and made lots of friends. Puerto Pollensa itself is beautiful and the start of the pine walk is within 5 mins and takes roughly 20 minutes with lovely sandy beaches which were really safe and our 1 year old just crawled in the sea. We had lovely meals, great Pizza in Little Italy whlst our 3 year old played on beach and 3 amazing meals in Dakota on the waterfront, also a lovely full english at the Pines for just under 4 euros. The beaches were fantastic and the mountain views are amazing especially when the planes are flying over. Anyone with young children I would say this is a brilliant hotel and we will definately return next year. Thanks Aparthotel Playa Mar!!!

Room Tip: Room 4313 pool view and mountains, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just returned (9th May) from this hotel. Excellent, simply excellent. We were self-catering so cannot comment on the food. However, in all other respects this hotel is very worthy of its four star rating. The hotel is very pretty, and is exceptionally clean. All staff are very friendly. We were in Block 4 and Wi-Fi worked in our room (free). The rooms as spacious and very well presented. Maid service every day, towels changed every day.

The hotel has the most amazing indoor pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and plunge pool - free to use. There are spa treatments that you can also pay for.

The hotel is located at the far end of Port de Pollenca and is only two minutes walk from the sea-front. It is about 30 minutes slow walk to the centre of town. However, that walk is along a beautiful promenade called "Pine Walk" and you hardly know you are walking that far. People with walking difficulties may struggle however. The promenade surface is quite uneven and people unsteady on their feet could struggle with it.

Centre of Port de Pollenca has not changed since we last came here in 2002. It is the resort we have been too. Very unspoilt, like you are going back in time to the 1950's. No loud music, just lots of good quality places to eat. We ate at Tex Mex restaurant which was good. Also ate at Tribeco - which was excellent. Also, one opposite Tribeco is good too.

Expect to pay average 20 euros per person for a starter/main and a drink. There are some cheaper and some much more expensive.

If you are self catering and have a car, there is Lidl on the main road about five minutes drive out of town. If you are walking, the best supermarket is just back off the sea front and is called Eroski. It is on same road as the Santander Bank and Barclays Bank.

So, all in all - Port de Pollenca is a lovely resort that would suit couples and families who want a quiet holiday resort with lots of choice of food. No nightclubs or rowdy bars.

And the Aparthotel Playa Mar - excellent - really first class

Room Tip: There are four main blocks. Two blocks get the sun in the morning, and the other two get the sun i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just returned from a week s/c at this Hotel and cannot fault it! I have a 7 and 4 year old and they didn't want to leave as they were having such a fantastic time! The Staff were all amazing especially the Entertainment Staff were brilliant and tried to include us all in the daily activites but not pushy at all. The rooms were clean and although we could have had more storage really do not have a complaint at all! We ate most nights in the town which is approx 20 mins walk along a beautiful Pine Walk adjacent to the beach, which could not have been more relaxing after a lovely meal. There is a nice selection of restaurants and they all seem to cater for children and the staff were all very polite and made a fuss of the children! In particulart the Joker Bistro and Don Carleone! We did eat a couple of nights at the Hotel and the Staff were very helpful and the selection was varied to cater for most tastes. The pools were brilliant and as you could expect from a TFR very child friendly with splash pools etc. All in all I would class myself as a critical person, however I would place this holiday as one of the best we have had and would fully recommend. There is a little shop adjacent to the Hotel which seems to sell everything and is reasonably priced, however there are other shops in the town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aparthotel Playa Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Playa Mar

Address: Carretera Formentor s/n, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#2 Spa Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#4 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Playa Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious complex in Puerto de Pollensa (Majorca) is surrounded by the natural beauty of Majorca’s Northern coast. The excellent facilities offer fun and sports activities for the most demanding families. Disconnect at Playa Mar and get ready for your best holiday ever! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aparthotel Playa Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Port De Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Pollenca
Aparthotel Playa Mar Hotel Pollenca
Playa Mar
Aparthotel Playa Mar Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Playa Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.