We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 great weeks at Hotel Sofia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sofia Hotel to your Saves list
Sofia Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kampos, Marathokampos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Marathokampos
Chelmsford
1 review
“2 great weeks at Hotel Sofia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I have just got back from a fabulous 2 weeks on the island of Samos staying at the beautiful Hotel Sofia.
The hotel is a lovely hotel run by a charming greek family who made us very welcome.
The rooms are clean and spacious with good bathrooms and wardrobe space.
There is a lovely pool and pool bar serving drinks and snacks by a friendly host - Vacillis.
The hotel is in a lovely setting with beautiful gardens, with every detail thought through.
The beach is opposite the hotel with many supermarkets, shops and tavernas close by. My favourate taverna is Angelos, run by a lovely family with fantastic service and great food.
I would like to thank Stavros, Sofia, Vacisllis and Manoli for a great holiday and look forward to seeing them again next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    23
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
61
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Can't believe the reviews on this site. We went with Thomson Fly as a package. The hotel is run by a German family. On arrival we were greeted with what I call the 'Woolworth's nod' - a sort of chin up movement with widening eyes - it seems to mean 'what do you want?'. We got this several times during our stay. Not at all friendly. The pool looks lovely at first sight, but actually has murky green water, not sure about the hygiene of this. Breakfast was bread, jam, butter, orange cordial and tea or coffee; together with one other item - which depends on the day of the week - a boiled egg one day, 2 slices of boiled ham and 2 slices of processed cheese another, 4 blocks of cheddar another, dough balls with honey another, Greek yogurt and honey another etc. The many cats in the dining area ate well. We like cats, but for those who don't, finding one asleep on your towel on a sun-lounger might be off putting. Our room was facing the pool bar and so noisy at night we asked to be moved. This the Thomson rep organised quickly, however we were left to move all our things ourselves. Room servicing is poor. The sink in our room wasn’t cleaned all week; and there is no room service on a Sunday. On Sunday we took the contents of our bathroom rubbish bin to the bar (no one mans reception) and were told to take it down the street to a public bin. The hotel indicates its costs as 26-35 Euros per room per night and 5 euro per person breakfast. I’d skip breakfast if you are an independent traveller. Apparently they have many repeat guests – unbelievable. On the up side the area and Island are very pleasant, and the Greek people outstanding. The nearby supermarket, right out on to the road, and Hermes car hire are just brilliant. Hey, ho we enjoyed ourselves anyway. Oh, the other guests were very pleasant too!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Hello From Hotel Sofia, first of all i dont think you stay here as we are not from Germany, we are all Greek and we are in Greece. Second if we are not friendly why we have so many people come back every year. Our pool is very clean and we look after the Hotel as good as we can as we live here too, ok for the rest that you say i will not say nothing as is no need, as i do think you didn't stay here. Hotel Sofia samos Greece
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

I have just returned from another brilliant holiday in Samos. 5 of us went and we all had such a great time we are looking forward to next years holiday there already.

From he moment Stavros collected us from the airport the entire family made us feel welcome and bent over backwards to make sure we enjoyed our stay. You feel more like extended family to Sofia and Stavros then guests in the hotel.

Vasillis is one of the nicest people I have met and is always so welcoming and makes you laugh so much (especially throwing ice at unexpected sunbathers). The pool area is perfect for relaxing during the day with a great lunch and drinks menu. During the evening it turns into the perfect relaxing setting for sitting around getting to know other guests and having a few drinks (the cocktails vacillis makes are lovely).

The hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean and you couldnt ask for anything more than that. OK if it is a 5 star hotel you are looking for then Sofia will not suit your needs. But if you are looking for a traditional greek holiday with beautiful scenery and a great atmosphere then Sofia is the place for you. The only downside to the Hotel is the beds being slightly hard - not unbearable though.

All in all this a great hotel to stay with a fantastic family running it.

Can not wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Thank you so much for all this year's that you are comming to our Hotel, see you soon.Many thanks Vasilis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Our mistake was to read Trip Advisor before going on holiday to the Sofia Hotel, we expected so much more. There was nothing intrinisically wrong with the hotel and pool. What was missing from the owner family was the usual friendliness and hospitality which we had previously enjoyed elsewhere in 30 years of holidaying in Greece. There was no welcome, breakfast was a glum affair served without a smile-we had to force a good morning from Sofia, the owner's mum.
On the subject of breakfast how much better it would be to have a simple buffet, rather than the fixed offering of yogurt and honey one day, honey covered dough balls one day, cheese two days and eggs cooked fried one day,boiled one day, and shared omelet final day. Offerings of additional cups of coffee and tea were not forthcoming, we had to ask and were then directed to the urn in the kitchen, and then we felt it begrudged. Several couples did go elsewhere for their breakfast after the first couple of mornings.
Vassili the owner looked after the pool bar was just ok as a barman but seemed inexperianced in the hospitality industry. It really is not acceptable whene queried about the lack of hot water for showers to respond that he only had cold showers because he had been in the special forces.
We enjojed our holiday very much, because of the new friends we met at the hotel, we just regret reading Trip Advisor first. We would certainly return to Kambos but would look for alterntive accommadation. We failed to understand the number of return guests, have they never experienced the hospitality elsewhere in Greece?

