We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Torre Marabino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Torre Marabino to your Saves list
Relais Torre Marabino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C. Da Marabino SP 46 | Ispica, 97014 Ispica, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ispica
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A wonderful Sicilian holiday...made possible by a combination of amazing, friendly and professional staff especially Simona, Lorena, Elena, Luigi and Margarita; superb 'real' food and fab Marabino wines!; this is a magical home from home...everybody was so friendly and helpful. We loved it.

Ci torneremo!

Fergal & Catherine

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco P, Direttore at Relais Torre Marabino, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear FergalKeniry,
many thanks for your visit and for this title "Home from Home". We remember very well your stay, we are happy to have met you!!!
We wish you all the Best

Greetings from the Staff :-)
Simona Belluardo
Relais Torre Marabino****
Ristorante La Moresca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
83
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We've been 3 times now and have loved each trip. Great wine, exceptional food, wonderful friendly staff. The wine from the Marabino estate is well worth a try, and it's easy to arrange a visit to the vineyard if you fancy a wine tasting opportunity. The moscato is one of the best dessert wines I've tasted (and Sicily is one of the best places to taste it - also try the passito from pantelleria if you can).
It's also very easy to visit the local area if you have a car e.g. Modica, Noto, Syracusa and Ragusa are all within reach (plan for lunch since there are some fantastic options in each). We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco P, Direttore at Relais Torre Marabino, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Owen,
Thanks a lot for your review in this important community.
We hope to see you again in Sicily at Torre Marabino Relais****

Best Regards
Simona Belluardo
Relais Torre Marabino****
Ristorante La Moresca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, Northumberland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a week's stay at Torre Marabino. We had a fabulous time. This is a small family run Agriturismo hotel set on a working farm in the Sicilian countryside. You are immediately aware of the peace and tranquility of the site. It is a beautifully restored Saracen tower with large rooms with lofty ceilings. They are simply but comfortably furnished and we had a very well equipped shower room. We were in Don Pasquale with a double aspect looking over the countryside and the beautifully tended gardens. The swimming pool was lovely with sunbeds and sturdy parasols which withstood some fairly hefty breezes during our stay. The garden offered shady spots to read a book and there was a small children's play area. Our meals were served on shady terraces and were excellent. The breakfasts were a real delight with a mix of sweet and savoury pastries, cold meats and cheeses, fresh fruit, a range of juices and excellent coffee. This was all prepared freshly every morning by Elena who has the lightest baker's touch I have ever come across. I will never taste a better croissant or lemon cake. Dinner was a gastronomic delight. Lovely Sicilian food prepared using organic products from the farm where possible. Not a massive choice but this encouraged some adventurous choices such as oysters and a delicious carpaccio of beef. This is an ideal base to explore the SE corner of Sicily. The Towns of Modica, Scicli, Noto and Ragusa offer excellent examples of Sicilian Baroque towns. Also the quaint fishing towns of Marzamemi and Donnalucata are worth a visit. After a morning of exploration we loved to return to this peaceful haven to relax by the pool and look forward to dinner. Idyllic.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco P, Direttore at Relais Torre Marabino, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear KarenLesT,

thanks a lot for this "Perfect" review. It was a pleasure to meet you.
You have described everything in detail, thank you again.
we wish you all the best

Best Regards
Simona Belluardo
Relais Torre Marabino****
Ristorante La Moresca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our Superior room at the Relais Torre Marabino was “Moscato”, which was split over two levels. We went down three stone steps into the ground floor (kitchen and living room), then up a staircase to the first floor (bedroom and shower room), from which the ground floor could be seen over the interior balcony. This was a very clever conversion. The ceiling was curved, and whoever tiled the wall of the walk-in shower so beautifully must have been a genius. Our bed was comfortable, and we would recommend this characterful room to other visitors.
Our room was the nearest one to the pool, but the weather was cold and very windy, so we didn’t get the best out of it. The day we moved on was, of course, sunny and warm.
Breakfast, with much to choose from, was well presented and featured the breakfast chef’s own pastries. It was served outside on a sunny terrace under olive trees on our first morning, but came indoors when the weather deteriorated.
In the evening the offer of aperitifs at 7.30pm at 6 euros a head did not seem particularly good value, so we only did this once. It did get us chatting to other guests though and, by the time we left, we had talked loads with countless other visitors. All very friendly.
We ate dinner at the Relais each evening. We like to split a bottle of wine with our food, and didn’t fancy going out and taking our chances at night on the Sicilian roads. Each evening the menu offered different choices of starters (2), second courses (2), mains (2: usually one meat and one fish/veg) followed by whatever puddings were available. The cooking was good, but maybe not quite as good as suggested by the menu and the prices.
The stormy weather meant that we spent more time in the car than we had planned. One day we drove to Capo Passero, where the sea was rather spectacular, then along the coast to Marzamemi, where we enjoyed a picnic lunch watching kitesurfers whizzing across the bay. On another day we went to the old pre-earthquake cave dwellings in the gorges of Ispica’s Parco della Forza, followed by a drive to the Cava d’Ispica. It was astonishing to realise that people lived at these sites from the Bronze Age until the 1900s.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco P, Direttore at Relais Torre Marabino, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear GreenwichPowderhound,
many thanks for your review especially because you have found time to describe your stay at Torre Marabino Relais****

