We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming pet friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Rural Fuente la Teja Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Casa Rural Fuente la Teja Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Rural Fuente la Teja Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Calle Fuente de los Dieciseis Canos, a 3 km Fuente la Teja | Granada, 18160 Guejar Sierra, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Gibraltar
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Welcoming pet friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This isn't a top class fancy hotel but it is warm, friendly and very homely. Lovely log fires, good home cooked food, excellent breakfast. Set in a beautiful rural location within easy driving distance from both Granada and Sierra Nevada. We were all made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed with Ana and Juan during our trip through the Sierra Nevada. Their house is located on a remote yet easy reachable location offering a stunning view over the surrounding landscape.

Even though it was very cold that night in the mountains, we received a very warm welcome when Juan heated up the fireplace for us. We enjoyed a good glass of local wine at the fireplace after which Ana cooked us a great meal. The room was clean, comfortable and very warm despite the cold outside. In the morning we enjoyed a simple yet nourishing breakfast that gave us enough energy for our next hike.

Ana and Juan run their B&B with great passion and dedication. They take pride in their local products and food and can tell you all there is to know about the Sierra Nevada. At the same time they respect your privacy and make sure you'll get your relaxation. A lovely place to go if you want to experience the local scenery, gastronomy and hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Easy to find and get to by car. Only a few miles out of Guejar Sierra. Ana & Paco (who built their own home) were very friendly & welcoming. Lovely Andalucian food cooked by Ana who is a welath of knowledge for the best places to go to. We went walking around this area & there are some lovely walks to do such as the war trenches and drive to the end of the tram line from Maitena and there are some great walks in the trees. We plan to visit again with our other 'halfs' because we enjoyed ourselves so much. We visited mid Sept and the weather was fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

There is this little spot in this great environment, where I would like to stay forever.
Its owners treat you like family and its peace fills every single part of you.

Thank you so much!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Alistair and I really enjoyed our stay at Casa Rural Fuente la Teja. Ana and Paco are such warm hearted and delightful people. Their home is clean and comfortable, with a nice sized pool and amazing views of the Sierra Nevada. They were perfectly at ease having a couple of English gays staying!



We thought this was a B&B, but it turned out breakfast was not included. It was 6 Euros for 2 people, which we felt was reasonable. It was very nice, a mixture of bread, pates, jams, biscuits, tomato, and a hot drink. The lunch and dinner menu was broad, and the food we had was good value. Ana is an accomplished cook, particularly with how she cooks meat. The lamb cutlets and her croquettes of the house are AMAZING. I would happily have just sat and watched her move around her kitchen! 



Ana and Paco made a real effort to ensure we were happy, particularly considering we don't speak much Spanish. If you are like us, then take a good phrase book and a Spanish/English dictionary, as this will help a lot.



As well as spending a couple of days just lazing in front of the pool and reading, we were able to get down to Granada a couple of times. 

We got up early and went to the Alhambra (try and book in advance, and you won't have to get up at 5am to start queuing!). It is amazing, to walk around it and soak up the architecture, gardens, and views of the city. It is not hugely publicised, but there is a good Flamenco company that performs in the evening in the Alhambra. This is not the touristy one that the local gypsies do, but a proper company that the local Spaniards see. On Mondays it is 2-4-1, and is about 30 Euros. Well worth the late night. It didn't start until 10pm, and Ana was really good at making sure we got home safely well after 12:30 am! 
Parking is about 25 Euros for the whole day.



There is also the Mirador at the Plaza St Nicolas, which is worth the walk. It gives great views of the Alhambra and the city, and it is nice to walk down through the Albacin district (which is the old part of the city - great for buying touristy knick-knacks!)



There is a local Hamman in Granada, which we absolutely loved. Ana will give you a leaflet about it. It is quite expensive, at 40 Euros per person, but that included 1 hour 1/2 in the baths and a scrub down massage. It is a beautiful spa experience!



You will need a car to get to Fuente la Teja, and probably a SatNav if you intend to drive into Granada. There are a lot of one-way streets, and the sign-posting tends to disappear the closer to your destination you get. We went around in circles for a bit!



Also, here is some advice about the drive to Fuente la Teja.



The drive to the Casa is rather alarming in places, but persevere! It is definitely worth it. 

