We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rustico Spa Finisterrrae

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rustico Spa Finisterrrae to your Saves list
Hotel Rustico Spa Finisterrrae
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino de la Insua 128, 15155 Finisterre, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Finisterre
County Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what I expected!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this as a little treat for the end of our 100 km walk. We were expecting a Spa, with sauna, jacuzzi and a pool. What we got was a hotel, that was a 15 walk from the port, up a steep hill and a really frosty reception from a gentleman (and his mother/mother-in-law) who should not be in the hospitality industry. The room was indeed beautiful, although the bath was tiny (I am 5´4 inches and I couldn´t lie down fully in the bath). Another positive was that he view of the port was lovely from our bedroom . However, the pool was empty, and when we asked about the spa facilities, we were informed quite ´frostily´that we would have to book 2 hours in advance (at this stage, it was 9pm and we were on our way into town to eat) To be quite honest, the owner either doesn´t like people or has an aversion to pilgrims doing the Camino. He was cold, unfriendly and is bereft of all people skills. In all the places we stayed in Spain, this was the worst. I was so disgusted, that I left next morning without breakfast. He needs to employ a front of store person with a winning smile and a warm heart, otherwise, he´ll be out of business in no time, Mary McIntryre (Spanish teacher, Ireland)

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    6
    6
    14
See reviews for
7
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

The hotel was one of our stops on the Camino. The hotel is a little quirky and off the beaten path. It has Rustic In the name for a reason. The staff was incredibly accommodating, even driving one of our group to Lires when no taxi was available. Breakfast was good --the apple pear tart paricularly tasty. But the breakfast had no protein as has been our expectation in Camino hotels.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

The hotel lies uphill from the small town of Finisterra (the end of the world) and indeed looks rustic from all sides It has a nice big garden and a small pool but as I was there in winter there was no need for that. There were no other guests when I was there so service slipped the attention.

The room and the bathroom were nice and comfortable. There was a small desk, very small TV and good working free WiFi internet. At first the room was cold and damp but after that I found a tiny switch on the electric radiator it just got bearable.

Although I was told breakfast would be served at 8:30 nobody was there to serve it and the whole place was dark. Breakfast was minimal with some lumps of hard farmers bread, butter and jam. And some cakes. There were also some cereals and orange juice from a pack. You may get a cooked breakfast at an extra price.

When I left I got a nice certificate stating that I had visited the end of the world

My guess is that service will be better in summer when there are more guests

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We stayed here after walking from Santiago. It was a little hike up the hill but given we'd just walked from Santiago, we could manage it! Plus the view was great from there. The hotel was nice and the room was lovely. We paid a little extra for a room with a view which was worth it. On arrival we were rushing to get up to the lighthouse to watch the sunset and the guy on reception was helpful in organising us wine, wine glasses and a taxi to get up there. It was a quiet hotel and a pleasant experience - nothing earth shattering but pleasant enough.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We relaxed here for 2 days after our Camino - I could have stayed longer! Juan was a wonderful host, totally spoiling us with fantastic dinner and wine. He was very multi-talented looking after all our requests e.g Aqua caliente and cava by the pool! Easy to find with great signage and the hill isn't that big with the view worth it and only short distance to shops. We had a lovely spotless room, very comfy beds with delicious sheets- very peaceful. Reminded me of the top of Scotland wild and remote even with the purple heather. A great place to stay!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

A bit of a steep climb from town but well worth it. Our room had a view west out the back, so we discovered that there was another much quieter beach 5 min walk down the other side of the hill. We sat there and watched a gorgeous sunset. Room was spotless with comfy duvets on the beds. Juan, our host was very helpful, and drove us to the airport in Santiago when we left (for a very reasonable fee). A very pleasant stay, at the end of our Camino.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We were only spending one day here following The Camino, we couldn't book in until after 3pm. The man at the desk was very abrupt. We asked if breakfast was included in our 69 Euro price and were told it was. Next morning we were given 3 different types of bread (none of which I liked) and coffee. When I asked it that was all we were getting a chart was shown to me which should have been left in our room but wasn't. It was for us to book a breakfast for an extra 5.95 p.p. I told him I wasn't happy and would be buying breakfast in the town and he just shrugged his shoulders. I then told him I would be writing a review which would not be good and this did not bother him at all. His understanding of and spoken English was good so there was no misunderstanding. The room itself was quite nice but that is the only good thing I would have to say about Hotel Rustico Spa.

Room Tip: Read the reviews, we didn't but will in future
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rustico Spa Finisterrrae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rustico Spa Finisterrrae

Address: Camino de la Insua 128, 15155 Finisterre, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > A Coruna Province > Cape Finisterre > Finisterre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Finisterre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rustico Spa Finisterrrae 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rustico Spa Finisterrrae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rustico Spa Finisterrrae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.