We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hafjell Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hafjell Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Hafjell Hotel & Apartments
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hundervegen 33 | Hafjell, 2636, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Lindesnes Municipality, Norway
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed one night in the hotel part. We turned up in the afternoon and found a hotel with plenty of vacant rooms (shame on you Venere.com claiming "only 2 rooms" or "not available, chose another"). A very welcoming service at arrival. We saw a lot of customers in the restaurant, so we planned for a later evening meal. Unfortunately the restaurant closed at 6, which we could never have guessed. Information in the room informed of opening at 12 noon, but no closing hours. Free wi-fi which neither was informed about. Receptionist could have informed on both. Room was small but sufficient. A tiny bathroom with shower and just enough room to "turn around". I dislike carpets as they are never really clean. Bed was a bit soft in my opinion. You can hear the traffic from E6, but not very disturbing. Breakfast was ok. Only a few occupied rooms doesn't give the biggest variety on the buffet.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
9
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed in one apartment here, in Solsiden Apartments, in Dec 2010. The location is excellent, right on the ski slope, with a river in front and beatifull sights.
The hotel's staff is extremely friendly, they help you with any problem you might have.
The apartments are big and spacious, with big dining rooms, saunas, LCD tvs, comfy beds, floor heating, fully equiped kitchen, washing machine, etc.... You have at your own disposal everything you might need at an excellent price, making you fell as you are home. The kids loved it as there was so much for them to do.

The sking facilities were second to none with a very a selection of runs for starters and seasoned skiers.

We hired our equipment from Skibua Hafjell Skiutleie AS tel no + 47 61990493 and i must say they were the most freindly and helpful suppliers of ski equipment and very competitive on thier price. They also dropped and picked up the equipment from our apartments, a very big thankyou to them and we definately recommend them and use them again when we go back next year. Thier website is www.skibuahafjell.no.

We will definetely come back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

I could gush on and on about how much we enjoyed staying at the apartment. We had a 3 bedroom (8 bed) apartment. It was okay on the space as the beds are really pushed in there and there isn't a ton of room for gear. The beds were comfy. The bathrooms were spacious. It has a washer! Dishwasher! Fireplace! We were there in the off season so we got a decent deal. The view is stunning off the balcony. It was quiet and well insulated against the noise that a junior soccer team kicking balls off the side of the building... The area had a lot to do and I'm so glad we saw this part of Norway. I'd love to try it in the winter. If you are going to the Lillehammer area and can handle being a distance from restaurants and shopping then this is the place to stay. The apartment was well maintained and surprisingly modern. I'd recommend a car as a must have. Then go to the Olympic Wheelbob and go to Funderhossen. Great time! Thanks Norway for being a great destination!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

I stayed in one apartment here, in Solsiden Apartments, in June 2007. The location is excellent, right on the ski slope, with a river in front and beatifull sights.
The hotel's staff is extremely friendly, they help you with any problem you might have.
The apartments are big and spacious, with big dining rooms, saunas, LCD tvs, comfy beds, floor heating, fully equiped kitchen, washing machine, etc.... You have at your own disposal everything you might need at an excellent price, making you fell as you are home.
I will definetely come back!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

This hotell is now known as Hafjell Hotel & Apartments. It is in the centre of Oyer, a small village situated in the picturesque valley of Gudbrandsdalen.

The first thing you will notice about the hotel is how family friendly it is. The rooms feature two rather narrow single beds, with a small bed above these. There is a cute little ladder to get up to this bed and I bet all kids will love sleeping in it. There is also a sofabed, so you could fit a family of four into one room. There is a table and seats to eat, a large cupboard and a decent size fridge. This could save you lots of money - if you do not fancy going out for dinner or just want to eat in your room there are three supermarkets nearby. No cooking facilities though.

There is a childrens' playroom next door as well as "Lazerland", where you will no doubt find the older kids and teenagers. You simply
run around shooting each other with lazers, in the UK this used to be called Quasar. You will also find "Lilleputthammer" next door, this is a miniature replica of the nearby city Lillehammer. There are a few rides as well. Further afield you will find a theme park (mostly for smaller kids) and lots of opportunities for going hiking, skiing, cycling, horseback riding and ATVs (UK: quadbikes).

We stayed during the low season so the hotel was very quiet. They are refurbishing the rooms but we could not hear any noise from the refurbishment. The rooms themselves are not bad, and the bathrooms are all nicely tiled with underfloor heating. There is a phone and a TV. The channels are mostly Scandinavian, with most kids programming dubbed. Some of the rooms have children's drawings framed on the walls, very cute.

When we arrived we found the TV was not working and the shower was either boiling hot or very cold. We booked by phone and the receptionist confirmed there was a radio on the room - imagine our disappointment when it turned out there wasn't. However, the lovely receptionist swiftly provided another room (yes, I did check the shower first!) and by next day they had managed to conjure up a portable radio (probably the one the builders were using).

The hotel is accessible with a manual wheelchair and provided you get a room on the ground floor makes it step-free.