Once you arrrive at the Guejar Sierra village, turn left BEFORE the bridge (at the sign for Los Lomas Campsite). There is a little speed bump here. You will need to drive on a twisty road for quite a while up the mountain and around. You will see on the right a big dam, and a lake behind it. You are on the correct road, so keep going! 



Go past the campsite, and then turn left up to the village. That bit of the drive is about 15km I think. Don't do what we did, and turn around and head back down the mountain thinking we had taken a wrong turning!



Keep going on this road until you read the village. Drive through the village, again heading up. The road will turn into a dirt track, and is very, very steep in places with some rather sheer drops. Not for the inexperienced driver!



Again, keep going up, and then down and around the mountain, past the sign for Argumosa, until you see the sign for Casa Rural Fuente la Teja.



Make sure you print off these instructions and take them with you!!



One more thing: There is no air conditioning at Casa Rural, which we were in initially worried about. However, if you keep the windows and shutters closed during the day it will keep the heat out. You can then open them wide at night. There are no bugs at night, as it is too high up. This kept the room lovely and cool for sleeping in!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgoilhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed in Casa Rural Fuente la Teja for 6 nights. It is a beautiful home, built by the owners with stone gathered from the surrounding mountains, and in traditional andalucian style. Our room had a balcony overlooking open country, Sierra Nevada- with horses roaming free around the house. One of the best things was the warmth of the hospitality and the friendliness of Ana and Paco, the owners. They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The swimming pool is perfect for little children as it is built like a little natural lagoon so they can get in and out the water themselves. The pool is surrounded by cherry trees which offer lovely shade. It is possible to eat all meals outside on the patio or by the pool - and the home cooking is the best that we have tasted on our travels in Andalucia.
Not far from Granada, about 25 mins from Alhambra- it is near enough to the sites of interest but far enough away to be a tranquil haven after the heat of the day in the city.
You will need to hire a car- it is off the beaten track!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FuentelaTeja, Propietario at Casa Rural Fuente la Teja Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear customers, friends,
thanks for your kindness and sharing with us your lovely family, a kiss for all of Ana and Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I stayed at this family run rural guesthouse and loved the atmosphere, The walks with their family dog Top were fun during which I saw some natural springs/fountains, medicinal and edible herbs like lavender, rosemary and many more. The views of the mountains and valleys from the logging were wonderful. The home cooked food served fresh was also good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Rural Fuente la Teja Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rural Fuente la Teja Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle Fuente de los Dieciseis Canos, a 3 km Fuente la Teja | Granada, 18160 Guejar Sierra, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Guejar Sierra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guejar Sierra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Rural Fuente la Teja Bed & Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Casa Rural Fuente La Teja is located in full nature and midway between Granada and the Alhambra and Sierra ski Nevada.Contamos with the facilities of a small rural hotel rooms with bathroom, swimming pool, cafeteria and homemade food. We also have a gite The Cortijillo, separated from the main building and can accommodate 2-4 people, if you want to have more privacy. Ample free parking and gardens poolside, to facilitate the spread of adultos.Nuestra situation privileged children and also provides us the ability to have on hand areas as emblematic as the Granada Alpujarra (midway between Granada and the coast ), or make quick visits to other Andalusian provinces, Malaga-2 hours-2 hours Almería, Sevilla-3 pm-1am Jaén, Córdoba-2 final horas.En the Casa Rural Fuente La Teja is the best choice for all who wants to intelligently combine relaxation, nature, nice atmosphere and Rural Fuente la Teja cultura.Casa awaits. Bed Farmhouse with own encantoDesde able to start many tours and hiking trails, or access the full range of activities offered by the zona.La zone includes the pretty village of Güéjar Sierra, natural gateway to the Sierra Nevada mountain range and where it is always advisable to let go and discover what awaits us around each of its steep callejuelas.Por its proximity is inexcusable a visit to Granada and recreation with its architectural beauty, or to search in the vast variety of activities and shows tropical coast culturales.La Grenadine is no more than 40 minutes to drive, to enjoy an environment without crowds surrounded by a rugged and attractive than the provinces of Malaga and Almeria coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Casa Rural Fuente la Teja Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Rural Fuente la Teja Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.