We hope to see you again
We wish you all the best

Simona Belluardo
Relais Torre Marabino****
Ristorante La Moresca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The room we stayed was probably the best hotel room we ever had since we arrived in Sicily. The hotel is tastefully done and with many characters. The room is sizeable and the bathroom is at top notch condition. I cannot find any fault in this hotel. The staff were very helpful and responsive to the e-mail. We had lunch at the restaurant when we first arrived and I had a great mushroom and fish risotto. The only setback that we could not eat out in the garden for dinner. The dinner was satisfactory, but we expected more.
We would want to stay for one more day but they were fully booked.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco P, Direttore at Relais Torre Marabino, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear 406karenK,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you.
We hope to see you again at Torre Marabino Relais****
We wish you all the best

Greetings from the Staff
Simona Belluardo
Relais Torre Marabino****
Ristorante La Moresca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days in June and loved every minute of it.
It's small, stylish, friendly and very well run. Lovely pool and sunbathing area, beautifully kept gardens, nice outdoor terraces, comfortable rooms and excellent food. What more could one ask for?
The staff were friendly, helpful and very professional. We would love to go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco P, Direttore at Relais Torre Marabino, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Alison,
many thanks for this nice review, It's really important for us and for the next guests.
We hope to see you again.
We wish you all the best

Best Regards
Simona Belluardo
Relais Torre Maraino****
Ristorante La Moresca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed for four nights at the end of May as the final stop of a fortnight's holiday in Sicily. It is a perfect place in every respect: a building with character, set in beautifully tended grounds and with great views of the countryside around (not least from the terrace on the top of the tower itself). Our room was spacious and comfortable and came with self-catering facilities. All of the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful and the general atmosphere was relaxed. We got into conversation with more guests here than at our three previous stopping points combined. The food was excellent and prepared and served with evident - and fully justified - pride. Some excellent and reasonably priced local wines, too. Other reviewers have commented on breakfast - the range and quality of freshly baked savoury and sweet pastries could not be bettered. The Torre fully deserves its five-star rating and the praise heaped upon it by other reviewers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesco P, Direttore at Relais Torre Marabino, responded to this review, October 8, 2014
Dear Peter,
many thanks for your nice review. We remember very well your stay, it's was a pleasure to meet you. We hope to see you again in Sicily at Torre Marabino Relais****

Greetings from the Staff
Simona Belluardo
Relais Torre Marabino****
Ristorante La Moresca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ispica
2.3 mi away
Villa Principe di Belmonte
16.1 mi away
Artemisia Resort
Artemisia Resort
#3 of 41 in Ragusa
5.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
3.4 mi away
Balarte Hotel
Balarte Hotel
#2 of 17 in Modica
5.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Pietre Nere Resort
Pietre Nere Resort
#4 of 17 in Modica
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
26.8 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 68 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
2.1 mi away
Borgo Rio Favara
Borgo Rio Favara
#4 of 4 in Ispica
3.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Torre Marabino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Torre Marabino

Address: C. Da Marabino SP 46 | Ispica, 97014 Ispica, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ispica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ispica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Torre Marabino 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nel Verde della Campagna Ragusana con Vista Mare un'antica Torre Saracena si erge maestosamente per dare ospitalita e regalare Charme ai suoi ospiti. Location piena di Relax, Suggestica e molto Romantica.Ideale sia per una fuga d'amore in coppia sia per le Famiglie con bambini piccoli. Ristorazione di alto Livello curata nel dettaglio, per rendere omaggio ai sapori di Terra e di Mare. Ottima Carta dei Vini e Prodotti esclusivamente Biologici. Posizione stategica per scoprire i luoghi di maggiore fascino, dalle citta del Barocco Siciliano alle spiagge piu belle dell'Italia Sud-Orientale.Lasciatevi piacevolmente incantare da una terra che quotidianamente si presenta come un Museo d'Arte e Cultura fra Sole e Mare......Vi stiamo gia aspettando ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Relais Torre Marabino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Torre Marabino Ispica, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Torre Marabino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.