We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Guerra

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Guerra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Guerra
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra Sierra Nevada Km 21.3, 18160 Guejar Sierra, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Guejar Sierra
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location is amazing, on the side of the road that leads to Sierra Nevada ski resort. It's just some 10 km away from it. The hotel is old but refurbished. The rooms are tidy and comfortables. Most of the personnel don't speak proper english but unless you have some complicated matter to discuss you can get around pretty well with them.
The restaurant is clean and nice but the food, even if well presented and nicely served, was of varying quality. You can get deep fried cod with so much salt that it's almost not eatable or a "salad of the house" really nice. Seems like they have two cooks, the good one and the bad one. So I don't recommend to have expensive dishes there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Beautiful location overlooking a town in the valley. The man who served us in the restaurant was not very nice to us, the restaurant was empty and he didn't want us to sit at the table set for 6 by the window as there were only 3 of us. We told him we were expecting 2 more people and he stormed off. He got mad and stormed off again because we were chatting over a drink before we ordered our dinner after the other 2 had showed up 10 minutes later. He doubles up as the bartender, so sit as far away from the bar as possible! His wife?!, the receptionist more than made up for his rudeness, she was very pleasant to deal with. Room was comfortable and large and it had a working hairdryer, which I much needed since we travelled with Ryanair! I would definitely stay there again, hopefully, 'he' will be in a better mood next time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Hola I.am writing this using the free WiFi service lying on a very comfortable bed during my stay at Hotel El Guerra. We have been here for 2 nights and 2 to go. The staff are extra helpful. The rooms ate the cleanest ever with every basic need covered. The view is AMAZING from room 209 and changes by the second with the weather systems here pn the mountain. It is a fabulous central point for excursions into the surrounding countryside and for the heritage centres of the surrounding areas. Good roads great parking and cows with bells wild deer and various flora and fauna to ne observed A treasure at this time of year we are enjoying our stay thoroughly and hope this hotel will continue it's exemplary customer service and outstanding hospitality. Excellent thank you for a great holiday

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almeria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel is very realistically priced and, in my opinion, should be classed as a 3 star and not a 2 star hotel. The hotel is near the slopes (approx 7 Km) and Granada is approx 20 minute drive. Although English is limited at this hotel the staff are helpfull and friendly, rooms are basic but very clean and, I think, the cleaner is a bit over enthusistic with the perfume spray in the reception and walkway areas! The breakfast was typically Spanish i.e. Bread, cheese, ham and tomatoes but I understand that in the winter there is a substantial breakfast. At dinner there is a wide range of food on the menue and the items I tried were mouth watering with large portions and very good value also good value are the wines, beers and spirits. There is a swimming pool, thank goodness as the temperature in August is 32C+, which is kept very clean with loungers, chairs and tables and is surrounded by pine trees - very cool and relaxing.

When I am in the Sierra Nevada area again I will most definately stay at this hotel again and hightly recommend it for value and comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony overlooking the pine woods and swimming pool - much quieter than the front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Near the slopes but not at the resort prices (even the local police drink here). Rooms are basic but clean and the food is local and good (beware of large portion sizes).

Not much English spoken but a smile will get you a long way. Not all rooms have been updated but all the clean.

third year we have stayed so they must be doing something right

Room Tip: ask for a room over the restaurant at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This was my second visit and it was even better so my original comments will suffice.
Cannot fault the hotel on any count. All modernised and redecorated. Great heating (large coal fire in lounge). Run a hot bath very quickly and power shower. TV channels naf but eh, get a life! Large restaurant with very wide ranging all Spanish menu. Huge breakfast choice. Nice little well stocked bar, lots to choose from at very reasonable prices. They have a ski hire shop next next to hotel so that you don't have the hassle of hiring and returning skis in the resort. All this for only 20 mins drive to centre of resort. Ample parking.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Chose hotel as passing by, great value, wonderful views, would have liked to spend more than one night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Guerra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Guerra

Address: Ctra Sierra Nevada Km 21.3, 18160 Guejar Sierra, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Guejar Sierra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Guejar Sierra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Guerra 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Guerra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Guerra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.