We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Restaurant and Chef!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda La Pieve

Save Saved
You added Locanda La Pieve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Locanda La Pieve
Via della Societa Operaia 3, 58055 Semproniano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Semproniano
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant and Chef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

As we have a house nearby we've never stayed there but eat there when we are in Tuscany. Enrico is a very talented chef and Angela runs the front of house brilliantly. Great food, finest local wines and attentive service. Try it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
115
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hershey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

What a great experience my clients all had in this perfect little Inn.
Apon " check in " we were greeted with a feeling of hospitality one rarely feels while on vacation,in another country.
So helpful was the fact that our hosts spoke english and attended to our groups every need.
My business is to take small travel groups on a cooking and dining tour " Locanda la Pieve " spotless kitchen was the ideal place for learning to make Pasta, Soups and Sauces, hands on !
The food we were served for our Welcome dinner was superb. All healthy and local.
I will go back to Semproniano again and again, knowing this little 'gem' has my room available.

Room Tip: Ask to see them, they all offer their own charm. Each has a theme. Their is not a bad room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Locanda La Pieve was a perfect spot for us during our stay in Tuscany. Angela and her husband are wonderful hosts and took very good care of us. The room and breakfast were phenomenal, and the town is absolutely perfect. We had a great dinner at the local restaurant, Mulino, and enjoyed the public hot springs near Saturnia. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband & I stayed in this delightful little inn in Semproniano in southern Tuscany for three nights in late November. The hotel is well situated to see this part of Tuscany. We were looking for a place to stay where we could get dinner as we didn't relish driving the Tuscan roads at night. The hotel is very nice and the food is spectacular. We had dinner there all three nights of our stay. The food is all local and of the season - a real treat. The owners, Angela & Enrico (the chef), are delightful and make you feel very welcome. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: A car is necessary. Parking is readily available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were on a self organized 4 day hiking tour from Arcidosso to Pitigliano and had booked in advance. This hotel was the best hotel on our tour. We stayed at the English room. The room was very comfortable and clean and decorated very nicely. The owners of the locanda, Enrico and Angela were very friendly and made us feel at home. We had dinner at the locanda. Enrico was cooking typical local dishes, which were very delicious and Angela explained everything and suggested a vey good wine.

We regretted that we could stay only one night due to our tour. If we come back to this area we will definitely try to stay at hte Locanda La Pieve again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We spent one night here as part of a few days in Tuscany and we loved it. The town is very cute, very Italian, not touristy at all, great views if you walk up to the church which is a few mins away. It's about a 10-15 min drive to Saturnia which is what we were there to see really. The owners are just so friendly and lovely, they advised us to go to the Midnight Spa and that was one of the bext experiences ever, 14 euros to get into the Saturnia spa for the evening 10 - 1am, 38 degree waters, candlelight, cocktails - fab! Gorgeous breakfast, all home made, I would reccomend if you have a car and happy to drive to Saturnia for the evening and back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The owners Angela and Enrico are very hospitable and welcoming. The small hotel is located in a village that is quiet and unspoilt. You can walk up to the high point of the village for fabulous 360 degree views of the surrounding countryside. We had dinner at the hotel for both nights of our stay. The meals were amongst the best of our trip and were served by Angela on the terrace. The quality of the food cooked by Enrico and the setting were both excellent. I would recommend people to stay at Locanda La Pieve and also to have dinner there as well. We spent 16 nights in Italy and this was definitely a highlight of our trip.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda La Pieve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda La Pieve

Address: Via della Societa Operaia 3, 58055 Semproniano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Semproniano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Semproniano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda la Pieve is a small charming hotel in the heart of Tuscan Maremma, just a stroll from Saturnia natural hot springs and much more. Located in the medieval Tuscan Village of Semproniano, and the name is due to the Ancient Church dated XI Century, Locanda la Pieve is own by Enrico and Angela since 2007 with passion. Eight rooms all different from each other, with different names and decors. A dining room reserved to the hotel guest and which is served brekfast and a surprise dinner every night. Local products, local wines and original Tuscan Maremma reciept is the must. Within five miles our guest can enjoy the beauty of the tehrmal water of Saturnia SPA, and guests from Locanda la Pieve are welcome with a discounted tickets to be requested at the Locanda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Locanda La Pieve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda La Pieve Semproniano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda La Pieve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.