We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maria Beach Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maria Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Maria Beach to your Saves list
Maria Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mavros Molos Beach, Kissamos, Crete 73400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Kissamos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Maria Beach Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We: a family of 5: parrents with three kids aged 6, 7 and 9 years + two other fmilies of 3, stayed for 2 weeks in this hotel in August 2012.

A very nice, privatly owned hotel n Kissamos. Consists of three buildings: two new and one older. We stayed in an older one which has a bar downstairs. This didn't disturb us in any way.
Every day we had nice, continetal breakfast there with eco food (eggs, home made cakes, fruits...)

We tried many restaurants and taverns while sightseeing in Crete but at the end we came back to the hotel restaurant. Octopus is the best! Not mentioning lamb in the oven or filet (!) SARDINES and many other meals. I think we tried all of them. Even our kids liked the food which is the best recomendation as they are very picky.

The rooms were big, with the kitchen anex if somebody is so desperate to cook. Some of the rooms have a sea view, not all of them.

The rooms were cleaned every day.

The owners are very hospitable, friendly, careing and helpful.

It's not a porshe hotel. I recomend it to everybody who wants to relax and have peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have a sea view which can be an adventage when the sea is not calm... :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    27
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

A wonderfull hotel with very welcoming and friendly people. Never had we to be unpleased.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Kalimera! Surely the ultimate place to relax, bath, eat, recharge your batteries, and to go exploring surrounding sights from. Those complaining about the service from the hotel staff, most likely are themselves the source of problems! This is a cozy place, with nice, warm people serving with a smile. Where you learn greek and their culture and their way of living. Must be experienced first hand.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Having read the good reviews and visited the promising website for this hotel we were eager to place our reservation. We only asked for three things: balcony with direct sea view, a double bed (not two singles pushed together which is mostly the case in Greece) and a kitchenette. The hotel owners promised us a room (17A) which came with all of the above, they even showed us what the view would look like from this room. Upon viewing the photos and after a LONG DETAILED email correspondence we quickly paid the reservation fee of 150€ by credit card in advance to ensure the booking of this room.

Upon arriving, we were swiftly taken to a room in the back of the hotel (not the one as promised). The view was only partially of the sea from an awkward angle and the 'balcony' was the entrance to our apartment which was accessible to everyone. On the 'balcony' we could barely talk because there was very loud ventilation noise.

We then spoke with one of the hotel owners who promised to take care of the problem the next day. They offered us a different room the next day which did have a direct sea view but no double bed. We were clearly disappointed because we had made this reservation months in advance and should not have to accept anything less than the promised offer. The hotel owners lost their temper then asked us if we expect them to build balconies all along the sea side.

The upside: it's clean. The beach is nice.

The downside: The restaurant food is below average. They also charge you for 'service' without letting you know in advance. The worst is that they didn't keep their promise and we would have never gone there otherwise. They didn't offer us a discount which would have been the appropriate thing to do in such a case.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Örebro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Lovely little place far away from the stress in Platanias, Kato Stalos and Chania. The restautant was probably the best part. Genuine delicious greek food.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antony, France
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

The staff is realy friendly, the food is home made. It's a familly hotel.
The beach is quite nice (there is better anyway) but the view is amazing.

We got the sea front room and it was so peacefull! The room is comfortable, spacious, the bathroom is perfect.

I advice this hotel without any problem!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed only for one night, but we had the time to experience the courtesy of Mrs Maria, the friendliness of the staff, the quickness of service, the very nice and correctly-priced dinner in its restaurant, the fantastic view over the sea from the studio and the nice breakfast, served aside the beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maria Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Beach

Address: Mavros Molos Beach, Kissamos, Crete 73400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kissamos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kissamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maria Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maria Beach Hotel is located at the sea shore of Mavros Molos in Kissamos, Chania, crete. It is a small family hotel with a sea front restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Maria Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Beach Kissamos, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.