We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Home away from Home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Soberano Chihuahua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Soberano Chihuahua to your Saves list
Hotel Soberano Chihuahua
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Barranca Del Cobre 3211 | Fraccionamiento Barrancas, Chihuahua 31125, Mexico (Formerly The Westin Soberano Chihuahua)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Chihuahua
california
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I've been staying at the Soberano for quite sometime now. Started with Palacio del Sol (before the Soberano existed) and then Hampton. I have to admit, I was a bit hesitant since I heard it's no longer a Westin and from some of the reviews. I didn't feel any hiccups in the service during my stay. As I understand, the hotel switched ownership to the Governor of Chihuahua.
The beds are always comfortable and every morning I look forward to the delicious authentic mexican breakfast! Yes, the hotel is quite a distance from the airport, but it's worth the drive. Plus, I've always felt safe here. The wait staff at restaurant Cascada is always very pleasant and they aim to please...
Sure, the beautiful waterfall as you enter the hotel is not functioning which has left some residue on the fountain wall. Would be nice to see this working again.
Thank you for making my stay (again) during Christmas memorable one again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
8
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was my first trip to Chihuahua and my first trip to the Hotel Soberano. As many have stated, it's NOT a Westin but run independently now. I can see that years ago this hotel was definitely in its prime. There used to be a huge waterfall all along the back wall of the hotel but since it has been shut off it's covered in lime residue.

I was on a trip with three co-workers and we felt like we were the only people at the hotel! Literally, I never saw another soul in the hotel other than my three counterparts. The staff was kind, courteous and attentive but I was a little concerned by the total lack of people staying at the hotel.

I never ate, used the pool or fitness area so I can't speak to any of those. From my room I had a view of the pool which looked awesome.

On my first night a staff member stopped by with a complementary glass of wine and plate of cheese which was very kind. I did not finish the wine or cheese and left it for the maid to clean up. The next day the wine and cheese were still in my room, with fruit flies all over the leftovers. The maid had definitely visited because my towels were refreshed and my bed was made, but they didn't take away the food, which was a little gross.

The hotel was the furthest one from the airport, which means it's also away from all the noise. But you'll pass about 20+ hotels before arriving at this one.

All in all it was a fine stay. The bed was comfortable and the rooms were fairly quiet. But the lack of maid service, lack of other people at the hotel and general "empty" feeling the hotel had was a little concerning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
512 helpful votes 512 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Soberano is worrying as you sense that since Westin pulled out they are not investing in upkeep. I stayed one night as I was in town for a friend's wedding. Room was nice and well appointed, but no Kleenex. Check in was slow and the two clerks seemed stressed. At least ten rooms came on our flight I guess and we showed up more or less at the same time.

The Casacada restaurant was not good at all. Service was friendly, but slow. However, the food was appalling. I asked for a spoon as I had soup as an appetizer and at least five minutes later, the waitress returned with a teaspoon. My main plate was terrible. Some of my friends also there for the wedding braved running across very busy streets to a nearby Chili's and truly had the greatest meal.

The Casacada restaurant looks upon what used to be the waterfall over the front door which is now dry When yo enter, there are odd statues of lions and a naked woman. It feels weird.

The hotel is on top of a hill and there are no sidewalks to get out - I felt trapped until I could leave for the wedding.

The hotel is also event central for locals (and in my short time there I saw their TV commercials a few times) - there was a shower where people seemed to bring their own food and bottles and there was also a wedding going on. Guests were yelling in the lobby which is atrium like but I guess I slept well and did not get bothered. I left the hotel at 4:30 am for the airport when the local wedding guests were leaving.

I would have rather stayed in Centro even at a less nice property. This was nothing special and oddly located.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a very good hotel in Chihuahua City. It is right off the "Periferico de La Juventud" avenue and with very easy access to and from that street. It is a bit far and a bit confusing to get to from the airport if you are driving your self and are not familiar with the city. It is very near shopping centres and easy to get out for dinner etc. If you are travelling for business and don't mind paying a bit extra, getting access to the executive lounge will save you some money. They have some light dinner and all the beer and alcohol you can drink which is included. So ask and make that decision if it is worth it for yourself. The food is a very small buffet style bar with a handful of options and it is very good and they include breakfast and dinner. (I am not sure about lunch I was not there at that time).

There is very big gym and has very good equipment and the pool and pool area have a great view of the city.

If you get the rooms that face the periferico you also get a great view of the city.

The rooms are very roomy and comfortable, they are even a little on the luxurious side. There is a large LCD tv in the room and they get good cable chanells. I will definitelly stay here again. If you are on a budget there are many options nearby but you don't get as much as you do on this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the rooms that face the periferico as they give you a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here for Christmas vacation, and I must say that this hotel was fine and average. I felt safe, and I enjoyed that there was a view of the city from our room.
Out of other hotels that were an option, this was certainly the best of the bunch. Not too sure why this hotel has been rated so low.

Room Tip: I would recommend you get a room facing the city instead of the pool, there's a bit more to look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Everything is perfect, beautiful rooms and great panorama. The staff is kind and nice. This is the best hotel you can find in this wonderful place far from the noisy traffic, specially if you go with your partner! Also for amazing parties and wedding parties.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Soberano has a commanding view of Chihuahua. But she is an older hotel that puts up a game face. That being said, I enjoyed the stay. The staff is extremely curteous. The room was very clean and had a fresh air about it. I liked the pool.

But, there is a sense of things abandoned. None of the bars are staffed. The outside... although clean was missing any kind of service. Maybe I was there the wrong season to be hanging out at the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Soberano Chihuahua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soberano Chihuahua

Address: Barranca Del Cobre 3211 | Fraccionamiento Barrancas, Chihuahua 31125, Mexico (Formerly The Westin Soberano Chihuahua)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Chihuahua > Chihuahua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Chihuahua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Soberano Chihuahua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soberano Chihuahua Hotel is a five star category business and leisure hotel that offers guests the best quality services in the city. Located in the north of Chihuahua City, very close to San Francisco Country Club and District 1, this hotel is just a 5 minute drive away from restaurants, shopping centers and major industrial parks, 15 minutes away from downtown and 30 minutes away from the airport. The hotel has 204 spacious deluxe rooms and master suites with spectacular city views. All rooms are equipped with amenities to meet all the business and leisure traveler's needs. Rooms include 40-inch LED TVs, air conditioning, internet access, two telephones, amenities, coffee makers, closets and private bathrooms with marble finishes. The property features several restaurants and bars, a fitness center, tennis and racquetball courts, an outdoor pool, a spa, a gift shop and a business center. Among the services offered by Soberano Chihuahua Hotel are: room service, laundry, complimentary airport shuttle (subject to availability) and free indoor parking. Soberano Hotel facilities have the capacity to accommodate up to 1,300 people in its various meeting rooms, where business or social events can be hosted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Soberano Chihuahua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Soberano Chihuahua Hotel Chihuahua
Westin Chihuahua
Chihuahua Westin
Westin Soberano Chihuahua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Soberano Chihuahua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.