We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Showtime in Sarmeola di Rubano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Calandre

Le Calandre
Via Liguria 1, 35039 Rubano, Italy
049 630303
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Rubano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $53 - $211
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Ljubljana
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Showtime in Sarmeola di Rubano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Very modernistic place, recently redecorated and immediately appealing to the younger generations, yet most of the guests that evening were 50-80. We took the less extravagant, more traditional menu, and it was excellent. Even though not shockingly innovative compared to their famous In.gredienti menu, each dish expressed pure sensations, the approach even halfway to simplistic. 18 on a 1 to 20 scale for cuisine. Perfect, friendly and efficient service. Wine list on iPad excellent, appearing of course on their website as well as both menus and entire carte, so you can make your ideal match in advance, and with some advanced wine knowledge you can do it for a really decent price. Advice of sommelier on some local wine peculiarities was faultless.

However, we would have been disappointed considering the three star ranking. Something was missing. And at the end it came. When only desserts were left to be served, the two of us were seated in a small side room facing the kitchen. Looked like the old style peasant room for the chef to sit down for a chat and snack with his friends. And the show that followed made the difference between a 2 and 3 star experience. Chocolate variatons, nine of them in two flights, accompanied by a light and music happening, introduced and described by the chef Massimiliano. To top the evening off, one of the waiters took us all the way to our hotel a few miles further from Padova, as the Calandre hotel next door to the restaurant was being renovated.

Needless to stress that the place is faaaar from cheap. I don't think I shall repeat the experience, but it definitely was worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    60
    22
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
“A charming, fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I was at Le Calandre this Saturday June 16th, 2012. What a fun experience, from the charming service, their playful ideas, the cool moderne decor. Really liked it. Here's my photo & tect review of that meal: http://tinyurl.com/c2s4o7y

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Simple classic dishes with modern twist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stopped by Rubano to give ourselves a treat at Le Calandre while on our way to Venice (from Milan). Heard that the restaurant has gone through a facelift last year and that was evident with the minimalist design.

We picked the tasting menu (Euro 185) in order to sample different variety of dishes. They started us off with a few amuse bouche which was very tasty. We particularly liked the tuna stuffed with caviar. The appetizers of risotto with saffron and cuttlefish in black cappuccino were their signature dishes and we found them to be quite good as well. I had the raw beef with fresh white truffles as my main course and Young Massimiliano Alajmo especially told me to eat it with my bare hands. That was a wonderful dish.

Knowing that we were already quite full, they waited a while before serving up our dessert. When our dessert finally came, they also brought along a small projector to show us a short clip while we enjoyed dessert.

Service was impeccible and definitely 3-star worthy. (Chef Alajmo was very kind to take a few photos with us before the start of our meal.) The cuisine itself we thought was quite good but not excellent. There was a lack of a wow feeling that one might expect from a 3-star Michelin restaurant. Nevertheless still a very memorable dining experience that is highly recommended. If you are travelling from Milan to Venice, this is definitely worth a stopover.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“worst 3 star in ten years”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

i should have suspected all the positive articles on the web to be too good to be true. the chef massimiliano alajmo is handsome but the good news stop there. the reality is that it is in a strip mall and no one dares mentioning this fact. the food is decent for a one star but not for a three star and certainly not at the ridiculous price that they charge. in italy you can have better food than this at a fraction of what they are charging.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asiago
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“michelin stars with personality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

besides the well earned michelin stars the restaurant has personality, never cold or distant, they make you feel at home and confortable evenv if you don't want to spend hundreds of euro

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Calandre also viewed

Rubano, Province of Padua
Cinto Euganeo, Province of Padua
 
Campagna Lupia, Province of Venice
Rubano, Province of Padua
 

Been to Le Calandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Calandre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.