We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The island of winds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gramvousa Fortress

Gramvousa Fortress
Kissamos, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 12 Attractions in Kissamos
Type: Cultural
Attraction details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The island of winds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Totally worth a visit up to the fortress,but only if you wear snickers because the path is slippery.it will take you about 15-20 minutes to climb up the hill, but the view from the fortress is breathtaking!if you wear slippers, i would suggest that you stay by the beach and swim in the crystal clear waters,or even take some photos of the 50 year old sea wreck that it is located a few meters away.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    31
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The way up can be quite hard if you are not fit. And the way down can be very slippery because of the rocks. But it's not that bad and it really worth because the view from there is breathtaking!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited here as part of a boat tour. So we did t get much time but liked what we saw. The hike up is not very hard if your reasonably fit. We did it in sandals and didn't have an issue. Do take water with you, it was almost 90 during our visit and there are no facilities at the top. Wish we had more time to explore, but still enjoyed what we did see!wonderful photo ops!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

with good shoes you can walk up on the castle and feel the magic...its worth going,although you need 30 minutes of walking...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Challenge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Arrived after boat trip to Balos Hot scramble up to fortress but worth it .... Don't wear flip flops and take water and your camera!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramvousa Fortress also viewed

Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
 
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Gramvousa Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gramvousa Fortress, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.