We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view to wake up to in the morning...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terramara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kissamos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terramara
Save
You added Terramara to your Saves list
Terramara | Plakalona, Kissamos, Crete 73400, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Kissamos B&B and Inns
Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a view to wake up to in the morning...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Its off the beaten tourist track but with superb views of the Bay of Kissimos as well as the surrounding hills covered in olive tree plantations. A great welcoming and friendly place to stay - self-catering - but there's a large supermarket only 15 minutes away by car. And in the morning, its only a 5 minute drive to get your fresh chocolate croissant from the bakery in the village down the hill. Its also ideally placed to be a base from which to investigate many of the sites and beautiful countryside of north-west Crete. And if it gets too hot - there's always the swimming pool....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Whoever likes surprises will love this place.
Harry the tail wagging dog is the first to welcome you (right after the amazing view). Next comes Maggie and Andrew with a lovely smile.
The room was spacious, with a huge glass door to give way to the green mountains and sea.
The kitchen had all one needs for a good meal, and there is a cool place for BBQ.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Terramara Apartments are situated close to the village of Plakalona, near Kissamos on the North Western coast of Crete. We visited these apartments during the first week of September this year. On arrival we were warmly greeted by the owners Margaret and Andrew and their gorgeous dog Harry!! The view from these apartments is just breathtakingly beautiful. They are set on a hill in olive groves overlooking coastal mountains and the Bay of Kissamos. We had followed the instructions on their web site as to how to get there and found them no bother.
There are 4 apartments in this small family run establishment. All are very well equipped with en suite rooms, kitchenette, beautiful patios and lovely gardens which were at their best when we were there. There is a small swimming pool and the most friendly bar you have ever been in.
As well as the equipment supplied in your kitchenette there are washing and ironing facilities available which means a lot if you are moving to another location after leaving Terramara. You're travelling with all clean clothes!!!!We did a lot of touring from there also. The nicest place we visited was Elafonisi, which is on the south West coast, about an hour and a half from Terramara. This is a stunning beach with turquoise waters and clean golden sands.
Both Chania airport and Herakalion airports are easily reached from Terramara.
I would recommend Terramara to anyone who wants to experience the real Crete and some real peace and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Fantastic location, wonderful, friendly host and comfortable well equipped rooms. Margret and Andrew have put together an idyllic holiday venue and are natural professionals.

I have no hesitation in awarding Terramara and its host 10/10, and highly reccomend this great venue to all travellers in Crete.

We will be back...so keep the fridge well stocked!!

Brian and Nas

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woerden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The fact that I never take the time to write a review should say enough. Margret & Andrew are very friendly and helpful. Their recommendations (and knowledge) on which places to go in West Crete are a bonus to your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at Terramara for a week having spent previous two weeks in other parts of the island. Terramara is in a very convenient location. Very close to Kissamos and relatively close to Chania (30-40 minutes drive to the Old Town). The latter is a great place to spend evenings after daytrips or days spent at the beach. The famous beach of Elafonisi is not that far away. Staying at Terramara you can also easily visit the beaches at Falasarna or Balos. If you would like to omit the crowds, driving and paying for sunbeds, the local beach close to the Mithimna camping (which has a great taverna by the way) offers all one is searching for: very warm and clear water and no crowds (except for weekends when many Greek people arrive there).

We found the previous reviews on Tripadvisor very helpful and now - having been at Terramara - we can confirm that all of them were spot on. The owners of Terramara are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean and well equipped (even the smaller ones without the kitchen). Bathrooms are larger than one would expect and hot water is available (or seems to be available) all the time which is not that common in other places in Crete. One can also use the washing machine which is handy especially if you are having a long holiday with little baggage. The view from the terrace in each of the four rooms is great. We loved to have breakfasts looking at the bay of Kissamos. If you are travelling with children I guess the pool at Terramara is also a great idea to spend some parts of the day. If we will come to Crete for a fourth time we will definitely book some nights at Terramara.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We found Terramara by chance.
The place is beautiful, extraordinarily clean and well kept. The rooms are well organized, even the small one without the kitchen where we stayed. We looked for a place to stay overnight but it would have been nice to stay more. The view of the bay is overwhelming. The temperature is cool at night (which is very precious on an island like Crete). It was also very useful to find that we could use the pool, the barbecue area and a hotplate if we wished so. The price is more than reasonable, and Andrew and Margaret are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terramara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terramara

Address: Terramara | Plakalona, Kissamos, Crete 73400, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kissamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a hill deep in the Cretan olive groves overlooking the coastal mountains, Terramara is a small, family-run establishment with rooms for up to eight people. Facilities include private pool, patio, sun loungers and bar area.Each spacious en-suite room has a private patio overlooking the sea and mountains. Twin-bedded rooms include fridge, kettle, toaster and desk; double rooms also provide a kitchen and breakfast bar. Rooms with adjoining lockable doors comfortably accommodate families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terramara Kissamos, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terramara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.