We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“A pleasant way to spend the early afternoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meson de Catedral

Meson de Catedral
Calle Victoria esquina con Segunda, Chihuahua, Mexico
614 410.15.50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 72 Restaurants in Chihuahua
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“A pleasant way to spend the early afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a thoroughly enjoyable meal. The waiter, Jesus, made every effort to assist us, recommending the T-Bone steak and also the local Crema de Sotol (similar to Bailey's) as a digestif, both of which we thoroughly enjoyed. The desserts came in gigantic portions, though the sauce on the apple pie detracted from the flavour. All in all a pleasant way to spend the early afternoon, with a good view too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    27
    17
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Tasty Traditional Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My wife and I dined at 3:00pm after hearing of the place from a local. From the time we walked in the door til the time we left, we had a good time. The wait staff were very friendly and tried their best to make our choice relevant to us. (Non Spanish speakers). We ordered a burrito and a quesilada. Both had a side entree of Guacanole. We enjoyed the food, laughed with the waiters with our interpretations and left feeling satisfied. The price including orange juices was 150 Mxn pesos. We ate outside and admired the new plaza that is being developed and the traditional buildings as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good but cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Expensive, some of the food taste well but it's not great compared to the prize, it has a decent view thou, I recommend it more to take a coffe or a glass of whine.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Good food and nice site overlooking the Plaza around the cathedral downtown in Chihuahua. Food is ok service was good but it is higher priced than most in CUU

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place seems to be overrated -- not least by itself.

I had three courses, none particularly pleasing. I started a soup that sounded interesting in its menu description but that turned out to be bland: I don't expect things to be boring at the prices commanded at this place!

I next risked some dried beef and blame myself for not being particularly snared by a regional and unfamiliar speciality. Still, did they really need to serve a plate of sliced dry beef with nothing else on the plate other than sauce?

But the dessert brought home that I was right about the mediocrity of this plate. I ordered a flan, a Mexican classsic, having enjoyed caramel-rich, sumptuous creations elsewhere. The Meson's flan is flavorless: its consistency is thick and unwelcoming and it has a taste of cardboard.

Not recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson de Catedral also viewed

Chihuahua, Chihuahua
Chihuahua, Chihuahua
 

Been to Meson de Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meson de Catedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.