We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Gets the job done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Chihuahua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ibis Chihuahua to your Saves list
Ibis Chihuahua
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Benito Juarez Garcia 3115 | Col Centro, Chihuahua 31000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Chihuahua
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gets the job done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We spent one night at the Ibis and were more than satisfied. The room is straightforward and a bit on the small side but was clean and the AC worked very well. The hotel seems rather secure and requires a room key for the elevator. The hotel is part of a small strip mall and has free parking downstairs. A room with a queen bed cost approximately $58 on a Friday night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo U, Gerente at Ibis Chihuahua, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Chihuahua. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    46
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
26
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The location of the hotel is convenient with banks and shopping nearby, and in walking distance to the center of Chihuahua. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet basic, I especially enjoyed the fresh fruit. Rooms are IBIS basic, but with a comfortable bed and a small, but functional workspace. The towels were in need of replacement, and the frayed hand towels looked more like cleaning rags than hotel grade hand towels. I was not impressed with the cleanliness, nor the Internet connection that was annoyingly uneven at times.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

A standard IBIS experience - you get what you pay for - comfy beds etc.

Buffet breakfast is decent

They were showing the world cup football while we were there - and obviously had some supply chain problems - i.e. different beers (in limited numbers) available each day.

Although Trip Advisor notes travel advisories, we found Chihuahua a safe and interesting town. For example, the hotel was a (safe) fifteen minute walk to the historic centre.

(Unfortunately there aren't that many locations (attractions / restaurants) from Chihuahua listed on TripAdvisor or google maps so we came across many other places we would have liked to try)


A couple of suggestions for the hotel:
1) As in-room safes are not part of the standard room build, offer secure storage of e.g. passports at reception
2) Consider requiring more English-language skills for front desk staff
3) The towels could be upgraded (all of ours were frayed) and perhaps offer a few more.
4) Would have liked to be able to connect HDMI cable to the in room TV
5) Why no VPN availability on the (slow) internet connection?
6) Add hooks as there is little hanging space in the wardrobe.
7) A number of members of our party had problems with the magnetic stripe on the keycards (needed to access the lift and the room) failing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo U, Gerente at Ibis Chihuahua, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to write your comments and feedback, we regard these as very valuable advice and will take it into account to improve the quality of our service. Regarding the internet service, the days you were a guest in our hotel we had some issues with our carrier for which we apologize, these problems have since then been taken care of. We are very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed in this hotel the night before taking the "El Chepo" train. Train leaves at 0600 and
this was clean and modern. Water pressure was lousy so bath and shaving was a struggle.
They claim staff speaks english - not so - and basically they were incompetent - took twenty
minutes just to check out. Staff was polite and tried to be helpful but we expected at least a basic
understanding of english to ask questions. Hotel is within a decent walk of "a people area (closed
streets and easy atmosphere in near center of town. We stayed a second night five days later
and ended up in the same room....dust still in corners and behind toilet and basin in bathroom..

Room Tip: Choose high floor to get view of city and fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Although it was clean..I would never stay at one of these hotels again. The bed was not comfy, small queen, very small. The room was so tiny and we had to move to another room because of all the noise. Nothing comfortable or 'inviting' about it. No normal extras like shampoos and body lotions..no coffee, no nothing..not even water.. Terrible motel.

Room Tip: Sorry i have nothing good to say about this micro motel. Except the central location was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo U, Gerente at Ibis Chihuahua, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Chihuahua. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccione, Italy
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Ibis is a good hotel to approach Mexico.
It is an international chain, you feel safe, you have your certainties, breakfast is just beautiful and the rooms are very comfy.
We had everything, we needed, the personnel speaks a very good English, they are very helpful. There is no tourist information though, just some leaflets (city map just has gone out, when we arrived, but we got a very good indication, where to get one).

I absolutely recommend this hotel, and would absolutely return anytime.

Room Tip: If you arrive from the airplane, and take a taxi, don't show the address, just tell the name of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo U, Gerente at Ibis Chihuahua, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Chihuahua. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Chihuahua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Chihuahua

Address: Av. Benito Juarez Garcia 3115 | Col Centro, Chihuahua 31000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Chihuahua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Chihuahua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Chihuahua 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Chihuahua hotel is located in the Victoria shopping mall, close to the historic center and Chepe tourist train station, 0.6 miles (1 km) from the convention center and 5 minutes from the industrial park area. It has 126 modern, sound-proofed and air-conditioned rooms waiting to be booked. The hotel offers a daily buffet breakfast, a restaurant, a bar with a 24/7 snack service, free wireless Internet, private parking and access for people with reduced mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Chihuahua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Chihuahua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.