Breakfast is good and a nice touch is that they always have lit candles on the tables when you walk in. You will find all the staples of a breakfast, i.e. toast, soft/hard boiled eggs, orange juice and coffee. They also do scrambled eggs, a dish made of refried potatoes, meat and vegetables and various things to put on your bread like cheese, meats and sandwich fillers.

The dinner menu is "homestyle cooking", a minus point for finding a few hairs in our food. Vegetarian options are lacking and the food is merely average but filling. The sauces seemed to come out of a package and the presentation was a bit lacking. However, if you are dining do try the trout.

The staff were very helpful and did whatever they could to make our stay comfortable.

If you are a family or watching your budget I would recommend this hotel as it is good value and a really good location for both summer and winter activities. A car is recommended, and there is ample parking outside.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2007

I have returned from 1 week in Norway with my boyfriend. We are both 34. We spent 5 nights in Hafjell staying at the Oyer Gjestegard and the main reason I am writing this review is to recommend the hotel/guesthouse. When booking our accomodation for 5 days snowboarding in Hafjell we could find very little accomodation via the internet for Hafjell and almost ended up having to book in Lillehammer which would have meant 30 mins each way daily via a scheduled bus or an expensive taxi. Finally we found two places in Hafjell (The Quality Inn and Oyer Gjestegard). As the Oyer Ghestegard was half the price (approx 70euro for 2 people sharing including huge buffet breakfast and dinner and desert) we decided to try it. There was only one review from 2003 on Tripadvisor so we really didn't know what to expect as relative to all other accomodation in Norway this sounded pretty cheap. It turned out to be clean, comfortable, warm, friendly and a few minutes walk from the ski slopes. Perfect for families and couples wishing to be close to the slopes and not paying a fortune. However, if you are interested in going to pubs in the evening or apres-ski I would not recommend staying here as it is quiet. We used the pool in the Quality Inn for a small fee which was nice and right next door. We then had money left over to do the "Norway in a Nutshell" Fjord tour which we found very enjoyable and to stay in a 4 star hotel in Oslo. We staying in The Thorn Opera which was fine but nothing special and being so close to the train station is excellent for bag carrying but not so great at night. Lastly I would like to recommend a restaurant we ate in while in Oslo. It consists of a wine bar called “Dr. Kneipp's Vinbar” and a formal restaurant called “Markveien Mat & Vinhus”. It was only a short walk over the river in an area which is somewhat bohemian/village (Torvbakkgt. 12). We are in the wine bar section as we did not have a reservation in the restaurant. Both the food and service were excellent and probably cheaper than the actual restaurant. The ambience was great with good music and lots of late-twenty, early-thirty couples sharing tapas and eating full meals. It is a small spot so go early if you want to eat in the bar or book for the restaurant. We enjoyed Norway a lot and found we had a perfect holiday which combined snowboarding, sightseeing and a city break.

  • Liked — Great value for money
  • Disliked — The hotel has no double beds
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2003

Just back from a March 2003 visit to Norway. Highly recommend the Hafjell ski area just north of Lillehammer. Our family of four stayed at the Oyer Gjestegard hotel right down the road from the ski area, and found it wonderfully convenient. The staff is friendly and everyone speaks English, although I think we were the only English speakers at the hotel. The family room was smallish, but comfortable, except for one sofa which was made up as a bed but was too narrow. Our older child slept in the bunk bed which is over the larger parent's bed. Go to the Web site ... for lots of info about the area. We did the obvious, ski, both cross-country and downhill (my first ski lesson, and I'm 42, so anyone can try it!) We also made arrangements through the local Tourist Office (which is right across the street from the hotel) to do some extras, like an evening horse-drawn sleigh ride, a ride down the Olympic bobsled track in a special "bobraft" (a blast for the adults and my 10 year old, but the 3 year old was too young) plus dog-sledding (we got to drive the sled, too) and tobogganing down a snowy hillside. On that last one, we were again the only English speakers amongst another family from Denmark, but the squeals of delight from the kids were universal. The host family were local Norwegian farmers, who didn't speak much English but were very friendly and hosted all of us in their farmhouse for cookies and hot drinks afterwards. All of this ran into a pretty penny, but was worth every cent. Go!!

  • Stayed March 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hafjell Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hafjell Hotel & Apartments

Address: Hundervegen 33 | Hafjell, 2636, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Oyer Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oyer Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hafjell Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 45 double rooms, 2 junior suites, 4 Suit and 2 senior to choose from as well as a café, a fireplace lounge, a pub, conference rooms and banquet facilities. All meals are served in our charming restaurant, which also features a playroom for the youngest kids and a separate youth section offering table tennis and billiards for older children.From the hotel it takes just under 10 minutes to walk to the Hafjell Alpine Centre. There is also a free ski bus from the hotel. Outside the hotel there are grocery stores and ATM.Hafjell Hotel offers upgraded accommodation for those who want more space and comfort for their stay in Hafjell. We have 2 junior suites, 4 suites and 2 senior suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hafjell Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hafjell Hotel And Apartments
Hafjell Hotel & Apartments Norway/Oppland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hafjell Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.