We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stop over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parador de Tordesillas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Parador de Tordesillas to your Saves list
Parador de Tordesillas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. de Salamanca, 5, 47100 Tordesillas, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tordesillas
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A good stop over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I enjoyed my overnight stay at this Parador. Granted its not in town but it certainly was more than adequate for a comfortable over night stay after a rather rough ferry crossing from Portsmouth to Bilbao.

Our destination was Lagos in the western Algarve and we wanted to break the journey and enjoy a good nights sleep and a good meal in a decent hotel.

We are familiar with the Parador hotels and tend to enjoy staying in them.

The hotel and room were spotlessly clean - the service was good and the restaurant served up excellent regional wine and good local dishes.

The location is ideal as a stop over being close to the main roads heading south .

It worked for us and I would certainly use it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    103
    49
    17
    13
See reviews for
51
113
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed three nights on business. The hotel was quiet throughout which meant a good nights sleep was had ! The bar and resturaunt were also quiet.
Menu was the same each night and food was ok but nothing really imaginative or remarkable.
The outdoor pool was drained at the time of my visit, the indoor pool was usable but very small.
The hotel is easily accessable and handily placed for onward journeys.
I found this a pretty much run of the mill, functional but unremarkable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I like this hotel mainly as it is set in it own grounds and is nice and quiet with plenty of car parking. The rooms are large and extremely clean and the staff pleasant and helpful. The restaurant now opens at 8.30 pm where it used to be 9.00 pm. WiFi is available free in the public areas and no code is needed. If I remember correctly breakfast is €14 but if you have just coffee/tea and toast €4. I will be using this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Parador Tordessillas was such a let down. We had stayed in so many fantastic Paradors that we could not believe our misfortune at arriving at the Parador Tordesillas. It's too far outside the town to walk in but that doesn't matter anyway. We thought our Sat Nav had malfunctioned when we arrived at the Parador. The words " You have reached your destination" were greeted with disbelief. Surely not we said. The Parador looks like a roadside motel. If we had not pre booked and paid we would have driven on. The welcome was not much better than the exterior. We were taken to a room on the ground floor near the swimming pool. The room was dark and depressing though spacious. A small barred window looked onto a very small and tired, neglected grass area. The swimming pool looks nothing like the online photos. Seats were left haphazardly around the pool. No cushions and little resemblance to the photos. Sad and neglected. The lofty bar/lounge is gloomy and soulless and the bespectled waitress looked equally as miserable. We decided to drive into Tordesillas in the hope of at least finding some culture. Oh dear. Tordesillas is like the place that time forgot. The Plaza Mayor is tired and miserable with a couple of grotty bar cafes. Further exploration only confirmed our first impressions.
Dinner that evening at the Parador was very poor and ridiculously priced. The same, miserable, bespectacled waitress was doing double duty in the restaurant and bar. Her demeanour had not improved, she was in fact downright sullen, to all the diners. There weren't many of us.
The following day we decide to visit Valladolid. What a beautiful city. Be careful about parking. If you see green signs DO NOT PARK. These are for residents only. A helpful traffic warden pointed this out to us and advised the underground car parks. Luckily we found an on street disabled bay not too far from the main square. If you want retail therapy Valladolid is for you.its really much too large to explore in a couplenof hours or so but still worth a visit. Drive around the outskirts and it's very attractive.
Reluctantly we headed back to the Parador. We decided to give the town another chance thinking that as it was Monday there might be more going on. We enquired, at hotel reception, about the church, the Convent and the Arab baths in the Convent. Our enquiries were met with much shoulder shrugging and don't know. Don't care comes to mind. Still, we got back in the car and drove up to the town. The place didn't look any different to the Sunday except for a few more tourists who didn't look very happy. The church was closed. Tourist information closed and the Convent and Arab Baths, you've guessed it, closed.
We returned to the Parador to pack and shower. A repeat of the previous nights dinner was not an option so we decided to have something in the gloomy bar from the not very inspiring bar menu. The only decent thing was a glass of Cava. The same waitress was on duty.
The following morning we rose early for breakfast,very eager to leave. Others seemed to have the same idea. The attitude was much the same. No smiles no welcome. Breakfast was okay but avoid the bread. I think it was bread. It was with much relief we checked out at 8.30 am.
We met other unhappy guests . whether anything will change I don't know. I can't think what would improve this Parador.
As for Tordesillas, the best thing about it is the view in the rear view mirror.

Room Tip: Don't bother. Don't go to this Parador.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tordesillas hotels

Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Actually the mediocrity of the Spanish Paradors is not a bad thing as you know pretty well what you are going to get. They are always clean and the rooms are comfortable and often the buildings are splindid old castles. This one is not old but still comfortable. The negative is, as often the case, the poor quality mediocre food. And they charge top dollar for it too! Some of the extras like the free glass of Sherry with dinner and the sweeties at bedtime seem to have neen cut. Lastly why dont they have at least one BBC news channel?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We chose the Parador de Tordesillas because we wanted to visit the historic monuments of the small town of Tordesillas. In truth the Parador is a bit removed from the city, about 4 miles. The architecture is austere, reflecting the 50 years of existence. The rooms are large but with an old-fashioned furniture. It has a nice patio and a nice pool surrounded by pine trees. We opt not to take breakfast at the Parador. The reception clerks were very formal and not very friendly. The young bartender lady was arrogant and definitely unprofessional.
Certainly not return to this Parador

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is the third time I have used this hotel. It is very quiet and the rooms are of a good size. The main drawback is that, in common with Spain in general, but not every hotel, dinner is not served until 9 p.m.! For those of us living north of the Channel we are not used to eating so late. However that is our problem. The meal i would rate as average to poor. The staff were most friendly and helpful, even the poor soul who had the night shift when I spoke with him at 07.30 after he had been awake all night. An ideal stop over when going north or south.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parador de Tordesillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Tordesillas

Address: Ctra. de Salamanca, 5, 47100 Tordesillas, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Tordesillas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tordesillas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Tordesillas 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Parador de Tordesillas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Hotel Tordesillas
Parador De Tordesillas Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parador de Tordesillas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.