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Having read the previous reviews on trip advisor we thought that this would be the perfect base to spend a week exploring the island and relaxing. On arrival there was no greeting or smile just a request for passports before being handed our room key.
The room was on the ground floor although we had requested an upper floor, we did ask whether it was possible to change before we started unpacking and were just told 'No'. There was no offer to change when a room became available although we did notice that the people in the room next to us were moved immediately.
The room was clean, but bare and like a cell, the beds were the hardest we've ever slept on and so uncomfortable with only one small hard pillow each. We have been to Greek islands many times and know that the beds can be more 'solid' than we are used to but these were by far the worst.
The bathroom which was old & in need of refurbishment was more like a wet room with the shower curtain finishing several inches above the shower tray, so we eventually put the bathmat outside the bathroom and only entered in bare feet. Our biggest gripe was that out of 7 days there was only hot water in the mornings twice, we did politely ask whether they knew and were told that the other guests must have used the hot water. Not true, as they were also complainiing about having cold showers. We have encountered many bathrooms in Greece with similar shower arrangements but have always had hot water. During our stay the sheets and towels were only changed once which we did not think was adequate.
The breakfasts were another story, we were presented with a tray each morning with a basket of bread and conserve, a glass of squash each and something else which was different each day such as cheese, boiled eggs or yogurt. There was no choice whatsoever apart from tea or coffee. Some of the guests went out for breakfast every day; we would have been happy if there had been a few choices which we could have helped ourselves to ourselves to instead of having that choice made for us. It would have been lovely if we could have had fruit & yogurt available daily.
Although we only used it once the pool area always looked clean and never appeared to be very busy. The actual location of the hotel was perfect, very quiet, just of the main road and within walking distance of many excellent tavernas and beautiful beaches with a mountain backdrop. Our favourite tavernas were The Blue Bucket & Bill Salome although we didn't hear a bad comment about any of the others.
We pre booked a car for the week and picked it up at the airport, from speaking to other people it was a good choice as they all seemed to have paid more for car hire for less days, once in the resort. Ours was booked via Carhire 3000 on the internet and provided by Budget. It gave us the freedom to explore this beautiful Island and meet some of the lovely people.
We had a lovely holiday and would certainly stay at this resort again but not this hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsofia, Owner at Sofia Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
I wont say nothing for this review, all i know is that we do good job and happy to have all this people comming back every year to our Hotel.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Just come back from our second stay here. Totally mystified why,according to "mattyrr",friends of Vasilis would want to visit time and time again and then write disingenuous reviews saying they had enjoyed when in reality they hadn't.
Lovely place and good value for money

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

The Hotel Sofia, is everything you would expect from a typical greek holiday but so much more. We were welcomed by Sofia (Mum) when we arrived off the coach with our cases carried to our room. The rooms are typically Greek, spotlessley clean and all you need for a relaxing stay. Yes the mattresses are firm, and air conditioning was needed, but it was August. Vasilis (Son) was the perfect host at the pool bar, nothing was too much trouble, he has a wicked sense of humour, and is interested in his guests (tourists!)
Stavros (Dad) cooked for the weekly barbeue and was around for breakfast, and took a group of us out for an evening meal, my wife declared her love for him in the restuarant!
Granma cooked breakfast(she is 83) and her dough balls are to die for!
The hotel is truly small and friendly, the pool is quiet during the day with plenty of sun beds, music food and drink at the pool bar, and Vasilis entertaining! We met lots of lovely people staying at the hotel and it is clear that its reputation is second to none with so many people returning year after year. It was our first holiday for 22 years without our children and everyone made it really special for us. Vasilis recommended places to see when we hired a car for 2 days, local places to eat and things to try.
We would have no hesitation to recommend this hotel.
Thank You Vasilis, Sofia and Stavros, we are very grateful for your hospitality.
Mark & Mandy

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofia Hotel

Address: Kampos, Marathokampos, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Samos > Marathokampos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marathokampos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marathokampos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sofia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sofia is a pretty, family run hotel in Kampos Marathokampos of Samos, Greece. Set in a peaceful location with several small gardens and surrounded by mountain and sea views. It is an ideal choice for couples and families of all ages. The distance from the nearest beach, Kampos beach, is only 100m and from the resort centre around 400m, as a result it is rather convenient for any guest!!! Hotel Sofia invites you to experience a different taste of natural beauty and hospitality that is both genuine and warm. Naturally, you will want to spend some of your holiday just relaxing and enjoying the sun, but you'll probably want to experience much more of your destination, as a consequence Samos is an ideal island because it seduces you with a heady cocktail of history, varied countryside and wonderful beaches.Free transfer to and from the airport via our hotel mini bus ( we do provide free transportation if is more than 7 days ). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel Samos/Marathokampos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.