We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in a luxury home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westville Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westville Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Westville Bed & Breakfast
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8A and 9 Haven Road, Westville, Durban 3630, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Westville B&B and Inns
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Living in a luxury home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I have been staying at this delightful location for a number of years.
They treat me like royalty despite the fact that I am a grumpy old pensioner.
Their professionalism and attention to detail make it impossible for Mr Grumpy to find fault with anything.
Seriously though I so enjoy my visits for many reasons but especially the friendship that now exists.
Nic, Emma , Tania will you now please arrange a 70% pensioners discount in future?
Denis Clery

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westvillebandb, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Oh Denis, you make us laugh! We so enjoy having you and Phoebe stay with us. You are part of the family and we look forward to every visit. Your Scotties send their love! Emma & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
13
9
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a really lovely friendly B&B which I have stayed in on my annual business trips for several years - they really try hard to make you feel welcome. The rooms are spacious with nice tea/coffee, minibar, tiny balcony, and nice big well equipped bathrooms. The breakfasts are super.
There are good local shops and shopping mall but only 1 good local restaurant otherwise one must drive. Great place for access to N2 (North / South) and N3 (East to city/West) and Pinetown business area. Will no doubt be back next year!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westvillebandb, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Repeat business is the cornerstone of our business and having lovely guests like you Bob, makes this a great industry to be in. Hope you enjoy Cape Town and wish you well for the long flight home in a few days time. Till we see you again! Kind regards Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Our first trip to Durban and a trip booked in haste. Emma, Chenel, Tania and team were all really helpful, welcoming and warm. Our room was well equipped, clean and extremely comfortable making it a real home from home. Breakfasts were splendid and all freshly prepared. The tranquility and lush gardens were perfect for quiet thinking and to enjoy the beautiful SA climate. Thank you all for your kindness and help as it was a difficult trip for me due to family illness. We will definitely be back for another visit under happier circumstances and plan to stay with you again. Jacqui and Peter

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westvillebandb, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Jacqui & Peter. Glad you are home safely and all is well. We appreciate that you took the time to drop us an unexpected review. Very sweet of you. We look forward to your next visit under happier circumstances. Our thoughts are with you over the next few weeks. Emma & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

After my last shocking experience with a B&B in Westville, it was refreshing to have found this place. It is the first time in months that I received a courtesy call the day before to confirm my booking. The venue was clean and the staff very friendly. A home from home. They will see me again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westvillebandb, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We are happy that you found us too and we look forward to your next visit Johan! Baie dankie! Emma & Tania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

An incredibly friendly B&B. It felt like home from the moment I was welcomed in at the door. The rooms are comfortable and are kept up to an excellent standard. Super bathrooms with powerful, spacious showers. The food is great, super breakfasts and evening meals. Pleasant gardens and a very welcome pool to cool you down from the Durban heat. I would not hesitate to recommend Westville B&B to anyone wanting to stay in Durban. I have stayed in many B&B and hotels in my time and can honestly say that Westville B&B is up there in the top few for facilities and right at the top for friendliness.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westvillebandb, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We so enjoyed having you and Fiona stay with us. We trust the Oxford Travelling Club will return to our sunny shores in the not too-distant future! Thank you for staying with us and the great review:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Fifth stay at Westville B&B and still as good as ever. Nice rooms, good food and attentive staff who will do anything to help you. I love the beds here, other than a very few £200 a night hotels I've stayed at they are BY FAR the most comfortable ever. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in or near Durban for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westvillebandb, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We value your visits so much Neil! Repeat visits are what make us tick. The fact that you brought 3 friends with you this time was AWESOME!! See you in March. Emma & Nic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at Westville B&B during the December 2013 holidays. The initial admin of booking was done very efficiently and responses to questions were immediate. The B&B's location is great as you are quite close to the highway, shops, restaurants and even a fitness centre nearby. The room we stayed in was modern and comfortable and had all the amenities we required. The owners Emma and Nick and their staff were very friendly and sincere and we sensed that they would go out of their way to assist with anything requested.
Breakfasts were of a good quality and all items were freshly prepared.
We enjoyed our stay at Westville B&B and will be back in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westvillebandb, Owner at Westville Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you Emile for taking the time to write such a nice review. Always makes our day! We are so happy that you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to your next visit to Durban! Emma, Nic and the Westville B&B Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westville Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westville Bed & Breakfast

Address: 8A and 9 Haven Road, Westville, Durban 3630, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban > Westville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Westville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Westville Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westville Bed & Breakfast is a 5 star, family-run Guest House in the leafy suburb of Westville in Durban. 10 well appointed en-suite Guest rooms across two adjacent Executive properties, each with a sub-tropical garden and sparkling pool. Tasty breakfasts, dinners by prior arrangement, personalised service and comfortable rooms, are all part of the package. Air conditioned rooms, High speed WIFI, tea/coffee making tray, TV and Hotel channels, Hairdryer, ironing facilities in each room, laundry service. Credit cards accepted. Children welcome. Transfers and Tours arranged. Westville is a mere 15 minute drive from the major Beach attractions, and is a 30 minute drive from the King Shaka International Airport. We are happy to book airport transfers, city tours etc on your behalf with our preferred tour operator. We look forward to welcoming you to Westville B&B in the near future! Your hosts: Emma & Nic Jacobs ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westville Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westville Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.