We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirtilos Studios & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mirtilos Studios & Apartments to your Saves list
Mirtilos Studios & Apartments
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tzanakakis Square, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a great simple place if you're coming for a trip in west Greece. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The stuff are very nice and helpful! The only thing is that the water weren't hot at night...but other than that total value for money!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    46
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed 10 nights at the Mirtilos Studios end July. Our family suite and beds were ok sized for 3 adults and 2 children, cleaning was ok, no hairdryer even though promised, small balcony, stove was working poorly and it took 20-30 mins to cook some water, and in the toilet all racks and parts were loose. Airconditioning only in the living room but early in the morning the temperature was cool enough. If you disconnect the key from the part that has to stay in the room in order for the A/C to work, it was cool also when we went to sleep. Pillows by the way were very flat, so you need to ask for additional pillows from the cleaning ladies.

Do remember to read the fine print in the room details, I booked the family suite because it could accommodate "4+", but to our surprise you needed to pay extra for the fifth person. Our mistake, yes, but the owner really DOES want to charge 115€ extra for a 5 year old with no need for extra bed or towels.. The owner, who by the way has the biggest mustache in the Crete island, does not seem to like kids at all even though the hotel grounds are very good for families. No play area, but there's a large green area (where you are not allowed to play anything though), ping pong table, nice pool (just don't jump or have too much fun there). The owner with family had reserved seats right next to the pool and we felt like he was watching every move we made. He also lives in a family suite on the ground floor, so you don't want to stay up late on the balcony. The hotel is quiet after 11 PM, and if you make some noise then the rooms right next to you will be disturbed.

The location of Mirtilos is very good, short way to tavernas and beach road. Kissamos is quiet with more locals than tourists, which we liked very much. Excellent restaurant/taverna on the beach was "Sun Set", which was the cheapest and had by far the best food and waiters/owner in the village. There are great beaches and snorkelling spots in the nearby, also a tennis court and a great gym was found. Sunday mornings the nearby church wakes you up at 7 and 8.

In short, hotel rooms and facilities were very nice at Mirtilos especially as the hotel is 1 star only, the owner almost ruined our stay though with his arrogant behaviour, location is very good in Kissamos and overall the village was to us much better choice compared to the very busy Platanias and Agia Marina.

Room Tip: Family suite was to recommend, studios for 3 & 4 were not very large and two beds are situated i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. Great location to access Balos/Gramvousa cruise and Falassarna beach. Room was big, well appointed with kitchenette and very clean. Also had a nice view of the peninsular from the large balcony. Theodore made us feel very welcome. Thoroughly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We checked in yesterday so this is the first impression, we have another 3 nights to go. Close to the ocean and tavernas and to town. Looks great when you arrive, nice pool & lobby but it ends there. Yes it's clean, but there were holes in the sheets, the aircon doesn't work and the beds are not comfortable. We have the 1br and the kids essentially sleep in the kitchen - and there's no aircon at all in there, only in the bedroom which as I said, doesn't work anyway. We had to sleep most of the night with the hall and veranda doors open just to get some air through so we didn't die of heat. Bathroom is tiny and there 's no bath. I would have expected a bit more for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Kissamos is a good location to explore the beaches and mountains of western Crete. Great fresh produce available for self catering and nice row of tavernas by the beach front - slightly less of a full on "resort" than some other places. The Mirtilos Studio apartments provide easy access to it all - nice, airy and clean with enough of a kitchenette to enable eating in. The pool was the highlight -kept lovely and clean, with pool bar for that essential late afternoon Mythos.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We spent three days in june 2013 on the beautiful island of Crete, in a small village called Kissamos to Mirtilos Hotel.
Kissamos is very well connected by public transport despite the fact that it's a little far from Chania. It's about a 40km distance
This did not bother us at all because there are a lot of places to visit in the vicinity and if you choose to relax @ the wonderful hotel pool, the staff is so friendly that you"ll sit there all day long.
We travel a lot but I met no place like here, they changed the bed sheets every day, thing that impressed me considering the low price that weve paid. I could compare without any exaggeration with a 4-star hotel
They are so nice that they booked us tickets for a small cruise on Gramvousa Island & Balos.
I strong recommend this hotel given that a successful holiday where you stay counts 70 percent.
Thank you very much because you made our vacation more enjoyable

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were driving around western Crete and found ourselves in Kissamos for the night. The Mirtilos Studio Apartments appear brand new with nice grounds and a beautiful looking swimming pool (we didn't use it as it was a bit cool).
The apartments are about 100 metres from the centre of town, so very convenient. There's heaps of free parking nearby too.
The rooms are huge and offer lots of space. The bathrooms are modern and new.
The staff are friendly and helpful (when you can find them). The only negative for us was the beds and linen. The beds were very firm (hard) and the sheets seemed a bit thin - however, we still slept well.
It was also excellent value, half the cost of a hotel in Heraklion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirtilos Studios & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirtilos Studios & Apartments

Address: Tzanakakis Square, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kissamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Mirtilos Studios & Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Mirtilos Studios & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirtilos Studios & Apartments Kissamos, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirtilos Studios & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.